List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Yep, doesn't help.

Even their first will probably end up pick 20 the way they are playing.
They will potentially have some decent picks if Kelly gets back to Perth.

It’s always the same story and I’m guilty of the same thing, we don’t want to trade any of our personal favourites or anyone who can actually play. That leaves us with very little trade currency or flexibility, every year we’re getting hot and bothered about a free agent who chooses to go to a contending club.

It’s a difficult job building a team, managing the list profile and actually giving your club a chance at a flag. I feel like for the first time in ages we actually have the people in place who can do the job for us, can’t be done though just sitting on our hands.

I wouldn’t be pushing Steven out the door but if he requested a trade we should see it as an opportunity.

I’m agreeable with all three of your players.. the way I see it with those three, not as a draft pick, but in a deal to lure an elite player of need, I.e Coniglio, Kelly or Whitfield. Or B.King and Martin... if GC wanted Ross and Dunstan + change for those two?.. can get it done..

Dustan and a first and a future firstfor Martin, King and a second.

He's one of our few AFL quality mids and has improved every year. I don't see why you would lose him unless you are getting an upgrade. Giving up Ross and another good player or pick for a good player both might give a slight upgrade but we are better to recruit through the draft and add to the pile. If we get such a good midfield that he's expendable, then we have managed to develop and draft another heap of mids.

Geelong has Parfitt, Ablett, Danger, Selwood, Cockatoo, Kelly, Menagola, Fogarty, Guthrie and Constable. All can play midfield and have shown something or are good to elite. When you put our mids up against theirs we look light weight.

Ross, Steele, Billings and Gresham the only ones likely to make their side and most not as mids, Seb probably the most likely to actually get a midfield game.

I can’t believe I’m going to stay this;
Geelong get:

Ross and Steven

Stkilda get:
Parfitt, 18 and a future 2nd

Hyperthetical - would trade Acres and Seb for Kelly and Tomilson?

Wouldn’t need to trade for Tomlinson.

I’d trade Ross and Acres for Kelly and Tim Taronto, (spell wrong hopefully you know who I mean).

Tomlinson plays weekly at GWS. Ellis can’t get a game at Richmond, I would rather have Tomlinson over Ellis.
Um, Ellis missed the first game and has played every game since. He only missed a couple of games last year and played every game in their premiership year. Not sure what is call can't get a game.

Tomlinson is handy for his versatility but he can't really hold down one position for the Giants. He's a jack of all trades but master of none.

I'm sure he'd be handy for free but he's not really a need with Wilkie doing so well in the backline and plenty of talls up front. He plays a lot on the wing but I don't think he finds enough footy and he's not overly damaging.

We need to take the deal that comes for him if he wants to leave.

WCE recieve;

Matty Parker
Pick 13

St Kilda receive:
Pick 7
I doubt West Coast and up with 7 and I doubt even more they'd be willing to downgrade that pick for Matt Parker.

Wouldn’t need to trade for Tomlinson.

I’d trade Ross and Acres for Kelly and Tim Taronto, (spell wrong hopefully you know who I mean).
Yep, I'm sure Giants would be happy to do that deal.

I'd even throw in David Armitage.

We need to take the deal that comes for him if he wants to leave.

WCE recieve;

Matty Parker
Pick 13

St Kilda receive:
Pick 7

b69c27aecee3c968159877eb62d6e690.gif

I dont know W2L. Reckon a top 4 side showed how easily a top class midfield can dismantle ours and in doing so, completely compromise our game plan and defensive structures.

We didnt get Gubby Allen for fun, and we have to look at value players.

Reckon Billings Gres and Steele are safe. Stuv may be on the move, I reckon players such as Ross, Acres, Newnes, DMAC, even Dunstan although not worth much will get shopped.
If Stuv goes, it takes the pressure off making wholesale changes, but reckon someone of value like Ross or Acres could go, if we get in say a Coniglio or a Kelly. Add one of those to a Martin or Jones with a fully fit Hannebery, and Clark and Coff with another season and our midfield looks totally different and much much stronger.

