List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

I see where you are coming from mate, but I actually think we underrate Seb a bit. I'd like to see him with someone like Paddy Cripps or Dangerfield next to him. I think he'd thrive. Someone like Melbourne would love him in their midfield to complement their inside brigade. Unfortunately out inside mids just haven't come on like we'd hoped.

As for his trade value, I think there'd be quite a lot of sides willing to part with their first round pick for him if that's the need. Prestia cost the Tigers pick 5, Redden the Eagles a first rounder.
Don't know about us Underestimating Ross! Except for me possibly!
If a club wanted to give us a 1st rounder for him....Then take it and run Saints!

Don't know about us Underestimating Ross! Except for me possibly!
If a club wanted to give us a 1st rounder for him....Then take it and run Saints!
Luckily I doubt the club would be silly enough to trade Seb for a mI'd to late first rounder. We'd be looking to go forwards next year not backwards.

We've had 3 top 7 picks in the last two year and we'll likely have another decent pick next year.

I think we are more likely to try and bring in a good 25 year old midfielder rather than trade one out. Improve our midfield and Seb improves with it IMO.

Luckily I doubt the club would be silly enough to trade Seb for a mI'd to late first rounder. We'd be looking to go forwards next year not backwards.

We've had 3 top 7 picks in the last two year and we'll likely have another decent pick next year.

I think we are more likely to try and bring in a good 25 year old midfielder rather than trade one out. Improve our midfield and Seb improves with it IMO.
Then how are we bringing in a good 25 yr old midfielder?
Unless your talking about Steven! Which i s'pose is a possibility given all the noise around him!

Okay just did the ladder predictor and was as conservative as possible. Got us 9 wins and between 11-13 (on percentage)

Round 7: GWS Giants at UNSW Canberra Oval, Saturday May 4 at 1.45pm (Away) L
Round 8: West Coast Eagles at Marvel Stadium, Saturday May 11 at 7.25pm (Home) L
Round 9: Collingwood at MCG, Saturday May 18 at 1.45pm (Away) L
Round 10: Carlton at Marvel Stadium, Sunday May 26 at 3.20pm (Home) W
Round 11: Port Adelaide at Adelaide Arena Jiangwan Stadium, Sunday June 2 at 2.40pm (Home) L
Round 12: BYE
Round 13: Gold Coast Suns at Riverway Stadium — Townsville, Saturday June 15 at 1.45pm (Away) W
Round 14: Brisbane Lions at Marvel Stadium, Saturday June 22 at 4.35pm (Home) W
Round 15: Richmond at Marvel Stadium, Sunday June 30 at 1.10pm (Home)L
Round 16: North Melbourne at Blundstone Arena, Sunday July 7 at 3.20pm (Away)W
Round 17: Geelong Cats at GHMBA Stadium, Saturday July 13 at 7.25pm (Away)L
similars

Round 18: Western Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium, Sunday July 21 at 4.40pm (Home) L
Round 19: Melbourne at Marvel Stadium, Saturday July 27 at 7.25pm (Home)L
Round 20: Adelaide Crows at Adelaide Oval, Saturday August 3 at 7.40pm (Away)L
Round 21: Fremantle at Marvel Stadium, Sunday August 11 at 1.10pm (Home) L
Round 22: Carlton at MCG, Saturday August 17 at 1.45pm (Away) L
Round 23: Sydney Swans at SCG, Time and Date TBC (Away) L
___

Based of how we're playing this year we should win more than that definitely but I would have taken 9 wins at the start of the year.
You have us losing the last 7 :oops:
Your entitled to have that opinion and all
But personally i will be shattered if we end up with only 9 wins this season!

Okay just did the ladder predictor and was as conservative as possible. Got us 9 wins and between 11-13 (on percentage)

Round 8: West Coast Eagles at Marvel Stadium, Saturday May 11 at 7.25pm (Home) L
Round 11: Port Adelaide at Adelaide Arena Jiangwan Stadium, Sunday June 2 at 2.40pm (Home) L
Round 13: Gold Coast Suns at Riverway Stadium — Townsville, Saturday June 15 at 1.45pm (Away) W
similars

___

Based of how we're playing this year we should win more than that definitely but I would have taken 9 wins at the start of the year.
Conservative indeed.

I'll be disappointed if we end up with 9 wins when you look at that run home. And if we do lose our last 7, Richo won't be coaching next year.

5 of those games are very winnable at the least.

similars

___

I get being conservative but losing to Carlton at the MCG, where we play pretty well it going way too far.

I meant us to win vs Carlton ahaha to make the 9 :p.

I tried to go as conservative as possible, anything that could be 50/50 I put it down as a loss.

