List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

I've been watching Josh Bruce for a few years now, and was curious whether you guys think the club would potentially trade him if the right offer came along? I figured with the constant improvement in Membrey, along with picking up Max King and Josh Battle in recent years (plus McCartin if he stops getting concussed) there may be potential for another club to pick him up. Any theories on his value too?

In light of Paddy's issues (most of us can't see him ever returning) and the need to give Max some physical protection for at least a few seasons, I think it's doubtful that Brucey is considered for trade again.

His form thus far shows how important he is to the team (and club).

In light of Paddy's issues (most of us can't see him ever returning) and the need to give Max some physical protection for at least a few seasons, I think it's doubtful that Brucey is considered for trade again.

Yeah that was my concern - of course, we are nowhere near as desperate for a KPF this year as we were last (with Naughton and Schache suddenly providing options up forward) but I still feel like we need a strong, experienced target up forward, and I've always been a fan of Bruce.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Paddy go down the path of Picken, which is disappointing. Best for his long term wellbeing though

Still a leader among the bulk of the playing group too.

You would think we would go back in for Tomlinson as a free agent. Not a pressing need but good versatile player. Tall winger ideally but plug holes back and forward.
Actually discussed this on our board too, but apparently Tomlinson has been pretty positive about re-signing with GWS, for what it's worth. Don't think he'll last to free agency, look like he'll extend his contract during the season

I've been watching Josh Bruce for a few years now, and was curious whether you guys think the club would potentially trade him if the right offer came along? I figured with the constant improvement in Membrey, along with picking up Max King and Josh Battle in recent years (plus McCartin if he stops getting concussed) there may be potential for another club to pick him up. Any theories on his value too?
Mate , get back in your kennel , why would we trade Bruce , the few on here that thought it was a good idea to trade him last year have already eaten their humble pies and have started on their second helpings ( just kidding guys ) , why would you even bring paddy into the conversation IMO and im no doc so Joff will tell you , he is cooked and id be surprised to say the least if he plays again and if he does he is an idiot

Is there a need to be such a hero? Nothing wrong with civil conversation mate, the others seem to manage just fine.

I brought up Bruce because he's been talked about in trade talks in the past, and you guys have multiple KPFs currently developing. And I'm not sure how McCartin isn't relevant considering he plays the same position and hasn't been medically retired, although I figured that should be obvious to anyone who watches the footy

Is there a need to be such a hero? Nothing wrong with civil conversation mate, the others seem to manage just fine.

I brought up Bruce because he's been talked about in trade talks in the past, and you guys have multiple KPFs currently developing. And I'm not sure how McCartin isn't relevant considering he plays the same position and hasn't been medically retired, although I figured that should be obvious to anyone who watches the footy
Sorry mate , your right i was a bit harsh but i suppose i was pretty pissed when some wanted to trade him as even back a year and a half ago i never had much faith in paddy for several reasons and unfortunately its looking like its near the end for the lad so thank f---- we didnt trade bruce

Still like Clavarino myself

The bloke I would chase with $ is Brayden Sier if he keeps not getting a game , has Beams , Adams & Wells
in front of him ...
Have you seen Sier kick it , i think id hit more targets that he does , has the body shape to be a gun but damn he can butcher it big time , not quick either

Following on from the previous discussion on what we should aim for with next years 1st rounder I had a go at setting out the 1st 22 in 3 years time and what we need to happen for it to be a Top 4 contender.

I figured Geary & Brown would be gone, I have assumed Paddy & Robbo will have as well, but that Steven & Savage would be available but unlikely to be still at the level where they hold their current roles.

On that time frame I figure the last set of draftees we can count on is the 2019 year so I've included Biggy and an unknown 1st rounder which I'm assuming will be a top 10 mid.

Overall we can plug the gaps created by those leaving easy enough with guys that with 3 years more experience have the potential not to look out of place in a contending side, but we need half a dozen of them to be approaching elite status to be better placed than we currently are in my view. There's some I've listed that we'd no doubt love to improve on, but as a bottom 6 kind of player they work. I'm assuming Carlisle, Hannebery & Steven won't be elite at 31

That isn't really any different to our issue now, but if you look at our profile we will have a lot more realistic candidates for those half dozen elite-ish roles:

We don't have any guys tracking to be elite that have come from the skies right now I'd wager - maybe Steele and Long are the best chance which means you look at your top draft picks as having that starting talent to become elite - so that means we need 6 of the 8 high picks we have/will have to become elite - that's a pretty high strike rate required eh....most likely to make it I reckon goes like:
Gresham
Steele
Billings
Clark
King
Coffield
Long
2019 1st Rd

Tells me Coniglio would be worth throwing a lot of coin at if we want to be contending in 3 years time....

