List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

I think he would personally. I rate him one of the elite midfielders - more importantly, think he suits our game plan.

I would add some pace on the outside to compliment, whether that's through the draft or trade.

I reckon we are poor at winning the ball ATM.

Little piece on Biggy from last week. Spoke to a recruiter a little while ago that thinks he’ll make it. Exciting to see how he progresses over the coming months.
#24 Bigoa Nyuon

Stepped up rotating between ruck and forward and you just never know what you are going to get. He can create the unbelievable and then do the unthinkable, which is what makes him quite an entertaining prospect. He was able to hit the scoreboard after picking up a loose ball in attack following good pressure on an opponent, then was able to set up teammates inside 50 for goals as well. He did try and do too much at times like backing himself in from the pocket – which is good to see but he was out of position – rather than handballing into Ned Cahill who was 10 metres closer to goal in space, and then there was a 30m kick straight up in the air when up the other end. However his athleticism and ability to leap above others is without question and there is some serious talent there, it is just piecing it together.
When is he eligible?

FB: McKenzie - Clavarino - Wilkie
HB: Battle - Austin - Paton
RK: Marshall - Steele - Gresham
CR: Sinclair - Acres - Billings
HF: Long - King - Parker
FF: Membrey - Nyuon* - Lonie
IC: Clark Hind Coffield Bytel

At least it’s athletic...
There's pace, size, athleticism.. Biggy and King in the forward spine looks dangerous. Imagine how many heads will be sat on. Love it.

When is he eligible?
This year.. We did a few draft pick swaps late in the trade period last year, so we can bundle them up for him this year.

He's in our academy zone. At this stage will take a couple of fourth round picks and maybe a third bundled for points.

What's the chances they would have front loaded Hanners contract this year and next to keep tpp space open 2020+. Considering we were struggling to make the minimum spend. That would make sense.

Hanners would almost certainly be on a frontloaded contract. The poster to which you’re replying made the common mistake of assuming all of those contracts aren’t already mostly paid. There is no way we didn’t frontload the likes of Steven’s, Armitage’s (and the rest) given our aggressive cap planning. They’d all be on relative peanuts this year.

Sell high and get something else thrown into the deal, Caldwell, Bonar and Taranto interest me.

So yes I’d trade Gresham plus a second rounder for Taranto and one of Caldwell or Bonar. I’m not swapping him for Cogs I’m not that keen on him.

We need mids for sure.

Gresh does his best work inside 50 IMO. May not become an elite mid we desperately need.

Will likely become an elite small forward. He is struggling this year IMO.

Depends on how Parker, Lonie, Kent and namely Long perform this year as whether we could afford to let him go.

Happy to look at all options. If GWS are that desperate to get him then they will pay up.

Gresh for one elite and an A grader?

Tempting.

On a different note...

Tomlinson.

Many saying we don't need him.

Looking outside the square, would his addition free another player like Webster to play through the middle?

More than one way to bolster your midfield IMO.

Maybe or maybe not. Just spit balling...

What's the chances they would have front loaded Hanners contract this year and next to keep tpp space open 2020+. Considering we were struggling to make the minimum spend. That would make sense.

Yep, i'm almost certain that would have been the case considering we needed to meet the minimum cap this year i remember reading in an article.

Jye Bolton .....easily

Particularly with the situation with Steven gives you a guy that can play now for the rest of year.

Should have been already instead of Rowe.

What was his downside when he was younger?

Hawks might also go for a mid to replace Mitchel. Though they still have Minchington.

We need mids for sure.

Gresh does his best work inside 50 IMO. May not become an elite mid we desperately need.

Will likely become an elite small forward. He is struggling this year IMO.

Depends on how Parker, Lonie, Kent and namely Long perform this year as whether we could afford to let him go.

Happy to look at all options. If GWS are that desperate to get him then they will pay up.

Gresh for one elite and an A grader?

Tempting.
They were interested in Gresham in the past I have no idea if they still are.

