List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Ross is probably worth a late first early second, but the thing is who would want him? He's a great player, but he doesn't do any one thing well. A club looking for outside polish wouldn't consider him, and neither would a club looking for an inside player. He's basically an accumulator that would be targeted by a lower rung club looking for consistency and leadership, and they'd only do that if he was trying to leave.

As long as Ross is best 22 he won't be going anywhere, or if he does we won't be getting much for him.

Acres however, he could have a big second half of the year and suddenly jump in value. A run of good "Acres" type games could value him as a late first rounder. However, if he can keep performing well as the chop out ruck he's actually very valuable to our set up.

Dunstan would be a 4th rounder or later. Don't see many clubs keen on him at all.

Players I think we'd be open to advances on are;

Longer
Acres
Dunstan
Coffield
Long
Sinclair
Phillips
Membrey
Steven
and maybe even Richo's very own son, Daniel Mckenzie

But of course, only if the price was right.

The rest are either too important to our structure, our leadership, or we wouldn't get a good enough deal/they could skyrocket in value (see Matty Parker)

I’m keeping Long and Mem, ether then that fire.

If Since wants to spend the next 10 years at Sandy, then I'm all for it.
I don’t see it myself, I thought he was one of our better players and actually turned up on Saturday.

He’s a guy with great vision and skills, when we actually have some inside bulls guys like Sinclair and Billings are likely to get better and take it up a notch. He had around 20 possessions and laid 8 tackles against the crows, he isn’t the problem imo.

The guy I just can’t feel the love for is long, I was a bit disappointed by his game although he had plenty of mates. We seem to have a lot of guys who are pretty similar in what they bring to the table, still one bad game isn’t too concerning under the circumstances.

We’ve a lot of football left this year, if a few of these guys can turn it around like lonie has then maybe we’ll keep them or get decent trade value. I thought lonie was gone but the little guy has been pretty bloody good this year imo.

I don’t see it myself, I thought he was one of our better players and actually turned up on Saturday.

He’s a guy with great vision and skills, when we actually have some inside bulls guys like Sinclair and Billings are likely to get better and take it up a notch. He had around 20 possessions and laid 8 tackles against the crows, he isn’t the problem imo.

The guy I just can’t feel the love for is long, I was a bit disappointed by his game although he had plenty of mates. We seem to have a lot of guys who are pretty similar in what they bring to the table, still one bad game isn’t too concerning under the circumstances.

We’ve a lot of football left this year, if a few of these guys can turn it around like lonie has then maybe we’ll keep them or get decent trade value. I thought lonie was gone but the little guy has been pretty bloody good this year imo.
Made a couple of woeful errors but he wasn't alone. Seems to get caught in two minds a lot.

The reality is that they’re all tradable if the deal is good enough.

I really couldn’t give a rats just as long as it improves our team going forward then I’m happy. You never know when someone will see one of your players as the part they need. I’m pretty interested to see how much interest Newnes gets, I think some posters may be surprised how highly he’s rated.

Besides the team improvement this year, I still think our midfield is average.

So we have to do something drastic if we want to improve the situation.

Right now, I'm.nit convinced all of our current group will make it.

So you either draft for long term, keep recruiting bottom 12 players or so something drastic and pay the price for the player you want.

Hence my supposition earlier today.

Made a couple of woeful errors but he wasn't alone. Seems to get caught in two minds a lot.
I remember 1 shocker when he tried to move the ball on too quickly and turned it over just outside our 50. His role has changed but he’s still playing reasonable football.

So you either draft for long term, keep recruiting bottom 12 players or so something drastic and pay the price for the player you want.

Bytel could be a gun or an injury bust, at some point we have to just bite the bullet and either trade or draft to address that need.

I’m prepared to believe the King hype but bloody hell can someone give the club the memo that it’s a midfielders game. Even assuming that the guys we have like Clark all make it we’re still short of the true inside high possession ball magnets.

It’s a funny game though because a couple of A grade inside mids would transform this team imo. It’s funny because even in the bargain picks we’ve overlooked the worpel, Constable accumulator types.

I agree, but we outside of high draft pick potential future guns such as coffield, clark or king (all off limits)- we really don't have much that would attract a really great offer.

Big ben was a good example of good trade bait which attracted an offer almost too good to refuse.
He was far more blue chip than all the blue collar guys we have list now like ross newnes sincs etc.
Those guys wont ever attract a blue chip offer like big ben of a 1st rounder and starting 22 young player (savage).

That's the level of deal we would require to seriously consider losing a ross, newnes etc.

Brandon Ellis is someone I'm surprised we haven't been linked with.

Seems like he's got a need more so than Tomlinson. He's a free agent, very quick, finds plenty of the footy, versatile and can kick a goal.

Mate , i think your clutching at straws a bit there with the Coff stuff , love you imagination though :think:
Hey I love coff I don't want him to go, I think he'll come good. But on the other hand, look at paddy mccartin, we could have traded him for a second rounder a year ago, now it's too late, first round pick down the drain

I reckon we'll be as aggressive as we can be at the end of the year and it will be based on how the players perform with the new gameplan.

We might not get much back in the way of trades because I think a lot of what we will be doing is cutting dead wood and none of those players will have currency.

At the moment, those likely to go barring a miracle would be:

Rice, Pierce, Longer, Rowe

Those needing to lift pretty dramatically to stay:
White, Dunstan

Too early to call:
Langlands (being generous), Young, Marsh

A large percentage of our list could move into the category White and Dunstan are in above if they can't find consistency during the year. This is because, without star power, pretty much no one is untradeable. Plenty will be on notice and that's not a bad thing. But it won't be decided on one week's work, more over the whole season.

I just can't see us trading away good or even potentially good performers at this stage as we still have a fair lot of dead wood to cut first unfortunately.

The club needs to make Taranto an offer , that is too good to refuse.
He is already a gun midfielder , as you will see this weekend against us.
He is a local boy from the Sandringham Dragons , and with pressure , GWS will deal , but it will cost us.
It is a far better approach going young and on the rise , than going not so young , and on the decline.
At the very least we should be chipping away , giving him something to think about.

or anywhere really.. maybe norf?

Cunnington and Ziebell are excellent to elite inside mids and they have a few guys like Dumont that are building, we probably could sell him to GC for 4th rounder.

The club needs to make Taranto an offer , that is too good to refuse.
He is already a gun midfielder , as you will see this weekend against us.
He is a local boy from the Sandringham Dragons , and with pressure , GWS will deal , but it will cost us.
It is a far better approach going young and on the rise , than going not so young , and on the decline.
At the very least we should be chipping away , giving him something to think about.
Would love him but he's contracted and I can't see the Giants giving him up.

Cunnington and Ziebell are excellent to elite inside mids and they have a few guys like Dumont that are building, we probably could sell him to GC for 4th rounder.
I can't see them going after anymore B graders after what has happened this year.

They already have Dom Tyson.

What if it gets you a better player?

That's my opinion. I'm sure the club are it differently so have Bex and a lie down...

What if we don't? Wasted Stanley, largely lost on Mc Evoy, downgrade from Lynch, downgrade from Cripps etc. Good clubs keep top talent and build on the pool. Shit clubs sell the cream dreaming of multiplying it in a gamble.