Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

I knew Nic Newman was a rebounding half back with some kicking skill but I was really impressed with his defensive work (weird to say that I was impressed with a defender's defending) gave a good chop out when the Tigers launched it long to Lynch deep to Weitering and tackling/intensity looked good.

Could see Dow's improvement physically out there tonight, looked stronger in the contest. He needs to settle down and fix his disposal tends to rush when sometimes unnecessarily which is a vast difference to a lot of our mids tonight who I thought were a little slow at disposing of the ball for territory around the contests.

I will say this; I was never a Polson fan but after numerous games we blooded him in at the end of last season he finally showed something in that R23 loss to Adelaide. He would've been a worthy addition to that forward line tonight it needed a chaos forward who's genuinely fast. I would've preferred him to a half fit Fasolo or Ed Curnow who's spot in the 22 should only be when he can play midfield not half forward.
Polson is a difficult one for the betterment of the player imo he needs a block of games in the twos to work on his composure with ball in hand .
But we really do need his pressure and harassing in the forward line in the seniors .
But alas the reserves scheduling doesn't see the season proper start for weeks with the northern blues having a bye first up.
And I don't think what he needs to work on can be rectified in practice matches .
The AFL commission really are a pack of muppets .

Garlett is like a headless chook in defence and nine disposals a defence runner is piss poor and his positioning at stoppages and marking contests was woeful. This is the biggest area of concern for us maybe cottrell but I don’t know enough about him. Also we need a kick in specialist because Plowman should keep right away in that area.

ONE game against the best side. I’m sick of people writing off players, especially inexperienced ones, after ONE game. All these players will really be much better for this game. So much improvement in this group as individuals and as a team

Positives:
  • Our back line worked pretty well together, Weiters is back baby, Jones had Jack sooking and Newman slotted in well, that 50m pass to Murphy on the wing from defence was brilliant.
  • Young midfield held their own and copped some brutal tackles but kept on performing.
  • Harry and McGovern worked their way into the game.
  • Fought hard when we could have just dropped our bundle.
  • Same game last year, Richmond had 16 more scoring shots, this year 8, that's improvement.
Negatives:
  • Basketball type intro at the start of the game, please get rid of it.
  • After 6 months of preseason, that's the best we can come up with for kick outs after a point? 4-5 kicks to get it beyond 50? Please change it up at least.
  • We had a spare winger every bounce, why was this not exploited more?
  • Delivery into forward 50, kick and hope, terrible, terrible plan.
  • After the bashing our young mids took, I would have thought Ed and Gibbons, who have seasoned harder bodies may have been released into the midfied as relief back end of the 3rd qtr.
  • Alex Rance injury, not good for any team or player when they occur. (Media will still have him in the 40 man AA squad) This is a slap on the media, not the player.
Can someone more cleverer than me gif Plows tackle on Martin, please?

Wasnt that good a tackle, just lucky martin didn't want to handball. I never call when they grab their jumper a good tackle, need to take the body and arms. Plowman's tackle was a ripper

Any tackle that takes dusty down is a good tackle.

Especially if it is by someone who weighs half as much.

I’m not going to go crazy on Charlie because at the end of the day it’s one bad game and everyone has them. I expect him to come out next week and have a really good game and all will be forgotten very quicky.
What I will say about him though is that he is already physically matured. He really should be at the point where he can become a dominant player in the league not just a 30 goal a year forward and the fact that we extended his contract at $800k pa suggests the club expect that from him too.
Here is a list of similar players who were physically developed like Charlie and how
many goals they managed in a single season within their first four years in the AFL.

Walker 63
Riewoldt 75
Cameron 63
Roughead 78
Franklin 113
Darling 53

There’s absolutely no reason why he shouldn’t be able to have a season like any of these guys did (Franklin excluded) and I expect that he will

Charlie Curnows timing was off

Either he has had the flu or has been smashing tinnies (or maybe tinder) lol

I can handle being out of touch but lack of effort is unforgivable. No second efforts at all and had numerous times to impact a contest and didn’t. I couldn’t have been more disappointed

I don’t know why but it needs to be sorted out

Well done to all the supporters who got out to last night's game! Was great to see the G full and for once the carlton supporters louder than the tigers.

At half time I thought Fisher and SPS had done nothing then were our best in the 2nd half. Similarly thought Cuninngham was our best in the first half then went quiet after.

Must say I thought cunners was the player that started the comeback in the 2nd. Clearly lifted his intensity and physicality which in turn lifted his team mates.

Setters played like a 70 gamer rather than 3 as well.

One thing that we have to be proud of is that nearly all our new recruits showed they are AFL worthy
Gov snagged one and worked his way into the game
Walsh pulled 24 possesses on debut
Fosolo although rusty started the comeback (probably the weakest showing of the new recruits)
Newman was fantastic
Setters with 24 in his what fourth game of AFL
Gibbons with good pressure and 11 disposals, a valid debut game.

Also Daisy Thomas, with 27 disposals, a goal, while playing hard football was brilliant to see. The underrated story of the night. Loved him
Daisy was close to our best for most of the game. Getting to love the guy I have to say. Never thought that was possible.

