VFL 2019 Sandringham Zebras

He is way too good for VFL , Maybe he can take over from Brown next year , with his pace i think he could easily play on taller guys , if Liam Jones can do it , no reason Marsh cant

My understanding is that when he was younger , at Collingwood, he had to play on the talls. It was a pretty much considered he'd be a better player as a third tall. Joyce and Carlisle are around don't forget.

Alright heres my view of our boys today. We controlled most of the game with lots of pressure and good tackling. Over handballing and umpiring were our down falls. Others at the game probably saw things different but thats cool.

CLARK: I though was comfortably BOG. Made a comment about being disinterested but straight after that controlled the game. Few shanks here and there, but looked a class above everyone else on the ground. Still looks slow but seemed to cover A LOT of ground today.

WHITE: Maybe I'm biased cause I've always rated Whitey, but I just can't work out how he's not playing in the seniors. He was tough, kicking was spot on, i can't remember him missing a target, was good over head and courageous, regularly beat his opponent. Found plenty of the ball too.

MARSH: Loved his game in defence. He's a tough player and can take a good grab. I was really surprised at how quick he was though, has some serious wheels. Didn't do anything wrong today and I'd be pretty tempted to bring him back into the ones....as long as we play him back.

HIND: SUPER QUICK. Bloody hell he is fast. Read a lot of about his offensive game so was keen to see how he defended and he did pretty well. Was almost BOG in the first half but had a quiet 2nd half.

LONGER: He probably can't play any better to be honest. Even managed a contested mark in the dukes. Won a lot of hit outs but far too many went to Collingwood players. Not sure who their ruck was but he was no good today.

COFFIELD: I've been a bit worried about Coff, not getting a JLT game and then the average reports from the coaches but I feel better after today. Didn't seem to get heaps of it but has enough tools. He's quick, good overhead and his ball use is great. Had one shocker kicking to Armo at CHB but it was just a poor decision. His defensive game definitely needs work, but I'm pretty confident he'll be a very good player for us long term.

JOYCE: Blinder of a 3rd quarter. 4 intercept marks and a couple of them contested. Was really impressed with his kicking and decision making, looked very calm on the ball even when there was heaps of pressure.

RICE: Played well in the first half, was pretty non existent in the 2nd. Played forward and I like it. Would've taken mark of the year had Longer not bloody spoiled him.

CLAVARINO: Worked his way into the game, has put on a bit of size but still looks a fair way off it.

ROWE: Contested well and kicked a couple of nice goals, but wouldn't expect to see him in the seniors unless injuries happen.

YOUNG: The only time he looked good was when a Collingwood player had the ball about 10m away and he'd chase them down or smash them when they kicked it. Didn't see him get much of the ball, ran to A LOT of wrong positions that I would've thought was basic knowledge for a crumbing forward. Kicked an absolute ripper from the boundary though. I get the impression he thinks he's pretty ******* good though.

ARMITAGE: Poor old Armo, put a fork in him cause he's done. Tries hard but yeh, its past him now.

GILBO: I know he's no longer on our list but for shts and gigs thought i'd let everyone know that absolutely nothing has changed with Gilbo. Does some funny stuff.

KING: Last but not least, the man of the hour, Max King. First of all, he is seriously tall. He's huge. He's just as skinny though especially in the upper body/arms. But everything we've heard is true, he moves around almost effortlessly. I kept a close eye on him and he was just running around and would all of a sudden have 5m on his opponent. He took a couple great grabs that unfortunately weren't paid. One being a strong pack mark. He almost took an absolute screamer too, and he was bloody high up. Noticed they went to him a lot more in the 3rd quarter. He was happy to hit a pack and only got outbodied a couple of times which he'll obviously learn to deal with. His field kicking was awesome but what impressed me most was when the ball hit the deck he was great below his knees and had quick hands. They said he'd play 80% but doubt it was that much, was off for a lot of the game. I wasn't too keen of another KF with such an early pick after whats happened with Paddy, but King looks like he'll be a ripper. Sometime players just play with ease and look the part, and off the small sample today I'd say we've got a good one.

