List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Kelly locked away on big $$$ Awesome!
Time to target a couple of their other guns.

So if Kelly remains a gun, he's free to re-negotiate his contract in 2 years time, or move to another club.
But if he gets Osteo Pubis and turns into a slow GOP, he has a high paying job for 6 years?

Crap deal for GWS.

I wonder if the Giants would be open to trading Bonar to free up a bit of space. He wouldn't be on big money but he goes from he would be getting an increase in pay next year after his first contract.
Has he done much though? They'd want our first at minimum, which we could also use on a proven player..

He looked very good in his first few games last year. I don't think he can break into the side this year though.

Likewise I'd prefer a proven star but I'm not sure how we'll go with that. Not a lot available. Would have to be lucky and get a contracted star like Brisbane were with Neele.

He looked very good in his first few games last year. I don't think he can break into the side this year though.

Likewise I'd prefer a proven star but I'm not sure how we'll go with that. Not a lot available. Would have to be lucky and get a contracted star like Brisbane were with Neele.
That seems to be the case. Still too many question marks over the saints to be a destination. I'm expecting one more year of building before we can land a top player, or one without baggage at least.
So far as poaching youngsters I've still got the hots for Petrucelli. Couldn't believe we passed on him, but he'd be a lot cheaper than Bonar and lower risk by the looks of it. If he asked to leave we could do it as cheap as a future first swap..

That seems to be the case. Still too many question marks over the saints to be a destination. I'm expecting one more year of building before we can land a top player, or one without baggage at least.
So far as poaching youngsters I've still got the hots for Petrucelli. Couldn't believe we passed on him, but he'd be a lot cheaper than Bonar and lower risk by the looks of it. If he asked to leave we could do it as cheap as a future first swap..
Petrucelli's price jas rocketed since being drsfted I reckon. I'm not sure that West Coast would do a future first swap when there is a possibility we will improve again next year.

I'd be surprised if they let him go anyway. Not long signed a contract and they have me reason to trade him.

How much are we going to spend to attempt to get Coniglio and Tomlinson to the Saints - they are both FA

No idea. Tomlinson will be a decent offer IF he was keen to come last time.

If it was only us making the running, and we still want him, then I suspect we'd throw some decent coin at him... And everyone will lose their shit over it.

However, if we have the cap space and have to spend the cash, then so be it. Talk was $750k last year to entice Lycette.

A lot of it comes down to whether a player is looking to leave or if you have to throw them in insane offer to make them take notice IMO.

The issue with Cogs IMO is that if he signals he'll consider a move, we'd have to compete with all the other clubs who would also chase him... Making him an expensive purchase.

Flipside is if you rate him an elite marquee player then you do what it takes.

I also believe that another disadvantage we have as a club is that we don't seem to be offer players something lucrative post footy.

I know for a fact that when a few of the big clubs pitch to a player, they also sell the opportunities and post footy connections.

The other unknown factor is if GWS decide to match any offers.

Maybe not with Tommi but they would play extra Hard's with Cogs. Don't forget they have already offloaded a few big names over the years to manage their cap and retention.

As much as I'm sure we will ask the question, I'd be happy for Gubby tp look at extracting players in the next tier who are looking to leave.

Has there ever been a match / trade for a FA though (Apart from the Dangerfield charade)? If GWS could match then he certainly wouldn't leave to us.
As per above post...

It depends on their cap situation and how much they want to keep Cogs.

They have she'd quite a few big names in order to retain the players they want.

So if the scenario was Tomlinson and Cogs, they would unlikely match the former and use his money to secure the latter.

That enables them to match any offer and at least force a trade to extract maximum value instead of a compo pick.

Suns didn't match because they knew he was gone and their compo pick was top 5 in a ripping draft.

GWS compo would high teens.

That's how I'd play it anyway.

It’s 2 players though? Martin we know, King we don’t. Would you take King for pick 10 in this years draft?

Would prefer true mids. I like Martin, just don't think he's what we need and the same with King, if he's too good to say no to then chase him for sure. I doubt Goldy would sell either for pick 10 alone, it would mean two picks from this year and next years first and still not address needs.

I still think King is probably going to be too big for a modern KP back. If he stays mobile maybe but could easily end up like Hugh Goddard. I see guys his size really being KPFs or Forward/ rucks.

Just want to clarify something...

I mentioned the other day that seb would be OK as a fifth midfielder. Should have been clearer with what I was actually thinking and posted accordingly.

My view is that if we are to contend, we need a quality midfield where Seb would be fifth best. Currently he is our 2nd best in an average midfield. Again, my uneducated view.

I look at what I consider the top 3 midfield of Geelong, GWS and best of all, Collingwood.

I could think of around four from each club that I'd prefer in our midfield.

That's the difference IMO.

Hence my lateral thinking about trades.

I realise there's a heap of emotion involved, but I tend to look at it clinically.

Hopefully we see some exponential growth, or we grab am elite player as a FA, and Keep guys like Seb.

But if that doesn't happen, we need to be aggressive. Again IMO.

Would prefer true mids. I like Martin, just don't think he's what we need and the same with King, if he's too good to say no to then chase him for sure. I doubt Goldy would sell either for pick 10 alone, it would mean two picks from this year and next years first and still not address needs.

I still think King is probably going to be too big for a modern KP back. If he stays mobile maybe but could easily end up like Hugh Goddard. I see guys his size really being KPFs or Forward/ rucks.
The hope for Ben would be that he develops something like Harris Andrews I reckon. Easier said than done though.

Yeah, Harris Andrews has stayed quite slight and mobile. The defenders are becoming a lot more of an intercept player than a true one on one these days so mobility and speed are key. Carlisle is luckily both big and fast but doesn't play on a man. Mc Govern, Lever etc can all mark well and move to the fall of the ball. Rance is unique because he can play a bit of both types of defensive roles.

Just want to clarify something...

I mentioned the other day that seb would be OK as a fifth midfielder. Should have been clearer with what I was actually thinking and posted accordingly.

My view is that if we are to contend, we need a quality midfield where Seb would be fifth best. Currently he is our 2nd best in an average midfield. Again, my uneducated view.

I look at what I consider the top 3 midfield of Geelong, GWS and best of all, Collingwood.

I could think of around four from each club that I'd prefer in our midfield.

That's the difference IMO.

Hence my lateral thinking about trades.

I realise there's a heap of emotion involved, but I tend to look at it clinically.

Hopefully we see some exponential growth, or we grab am elite player as a FA, and Keep guys like Seb.

But if that doesn't happen, we need to be aggressive. Again IMO.
I see where you are coming from mate, but I actually think we underrate Seb a bit. I'd like to see him with someone like Paddy Cripps or Dangerfield next to him. I think he'd thrive. Someone like Melbourne would love him in their midfield to complement their inside brigade. Unfortunately out inside mids just haven't come on like we'd hoped.

As for his trade value, I think there'd be quite a lot of sides willing to part with their first round pick for him if that's the need. Prestia cost the Tigers pick 5, Redden the Eagles a first rounder.

very worried that the two guys the Saints are thinking about are on the list of worst disposals in the afl .
Andrew Gaff
48.4%
36.5%
-11.9%
Jack Martin
Gold Coast
58.3%
48.6%
-9.7%
Marc Murphy