We could really easily beat WB, Port, Melbourne, Sydney (based on this year) and Freo but I wouldn't really be surprised if we lost them either.
If we win 2 of those 5 that's an 11 win season which would be a huge tick after last year.

Every possibility we could be going into round 23 v Sydney with a chance to make the 8.

All things being equal we should be at 8 wins after round 17 so a 8-8.

We should beat Norf in Tassie, GC Carlton and Brisbane in Melbourne. We beat 3 of them last year when we were **** and Norf in Tassie is hardly mission impossible. That's not even us counting us pinching a win in any other games

The next 6 shape whether we play finals or not:

Round 18: Western Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium, Sunday July 21 at 4.40pm (Home)
Round 19: Melbourne at Marvel Stadium, Saturday July 27 at 7.25pm (Home)
Round 20: Adelaide Crows at Adelaide Oval, Saturday August 3 at 7.40pm (Away)
Round 21: Fremantle at Marvel Stadium, Sunday August 11 at 1.10pm (Home)
Round 22: Carlton at MCG, Saturday August 17 at 1.45pm (Away)
Round 23: Sydney Swans at SCG, Time and Date TBC (Away)

The hardest game here is Adelaide in Adelaide. They've had the wood on us for how long but based on this year so far we'd be with half a chance.
Obviously A LOT can change by that point of the season, but from how the teams have performed this year the only game I would say we have no change in is Adelaide.

I see where you are coming from mate, but I actually think we underrate Seb a bit. I'd like to see him with someone like Paddy Cripps or Dangerfield next to him. I think he'd thrive. Someone like Melbourne would love him in their midfield to complement their inside brigade. Unfortunately out inside mids just haven't come on like we'd hoped.

As for his trade value, I think there'd be quite a lot of sides willing to part with their first round pick for him if that's the need. Prestia cost the Tigers pick 5, Redden the Eagles a first rounder.

People are seriously underrating him. It might surprise people that he's above players like Brayshaw in afl player rankings and being an outside mid he hasn't got he stats padded with contested possessions which get big scores. He's way above players like Gaff and Rockliff. Not far below Dylan Shiel. He's not a flashy player but this year he's added some free wheeling to his game and is moving ahead of where he was last year. To me selling him off to get a player of similar quality would be crazy.

I agree 100% get him an inside mid and he'd be super damaging, you don't get many outside getting 30 possessions a week. We need 4 more players of his quality not less.

Obviously A LOT can change by that point of the season, but from how the teams have performed this year the only game I would say we have no change in is Adelaide.

I reckon we almost win most games if we just manage to consistently bring the ball to ground. Ground ball gets are the most important stat so far this season and our small forward structure is built for that. All depends on Bruce/Membrey making a contest and Lonie getting back soon

similars

Round 22: Carlton at MCG, Saturday August 17 at 1.45pm (Away) L**** Should be a W
___

Surely we can beat the Wayward bulldogs and the dream-ons

very worried that the two guys the Saints are thinking about are on the list of worst disposals in the afl .
Andrew Gaff
48.4%
36.5%
-11.9%
Jack Martin
Gold Coast
58.3%
48.6%
-9.7%
Marc Murphy
49.9%
40.7%
-9.3%
Tim Kelly
47.4%
38.6%
-8.9%
Alex Keath
67.0%
58.8%
-8.2%
Elliot Yeo
46.8%
38.6%
-8.2%
Jaeger O'Meara
46.8%
38.8%
-8.1%
David Mundy
43.3%
35.4%
-7.9%
Matt Taberner
51.6%
44.7%
-6.9%
Adam Tomlinson
GWS
55.3%
48.6%
-6.6%
They fit right in. We should just start embracing the chaos ball- every forward entry to be a worm-burner off the shin and let Long and Parker clean it up

Yeah, Harris Andrews has stayed quite slight and mobile. The defenders are becoming a lot more of an intercept player than a true one on one these days so mobility and speed are key. Carlisle is luckily both big and fast but doesn't play on a man. Mc Govern, Lever etc can all mark well and move to the fall of the ball. Rance is unique because he can play a bit of both types of defensive roles.
Bloody difficult to predict how a guy of that size will develop, does anyone know his parents.

I mean if his old man is 6’.6” and built like a tank then I’d be worried. He is a seriously big boy, at his height you would think that he could play multiple roles. Back, forward and of course ruck, versatility is a massive advantage.

Ross for a second would be up there with the dumbest trades we have ever done and we are renowned for it.

It sounds like something Pelican would do by trying to be smart but outsmarting himself & ending up being the dill of the room.

Seriously, we are borderline finals as it stands, & some people want to trade our current acting captain, B&F winning, top 5 player on our list for a pick 20-40?