Think thats everyone, any questions feel free.

Alright heres my view of our boys today. We controlled most of the game with lots of pressure and good tackling. Over handballing and umpiring were our down falls. Others at the game probably saw things different but thats cool.

CLARK: I though was comfortably BOG. Made a comment about being disinterested but straight after that controlled the game. Few shanks here and there, but looked a class above everyone else on the ground. Still looks slow but seemed to cover A LOT of ground today.

WHITE: Maybe I'm biased cause I've always rated Whitey, but I just can't work out how he's not playing in the seniors. He was tough, kicking was spot on, i can't remember him missing a target, was good over head and courageous, regularly beat his opponent. Found plenty of the ball too.

MARSH: Loved him game in defence. He's a tough player and take a good grab. I was really surprised at how quick he was though, has some serious wheels. Didn't do anything wrong today and I'd be pretty tempted to bring him back into the ones....as long as we play him back.

HIND: SUPER QUICK. Bloody hell he is fast. Read a lot of about his offensive game so was keen to see how he defended and he did pretty well. Was almost BOG in the first half but had a quiet 2nd half.

LONGER: He probably can't play any better to be honest. Even managed a contested mark in the dukes. Won a lot of hit outs but far too many went to Collingwood players. Not sure who their ruck was but he was no good today.

COFFIELD: I've been a bit worried about Coff, not getting a JLT game and then the average reports from the coaches but I feel better after today. Didn't seem to get heaps of it but has enough tools. He's quick, good overhead and his ball use is great. Had one shocker kicking to Armo at CHB but it was just a poor decision. His defensive game definitely needs work, but I'm pretty confident he'll be a very good player for us long term.

JOYCE: Blinder of a 3rd quarter. 4 intercept marks and a couple of them contested. Was really impressed with his kicking and decision making, looked very calm on the ball even when there was heaps of pressure.

RICE: Played well in the first half, was pretty non existent in the 2nd. Played forward and I like it. Would've taken mark of the year had Longer not bloody spoiled him.

CLAVARINO: Worked his way into the game, has put on a bit of size but still looks a fair way off it.

ROWE: Contested well and kicked a couple of nice goals, but wouldn't expect to see him in the seniors unless injuries happen.

YOUNG: The only time he looked good was when a Collingwood player had the ball about 10m away and he'd chase them down or smash them when they kicked it. Didn't see him get much of the ball, ran to A LOT of wrong positions that I would've thought was basic knowledge for a crumbing forward. Kicked an absolute ripper from the boundary though. I get the impression he thinks he's pretty ******* good though.

ARMITAGE: Poor old Armo, put a fork in him cause he's done. Tries hard but yeh, its past him now.

GILBO: I know he's no longer on our list but for shts and gigs thought i'd let everyone know that absolutely nothing has changed with Gilbo. Does some funny stuff.

KING: Last but not least, the man of the hour, Max King. First of all, he is seriously tall. He's huge. He's just as skinny though especially in the upper body/arms. But everything we've heard is true, he moves around almost effortlessly. I kept a close eye on him and he was just running around and would all of a sudden have 5m on his opponent. He took a couple great grabs that unfortunately weren't paid. One being a strong pack mark. He almost took an absolute screamer too, and he was bloody high up. Noticed they went to him a lot more in the 3rd quarter. He was happy to hit a pack and only got outbodied a couple of times which he'll obviously learn to deal with. His field kicking was awesome but what impressed me most was when the ball hit the deck he was great below his knees and had quick hands. They said he'd play 80% but doubt it was that much, was off for a lot of the game. I wasn't took keen of another KF with such an early pick after whats happened with Paddy, but King looks like he'll be a ripper. Sometime players just play with ease and look the part, and off the small sample today I'd say we've got a good one.

Reading the Pies thread there main ruck was the guy who got confused early in the 2nd.

Who was the match up for King?

I don’t mind Paton, I think he’s shown quite a bit so I’m happy to keep him in the side.