Potential 1st 22
FB: McKenzie; Clavarino/Joyce, Wilkie/Marsh/Battle
HB: Newnes, Carlisle, Webster
Fol: Marshall, Steele, Gresham
C: Billings, Ross, Coffield
HF: Parker, King, Steven
FF: Long, Bruce, Lonie
I/C: Clark, Acres/Battle/Marsh/Membrey, Kent, Hannebery/Bytel/2019 1st Rd

I suppose the only controversial call is that with a two tall forward setup someone needs to go past Membrey in my view for one of them. He needs to be able to compete with Parker in a small/medium role or more likely be able to act as a Gilbert-style utility to stay in there. I kind of have Acres going for that role as well with expectancy dropping for his eventual peak performance - in the way that shows how high a strike rate 6 from 8 is. Membrey needs to be handy depth for a contending side.

Running with so many smalls up forward also means we still have work to do in rejigging our list mix.

Also, given how many half backs we have on our list, it's surprising how few I have confidence in, in the end - a lot look like being churned out over the next couple of years I think. Hind is a possible as still an unknown and has a different skill set and no doubt you can point to signs here and there with Paton but my guess is at best they'll be long term depth.

Depth
Marking Backs: Clavarino/Joyce, Wilkie/Marsh/Battle
Running Backs: Savage, Hind/Paton/White/Rice/Langlands
Outside Mids: Sinclair, Phillips
Inside Mids: Hannebery/Bytel/2019 1st Rd, Dunstan
Rucks: Biggy, Pierce, Longer, Alabakis
Marking Forwards: Membrey, Battle, Biggy
Small Forwards: Young

Following on from the previous discussion on what we should aim for with next years 1st rounder I had a go at setting out the 1st 22 in 3 years time and what we need to happen for it to be a Top 4 contender.

I figured Geary & Brown would be gone, I have assumed Paddy & Robbo will have as well, but that Steven & Savage would be available but unlikely to be still at the level where they hold their current roles.

On that time frame I figure the last set of draftees we can count on is the 2019 year so I've included Biggy and an unknown 1st rounder which I'm assuming will be a top 10 mid.

Overall we can plug the gaps created by those leaving easy enough with guys that with 3 years more experience have the potential not to look out of place in a contending side, but we need half a dozen of them to be approaching elite status to be better placed than we currently are in my view. There's some I've listed that we'd no doubt love to improve on, but as a bottom 6 kind of player they work. I'm assuming Carlisle, Hannebery & Steven won't be elite at 31

That isn't really any different to our issue now, but if you look at our profile we will have a lot more realistic candidates for those half dozen elite-ish roles:

We don't have any guys tracking to be elite that have come from the skies right now I'd wager - maybe Steele and Long are the best chance which means you look at your top draft picks as having that starting talent to become elite - so that means we need 6 of the 8 high picks we have/will have to become elite - that's a pretty high strike rate required eh....most likely to make it I reckon goes like:
Gresham
Steele
Billings
Clark
King
Coffield
Long
2019 1st Rd

Tells me Coniglio would be worth throwing a lot of coin at if we want to be contending in 3 years time....

Potential 1st 22
FB: McKenzie; Clavarino/Joyce, Wilkie/Marsh/Battle
HB: Newnes, Carlisle, Webster
Fol: Marshall, Steele, Gresham
C: Billings, Ross, Coffield
HF: Parker, King, Steven
FF: Long, Bruce, Lonie
I/C: Clark, Acres/Battle/Marsh/Membrey, Kent, Hannebery/Bytel/2019 1st Rd

I suppose the only controversial call is that with a two tall forward setup someone needs to go past Membrey in my view for one of them. He needs to be able to compete with Parker in a small/medium role or more likely be able to act as a Gilbert-style utility to stay in there. I kind of have Acres going for that role as well with expectancy dropping for his eventual peak performance - in the way that shows how high a strike rate 6 from 8 is. Membrey needs to be handy depth for a contending side.