Newnes is a free agent so we get nothing but compo.

Yeah, I'm not buying that.

The first time this season that I've read about trading Seb was this week (and I would have quite happily booted him after last season).

Personally I think he'll get better if he's not the #1 or #2 guy. If we can sign a gun mid and have the young mids continue to develop then Seb will be more consistent and more effective.

Seb is one of our best 5 players, if you sell those in the hope of bringing in players of a similar level but will also cost you more to get the trade done it's just dumbness. It would be pretty much form for us though. In list management, surely it's the bottom end of your list where you want to move players on from.

Seb is going nowhere

Blake is going nowhere

Stuv may well be going somewhere

Gubby will have trade chips to play with come October.

Could be right with Jack Steven heard that a lot recently.

That I would do. May seem overs from us, but it takes something to get something. I rate Martin - I know some don’t. But with a better team I think he would excel.

I'm not sure Martin is an ideal player for us and would rather wait and see on King. Losing two firsts would be terrible if it didn't net two absolute guns. It would be held up along side the Hanners trade as evidence of incompetence.

Gubby wasn't recruited to enjoy the coffee.

He will have a brief to improve the list by adding the best possible players, using his network and contacts.

It's a ruthless industry and I'd see he will be ruthless in his pursuit of attracting elite players to the club.

If that means a few faves get traded, then I doubt that will stop him or the club IMO.

As it should be if we are serious about winning a flag.

I hope we don't **** it up. I know a lot of fans that are on the brink of being over the club and have checked out.

I'm not sure Martin is an ideal player for us and would rather wait and see on King. Losing two firsts would be terrible if it didn't net two absolute guns. It would be held up along side the Hanners trade as evidence of incompetence.
Have to try mate.. not going anywhere if we don’t. Losing two firsts for a long term CHB thatbalso went pick 6 and another player that is A grade. We have two top 10 picks that can’t even make seniors. This bolsters our list greatly for the next 7 and 10 years respectively. We can argue if King will/wont make it, but no difference than who we pick with the first next year. If he was in this draft, he would go top 5 as well.

Hawthorn off loaded a few guns and it didn't seem to set them back too far , we maybe just a little precious at St Kilda thinking our boys are better than they really are

Who did they off load? The lost Buddy against their wishes and really haven't lost any top line stars apart from that. They retired a few while rebuilding but that was a different phase to us.

Have to try mate.. not going anywhere if we don’t. Losing two firsts for a long term CHB thatbalso went pick 6 and another player that is A grade. We have two top 10 picks that can’t even make seniors. This bolsters our list greatly for the next 7 and 10 years respectively. We can argue if King will/wont make it, but no difference than who we pick with the first next year. If he was in this draft, he would go top 5 as well.

Surely you would want to see a form line before you go all in on a player. I get we need stars but if you can't get them to come you have to draft them. We should be after a gun recruiter instead of wasting time on chasing signatures. We start winning the players will come and then we get more momentum. I don't want to end up like North digging in the bin trying to look busy after being rejected.

Super tall backs aren't that common any more as the game has become much more of an intercept role where mobility is more important. If our two top 10 picks can't make seniors then that's just an indictment on our drafting. We need a gun mid to complement what we have not losing good ones, if we get Coniglio and lose Stuv and Ross then we are in a worse place than where we started from.

Tomlinson plays weekly at GWS. Ellis can’t get a game at Richmond, I would rather have Tomlinson over Ellis.

Does he suit our needs though?

The one player I wouldn't trade is Steven. Now that doesn't mean he stays, it means he doesn't get shopped around. If he wants to leave which I believe is a huge chance its a completely different story. Also I believe Kelly and Coniglio will stay based on my next door neighbour. She is Whitfields auntie so would have a few clues.
Awesome, we’ll take the nephew and add Hopper in