Yeah the middle is our weakness personally I think it’s time to mix it up a bit, try McKenzie with his pace and engine in the middle. Let him tag one of Pies guns, we’re way too conservative for a side in our position imo. We have too many of these guys pigeonholed without ever giving them a chance elsewhere.
Richos job is on the line theres no way he would start flinging players around.

MARSH: Loved him game in defence. He's a tough player and take a good grab. I was really surprised at how quick he was though, has some serious wheels. Didn't do anything wrong today and I'd be pretty tempted to bring him back into the ones....as long as we play him back.

KING: Last but not least, the man of the hour, Max King. First of all, he is seriously tall. He's huge. He's just as skinny though especially in the upper body/arms. But everything we've heard is true, he moves around almost effortlessly. I kept a close eye on him and he was just running around and would all of a sudden have 5m on his opponent. He took a couple great grabs that unfortunately weren't paid. One being a strong pack mark. He almost took an absolute screamer too, and he was bloody high up. Noticed they went to him a lot more in the 3rd quarter. He was happy to hit a pack and only got outbodied a couple of times which he'll obviously learn to deal with. His field kicking was awesome but what impressed me most was when the ball hit the deck he was great below his knees and had quick hands. They said he'd play 80% but doubt it was that much, was off for a lot of the game. I wasn't took keen of another KF with such an early pick after whats happened with Paddy, but King looks like he'll be a ripper. Sometime players just play with ease and look the part, and off the small sample today I'd say we've got a good one.

Fantastic summary.

Props to you for this and the commentary today Joop.

Broke level in the middle. Not as good at stoppage clearances but when did hit outs equate to clearances? They don’t. Maybe having our best mid out might have hurt us just a little. Longer for marshall. That’s funny. Forget that he has been great all year. Who has more hope of running with Grundy? Marshall or longer? Yes you are right. Stupid question
Broke level in the middle - against Vardy - last night. Now that's seriously funny!!!

And of course our mids are such clearance specialists they don't need a ruckman capable of winning a tap, I mean we bat so deep in the midfield we dominate even without our best midfielder.

Smashed them last night will no doubt do it again next week.

Broke level in the middle - against Vardy - last night. Now that's seriously funny!!!

And of course our mids are such clearance specialists they don't need a ruckman capable of winning a tap, I mean we bat so deep in the midfield we dominate even without our best midfielder.

Longer will just tap it straight to them anyway, Grundy would absolutely murder him around the ground too.

Longer has played one game and got well beaten in hit outs. Grundy won the hit outs yesterday but the bottom side won the clearances. Thats seriously funny how unimportant hit outs are. That’s the facts. Yours is just opinion. My opinion is Marshall is better the side than billy losing hit outs to Grundy.

Thanks for the updates peeps.

How much game time do you think King played? 50%?
Well he was off for the whole last quarter, most of the 3rd and played probably 60% of the first half. I know we need to manage him but was starting to look real good at the start of the 3rd then they took him off. Should've let him just go for a bit.

When do you think Hind will get a game ? Should he be given ago in a different position to see what he has to offer ? He was drafted for pace but isn't getting a chance to show it.

Well he was off for the whole last quarter, most of the 3rd and played probably 60% of the first half. I know we need to manage him but was starting to look real good at the start of the 3rd then they took him off. Should've let him just go for a bit.

I reckon about that. Maybe up to 60% next week. No hurry.

Thanks lads. I think the minutes are being dictated by the fitness guys. Probably always planned to take him off at specific times during the game.

Richos job is on the line theres no way he would start flinging players around.
Richos job is gone if he just sits on his hands, it’s probably gone no matter what he does.