I’d be willing to bet that if they are it’s as an elite production small forward, he’d kick 50 a year in that team.

They were interested in Gresham in the past I have no idea if they still are.

I’d be willing to bet that if they are it’s as an elite production small forward, he’d kick 50 a year in that team.

Thats why I would look at bolstering our midfield by other means so that we can leave Gresh forward.

As it is we might have to start planning for life after Stuv. .

They are two different types in my opinion.

We already have a Cognilio in Jack Steven (see comparisons below), he is just not well at the moment, and that is putting additional match loads on younger mids like Gresh.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy...2=25&type=A&pid1=2342&pid2=3640&fid1=O&fid2=O

We need to surround Steven with elite ball users who can find their share of the pill, run all day, hit the scoreboard and tackle. Like Gresham (although he had a shocker against GWS, went at 38% disposal efficiency; looked like he was trying to kick the dunny door down).

Another Tim Kelly is what we need, that is a mature age player who has been overlooked for some reason, because I seriously don't think we will find it through free agency, unless we win 13 games this year and a final. Even then, I can't think of anyone who is in the window, contractually speaking that is the right player type, so we would literally have to wrench someone off a list.

What Tim Kelly has done at Geelong is just phenomenal. Think about it. He has been good enough for the coach to feel comfortable about clearing Selwood out to a wing, and Ablett to half forward. In his 24th AFL game went up against the Demi-god Shiel on the weekend and slapped him silly. Played 92% game time for 30 possessions (19 kicks) at 73% disposal efficiency. 14 contested possessions, 10 clearances, 2 goals and 2 tackles. If they did a draft do over he doesn't get past pick 2.

Marlion Pickett can football. Undoubted. Lightning speed, flys for a mark, Stack attacks the man and ball, and can play forward, back and midfield. When Kelly was drafted South Fremantle moved Marlion into his role. Very close friends with Matty Parker should also help. If I was at the club, I would move McCartin to the long term injury list and pick up Marlion at the mid-season draft, as it gives us the chance to see how he goes, and get dibs on him next year.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-11-23/dont-miss-plugandplay-pickett-wafl-coach-warns

We already have a Cognilio in Jack Steven (see comparisons below), he is just not well at the moment, and that is putting additional match loads on younger mids like Gresh.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy...2=25&type=A&pid1=2342&pid2=3640&fid1=O&fid2=O

We need to surround Steven with elite ball users who can find their share of the pill, run all day, hit the scoreboard and tackle. Like Gresham (although he had a shocker against GWS, went at 38% disposal efficiency; looked like he was trying to kick the dunny door down).

Another Tim Kelly is what we need, that is a mature age player who has been overlooked for some reason, because I seriously don't think we will find it through free agency, unless we win 13 games this year and a final. Even then, I can't think of anyone who is in the window, contractually speaking that is the right player type, so we would literally have to wrench someone off a list.

What Tim Kelly has done at Geelong is just phenomenal. Think about it. He has been good enough for the coach to feel comfortable about clearing Selwood out to a wing, and Ablett to half forward. In his 24th AFL game went up against the Demi-god Shiel on the weekend and slapped him silly. Played 92% game time for 30 possessions (19 kicks) at 73% disposal efficiency. 14 contested possessions, 10 clearances, 2 goals and 2 tackles. If they did a draft do over he doesn't get past pick 2.

Marlion Pickett can football. Undoubted. Lightning speed, flys for a mark, Stack attacks the man and ball, and can play forward, back and midfield. When Kelly was drafted South Fremantle moved Marlion into his role. Very close friends with Matty Parker should also help. If I was at the club, I would move McCartin to the long term injury list and pick up Marlion at the mid-season draft, as it gives us the chance to see how he goes, and get dibs on him next year.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-11-23/dont-miss-plugandplay-pickett-wafl-coach-warns

All well and good, but keeping Stuv is the best case scenario at the moment.