Running with so many smalls up forward also means we still have work to do in rejigging our list mix.

Also, given how many half backs we have on our list, it's surprising how few I have confidence in, in the end - a lot look like being churned out over the next couple of years I think. Hind is a possible as still an unknown and has a different skill set and no doubt you can point to signs here and there with Paton but my guess is at best they'll be long term depth.

Depth
Marking Backs: Clavarino/Joyce, Wilkie/Marsh/Battle
Running Backs: Savage, Hind/Paton/White/Rice/Langlands
Outside Mids: Sinclair, Phillips
Inside Mids: Hannebery/Bytel/2019 1st Rd, Dunstan
Rucks: Biggy, Pierce, Longer, Alabakis
Marking Forwards: Membrey, Battle, Biggy
Small Forwards: Young
That is a lot of thinking. And well done. Unfortunately I believe in 4 years time at least 10 of those players won’t be in the 22. Either traded delisted or retired. No idea who just looking at changes to even the best sides each year let alone a side cooking off 4 wins.

That's certainly a possibility, but I suppose I'm saying that I don't think it needs to be for us to contend. I also don't think sides have our current list age profile that often so we might be different - or need to be different.

Well we differ because even with good development I reckon that list is a long way short. An example is I’m a lonie fan but he isn’t playing in a top 4 side neither is McKenzie or newness and then there are others who don’t develop or who just aren’t as good as we thought. Tigers would have had 3 or 4 different players to the 2017 gf had they made it last year and that’s just a year.

Have you seen Sier kick it , i think id hit more targets that he does , has the body shape to be a gun but damn he can butcher it big time , not quick either

Yes seen him a bit , more because of midfield chemistry if Armitage is retired at years end .

Sadly have not seen you kick the football , will therefore not be able to offer opinion on that one.

Midfield would look in good shape depth wise if Sier ,Caldwell with a Rowell , Anderson or Young from draft
were on list .

Yes seen him a bit , more because of midfield chemistry if Armitage is retired at years end .

Sadly have not seen you kick the football , will therefore not be able to offer opinion on that one.

Midfield would look in good shape depth wise if Sier ,Caldwell with a Rowell , Anderson or Young from draft
were on list .
So if you have seen a bit of him why would you think we need yet another who cant hit a target ,

Was probably gettable last season when his stock was all time low, I’d given him up for a second rounder and a sniff of Bevo’s sherbet.

This year (Rd 2 I know lol) he’s playing better and Paddy still hasn’t made it onto the park and King still rehabbing so he’s our main target up front. I’d say he’s worth between 15-20 and I’d be happy to give him up for pick 10ish which I don’t think anyone would pay

He’s a very solid 40-50 goals a season player.
Yeah in terms of output, he's fairly comparable to our Tory Dickson (funnily enough, they both kicked 50 goals in 2015 at their peaks). Tory will likely retire this year or next, so it would be nice to replace his goalkicking output with an experienced player.

As you said, the price is looking significantly higher this year. Could've gone for Pick 25-30 last year. Now, Saints wouldn't even look at anything that isn't a first rounder unless they're getting a player with it. More likely he's off the trade table entirely though

So if you have seen a bit of him why would you think we need yet another who cant hit a target ,

Unfortunately think we need him .
Last time I looked he leads Treloar & Adams by foot hitting targets , O’Shaughnessy’s analysts will probably
say he is pretty high on distribution of the ball fairly accurately, appears Garry Lyon gets the same info.
Beams recruitment pushes his development & pies will be keen to keep him as Wells probably retires year end.

Unfortunately think we need him .
Last time I looked he leads Treloar & Adams by foot hitting targets , O’Shaughnessy’s analysts will probably
say he is pretty high on distribution of the ball fairly accurately, appears Garry Lyon gets the same info.
Beams recruitment pushes his development & pies will be keen to keep him as Wells probably retires year end.
Stats show geary isn't a bad kick either ,

I wonder if Gubby can work his magic on his good mate Lachie Whitfield and get him to seek to break contract a year early and come over. He's just the player we lack

Him on one wing with Kelly on the other.... GOLD