He’s been dealt a lousy hand with injuries this year but at present we’re struggling to remain competitive against quality sides. I really don’t think he’s got much to loose moving a player or two searching to bolster an underperforming midfield.

f1d444f59aff2ef8fe8832eca098e661.jpg

Was at the game also. Agree with most of the good summary above. A few extra points.
Heaps player, coach and officials was there cheering on the guys. Hanners, Dunstan, Bruce, Mackenzie, billing’s, Gresh, Paton, Bytel, Alabakis, Langlands, Acres, Battle, Geary, Lonie, Steele, Wilkie.
Geary seemed to be moving pretty freely with him leg. Lonie was pretty preppy though, slow going up the stairs to the seats.
Richo, Lade, Playfair, Skob, Gags, Lethers all there.
A fair few left at 3 Q time, possibly as King finished playing then. Richo stayed to the final siren by himself though.

Thought White was best on, great marking and distribution. Doesn’t seem rushed.
Rowe and Marsh were good at both ends, Strong marking and competed all day.
Hunter got a lot of it, maybe not as damaging as he could be, but certainly working hard.
Darragh Joyce very solid also, good marking and kicking is a real highlight for a late starter. Spoke a lot in the 3Q time defensive huddle giving direction which was good to see.
Longers seems to have had good stats, but didn’t rate his game that much. Dropped a few marks and didn’t stand out to me.
King got a cheer every time he went near it. Flew for a few marks and used the ball well. Easing into it though.

I don’t mind Paton, I think he’s shown quite a bit so I’m happy to keep him in the side.

Yeah the middle is our weakness personally I think it’s time to mix it up a bit, try McKenzie with his pace and engine in the middle. Let him tag one of Pies guns, we’re way too conservative for a side in our position imo. We have too many of these guys pigeonholed without ever giving them a chance elsewhere.
Mckenzie should be dropped this week, plays like a headless chicken.. has speed and endurance, but doesn’t seem to be able to put them into use. Apart from trying extremely hard, can’t see what he adds to the side. White, Marsh or Hind would be much better choice.. Probably drop Webster as well as he also offered little in the last 2 weeks.. White and Marsh in, Mckenzie and Webster out.. improves our side immediately with better marking and use out of the backline.

When do you think Hind will get a game ? Should he be given ago in a different position to see what he has to offer ? He was drafted for pace but isn't getting a chance to show it.
Don't think he warrants selection just yet. He'll get a game eventually. Not to sure what you mean hes not getting a chance to show his pace? He comes steaming off half back...

Went along to see the big event today! Coincidentally it is also the best game Sandy have played (that I have seen) for about 3 years!

Looks like most of the important stuff has been covered already, so I wont repeat the obvious. A couple of extra random thoughts:

Clark is a cut above VFL. Did some things today that were absolute class, and almost won us the game with his shot from outside 50 that was touched on the line (lucky Foxy's hanger got us out of jail). Kids a natural mid. Enough of playing him on the flanks, pockets or wing. Kid belongs in the guts. Just keep calm if he has a few quiet ones in the AFL. He will be an A grader if we don't screw his development.

Glad to see a few other people noticing Whitey. Did today what he does most weeks (albeit with a few more touches today). Still have absolutely no idea why he isn't in the side. Only thing I can figure is that Richo wants him to spend more time defending, chasing and tackling his opponent, rather than playing his way and simply winning the ball himself. But what really stands out is his ability to switch the ball quickly and accurately. While saints players (both AFL and VFL) keep continually bombing the ball down the line to an outnumber, White can split the game open with low accurate switch kicks across the ground. Badly need this talent in the ones, because other than Billings and JWebb, White is the only player on our list that can do it with depth and accuracy. No idea what he has done to piss off Richo but its been the same for 2 years now.

Longer played one of the better games I have seen him play. Seemed to wake up as the game went on and was huge in the last quarter. Maybe he finally realised he is a foot taller than everyone else.
Rowe is a surprisingly good pick up for Sandy (long way off AFL). Hands were good today. Would still prefer to have Goddard on our list but that is a different bottle of wine.
Armo's gone (sadly).
Hind's still a way off. Has flashes but hasn't convinced me (yet).
Rice is not a forward. Ditto Marsh (looked good down back today).
Joyce is improving.
Clav was rusty.
We are royally fu**ing Coffs development.

Winx: I BELIEVE!