Just like we trained up Battle to fill in for Jake, we need contingencies in the middle is well.

If he stays, great. If not then we have a replacement.

I don't see why we wouldn't grab him up in the mid season, he can definitely football. Selectors must know something we don't..

How sickening is it that Gws get another top 3 mid this year through the academy. Thomas Green.. Ranked by some as top 3, a clearance beast.. surely they can afford to offload Cogs this year..
This I find interesting.

Personally I am only interested in Cogs as a FA. Surely we can offer a deal that is too good for GWS to match. If he doesn't want to come, he doesn't. Just my 2 cents but no way I am trading Gresh for him. Gresh's is only 21, has 70 odd games already and I still think his ceiling is as high as anyone in the AFL.

What I find intriguing about your post actually has nothing to do with Cogs though. This year GWS has held onto Hopper and Kelly, Cogs may still stay, Toranto will be a star (if he isn't already) and Ward returns next year (and is a star). Green (who I hadn't heard of until now) obviously only adds to that midfield depth and quality.

The player that is clearly not getting a game in that midfield anytime soon is Caldwell. Heard some throw away comments that he might be the type to come home, and from my limited understanding he would be absolutely in the frame for the top pick if he was this year (top end last year reportedly much stronger then this year I believe).

Long term I think Caldwell could be equal to, or better than, Cogs. Personally I think we should be in his ear every day between now and the end of the year. With Haynes off the board (previously my number 1 target), Caldwall is right near the top of my hitlist.

As an FYI (which I am sure nobody cares about), the top 10 I think are potentially attainable and we should aggressively chase (in order of preference) are:

1. Whitfield (Is in the exact same situation Shiel was so lets have a crack. Walks in our best player. Would pay 2 firsts with something coming back)
2. Caldwell (offer our first and run like hell if we get it)
3. Cogs (Lets throw our hat into the FA fight, but only have him this high because he would be free. Also the more GWS pay Cogs, Kelly, Hopper and Haynes, the more gettable my top 2 become)
4. Dunkley (OOC and would absolutely ask the question. Not sure people realise how good his back end of last year was)
5. Parker (Hanners type deal if possible. Leadership would be priceless)
6. B.King (who cares if he is contracted lets have a crack. Groundwork for 2020 or 2022 if nothing else)
7. Blakely (wonder how those homesick rumours are going)
8. Sier (cant get a game and potentially a cheap upgrade on Armo)
9. Greenwood (similar to Sier. In and out of the team and I actually rate him)
10. Tomlinson (As a FA only. Replaces Brown at full back)

Not sure we need Peter Wright after we drafted King, but wouldn't hurt to ask price. Would enquire about Aaron Francis too. Just for the laughs. Rest seems very meh.

Also for the record I have absolutely no interest in Jack Martin. Don't rate Z.Jones either, and would rather have a colonoscopy than recruit another average mid like Parish. Hope we spend our spare $$ signing up Gresh, Billings, Carlisle and Marshall than look seriously at any of those 3

All well and good, but keeping Stuv is the best case scenario at the moment.

Just like we trained up Battle to fill in for Jake, we need contingencies in the middle is well.

If he stays, great. If not then we have a replacement.

Battle is not a contingency for Jake, he is best 22 and if Carlisle was fit tomorrow, Battle holds his spot. That's what we need though a better quality best 22 player. Looking at the team that played on the weekend we need to upgrade players like Bruce, Sinclair, Joyce, Marsh, & McKenzie. If all of Geary, Roberton, Steven, Carlisle & Hannebery were fit that would happen straight away.

We also badly need players with special attributes like Coffield, Clark, Gresham, King, Marshall and Hind to come on. The club should be focussing heavily on getting these boys to a level. Nutritionists, specialised training programs, sports psychologists, mentoring...throw the kitchens sink at them because these are the boys who will take us to the next level. The speed at which they develop is the speed at which we develop.

Or get some ready mades!