Was at the game....TBH, it was the first time I've seen Charlie jog around like he couldn't give a toss...not sure if those pub rumours are true, but his attitude contributed to a few costly momentum shifts that really killed us.

I’d like to make a few observations concerning the standard of umpiring last night. I’m not an umpire critic per se but it would be great to sit down with them and run through the tape to get an understanding of some of their inconsistent rulings and, what I’ll term, non decisions.

I’d have to watch the game back to be 100% certain concerning which quarter these incidents occur (as I tend to get really involved in the game).

First quarter. Balta marks around the centre. Thomas spoils. Umpire deems late contact and pays 50 metre penalty. Balta goals.

Third quarter. McGovern marks around half forward. Astbury is late. Misses the ball and hits Gov unfair in the noggin. No 50.

First quarter. Cripps is penalised for deliberately putting the ball over the line.

Same quarter. Rance is deep in defence and knocks the ball in a straight line from five metres over the boundary. No deliberate intent (bullshit). Throw the ball in.

Third quarter. And the non-decision that defies footy logic. Broad arches the back, makes a break for it and Big H (like a lion bringing down an antelope) lays a great tackle and brings Broad to the ground. Once he hits the deck he’s GAWN. Not according to the umpire involved.

What’s your decision?

Was at the game....TBH, is was the first time I've seen Charlie jog around like he couldn't give a toss...not sure if those pub rumours are true, but his attitude contributed to a few costly momentum shifts that really killed us.

Agree. Crowd picked it up as well. Can’t remember such a lack of effort

ONE game against the best side. I’m sick of people writing off players, especially inexperienced ones, after ONE game. All these players will really be much better for this game. So much improvement in this group as individuals and as a team
They looked very much like having been prepared for a long season but not peaking at the first race. Which is I believe is exactly right for where we are at. Folks get too hyped up about round 1 and beating Richmond. You have to think about getting to the end of 22 matches.
We can do that by building into it and managing the players well. For example there is no way Charlie was fit for round one and he just tried too hard without the timing. I am sure they knew that and its part of that planning. They would have gone through and looked at the matches we can win and tailored all the fitness around those parameters. Last night was a really good hit out but some tired fellas by the end. To be expected. In seasons to come with 80 to 100 games in the youth that conditioning will change and we will be fully ready to go at the start.
So if this is true and I believe it is. And with not all our list ready, it was a darn good effort from a side that had no right to push the premiership favourites. Make no mistake, we really pushed them.

Agree. Crowd picked it up as well. Can’t remember such a lack of effort
It must have been at the city end of the ground. I was sitting at the opposite end. For me last night it was dropped marks. Charlie’s hands are normally good when he gets his mitts around the ball. Not last night.

Well, overall I wasn’t to unhappy with what I saw. No bagging of any individual required (except maybe CC, but might be a good motivator for him)

1. You can’t give a gun team like the tigs a 40 point start & expect to win. Qtr 2&3 we came back really well, but it did drain us, especially with it being so muggy, it sucks the life out of you especially the younger ones. You could tell by the amount of sweat they had pouring off them.

2. I thought some of the problems came down to strategy & team setup, which is on Bolton.
Ed Curnow shouldn’t play forward, too slow in his decision making, which allowed tigs defence to setup. Should’ve been tagging Cotchin imo. SPS was wasted early , seemed to be playing down back, needs to get his hands on it & when he did we came back into the game.
Also, the kick outs were terrible, we didn’t run more than 5mtrs before chipping to the pocket where tigs strangled us. What was going on there? There were plenty of opportunities to run straight up the middle & kick long as tigs were onto us with a crappy little kicks.

3. Forward line needs improvement if only in communication as we just seemed to get into each other’s way a lot.

4. Defensively I thought we were pretty good, JW was really good, Jones was good, but did get caught under the ball a bit, ( hit on jack, may cost him a week, only cause he was off the ball. Jack also went down like he was shot!)

5. But overall, I’m thinking we will upset quite a few as we gel better, & get our setups working.

6. Lastly, good on Harry kicking that last goal as it covered the margin, put some nice cabbage in my pocket.👍😃

No, Phillips tried but he was absolutely monstered in the ruck, Nankervis overpowered him in almost every ruck contest and ran rings around him on the spread.

This.
I thought this was the deciding difference between the two teams. Not only did Nank win the centre clearances, he scored 18 of the 33 point margin. I did not rate Nankervis before, and thought Philips quite serviceable. I am going to have to re-evaluate my opinion of both rucks.

It must have been at the city end of the ground. I was sitting at the opposite end. For me last night it was dropped marks. Charlie’s hands are normally good when he gets his mitts around the ball. Not last night.

Was the lack of effort and shitting himself for me. That then results in dropped marks. Looked disinterested and played accordingly.

That's actually exceptional time efficiency.

Guy is a natural, just knows where to go and what to do with it.
Loved how Setterfield, Walsh and co were willing to try and stand up in the tackles/work through traffic to try and find the better option. Sure, it didn't always come off, but watch out when their bodies match their minds.