In all seriousness, unless we were in full-rebuild mode I wouldn’t accept anything less than a top 5 pick. Our most recent top 10 picks aren’t even playing senior footy & some want to trade away one of our best players for another 18 year old that’s taken 20-40? LMAO.

Luckily those at the club are not stupid enough to ever consider that trade because they are in the business of making our team better ie retaining our better players & players with leadership qualities & instead trading / delisting players that are not in our best 22 going forward.

Even if this trade was brought up in the “War Room” I reckon Gubby would smack the fool across the head & send him on his way.

very worried that the two guys the Saints are thinking about are on the list of worst disposals in the afl .
Andrew Gaff
48.4%
36.5%
-11.9%
Jack Martin
Gold Coast
58.3%
48.6%
-9.7%
Marc Murphy
49.9%
40.7%
-9.3%
Tim Kelly
47.4%
38.6%
-8.9%
Alex Keath
67.0%
58.8%
-8.2%
Elliot Yeo
46.8%
38.6%
-8.2%
Jaeger O'Meara
46.8%
38.8%
-8.1%
David Mundy
43.3%
35.4%
-7.9%
Matt Taberner
51.6%
44.7%
-6.9%
Adam Tomlinson
GWS
55.3%
48.6%
-6.6%

They have a guy who does the Sydney games wrap on SEN, he said Jones is one of the reasons that Sydney are shit these days saying he can't hit a target as well.

Surely we can beat the Wayward bulldogs and the dream-ons

I'm not as confident on the Dees, they started late and had 15 surgeries in the off season so had limited preseasons. I think at some point they will start winning a few in a row. Probably in the last 8 weeks when finals are out of reach.

Bloody difficult to predict how a guy of that size will develop, does anyone know his parents.

I mean if his old man is 6’.6” and built like a tank then I’d be worried. He is a seriously big boy, at his height you would think that he could play multiple roles. Back, forward and of course ruck, versatility is a massive advantage.

I don't think you'd want two Danihers in one team and if he is a ruckman a top 10 pick would be a high price. To me all our energies have to go into a FA mid and if that fails the best quality genuine mid in the draft with our pick. If he genuinely can become KPB then he's worth looking at but I'd be seriously keen to see what he looks like at GC once he starts playing. If he ends up around the level of Weitering or Schache you probably wouldn't rush to get him.

It sounds like something Pelican would do by trying to be smart but outsmarting himself & ending up being the dill of the room.

Seriously, we are borderline finals as it stands, & some people want to trade our current acting captain, B&F winning, top 5 player on our list for a pick 20-40?

In all seriousness, unless we were in full-rebuild mode I wouldn’t accept anything less than a top 5 pick. Our most recent top 10 picks aren’t even playing senior footy & some want to trade away one of our best players for another 18 year old that’s taken 20-40? LMAO.

Luckily those at the club are not stupid enough to ever consider that trade because they are in the business of making our team better ie retaining our better players & players with leadership qualities & instead trading / delisting players that are not in our best 22 going forward.

Even if this trade was brought up in the “War Room” I reckon Gubby would smack the fool across the head & send him on his way.
Thank God for some common sense.

What you’re saying is true, that’s not a trade anyone would make imo.

That doesn’t change the fact the everyone is on the table if the price is right and our list as it stands isn’t really a finals team imo, we may be close with some luck but that’s it. So barring some extraordinary drafting you still need to trade and you’re wasting time throwing up guys who aren’t worth a third round pick. Then you add in the reality that players get older and retire so there’s usually guys on the up and others on their way out.

So with one first round pick and not much else except future picks how do we make that leap?. Jack Steven is one of my all time favourites and I really rate Newnes. If they both wanted out and the return is right does that constitute a disaster or an opportunity?

I trust the team we have in place for the first time in ages to make the right calls and I don’t mind posters spitballing trades, fortunately we’re not making the decisions it’s just a bit of fun.

What you’re saying is true, that’s not a trade anyone would make imo.

That doesn’t change the fact the everyone is on the table if the price is right and our list as it stands isn’t really a finals team imo, we may be close with some luck but that’s it. So barring some extraordinary drafting you still need to trade and you’re wasting time throwing up guys who aren’t worth a third round pick. Then you add in the reality that players get older and retire so there’s usually guys on the up and others on their way out.

So with one first round pick and not much else except future picks how do we make that leap?. Jack Steven is one of my all time favourites and I really rate Newnes. If they both wanted out and the return is right does that constitute a disaster or an opportunity?

I trust the team we have in place for the first time in ages to make the right calls and I don’t mind posters spitballing trades, fortunately we’re not making the decisions it’s just a bit of fun.
Unless our recent picks rise to the level of the players we'd live from other clubs, then we are going nowhere.

They may very well become elite, but this will take a few more years, and the doubt the club is ready to take that risk.

Not can we afford to wait.