gringo2011
Premium Platinum
Whitfield for Ross. Get it done!
Whitfield is a gun now, only he was a very average wingman and has moved to a half back flank and become elite. I think I will spew if we recruit another HBF before we recruit a mid.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Whitfield for Ross. Get it done!
Cmon Gringo... Whitfield is a genuine gun. Wing, Mid or Half back. To even consider not wanting him in our team is utter garbage. He would walk straight in as our best player.Whitfield is a gun now, only he was a very average wingman and has moved to a half back flank and become elite. I think I will spew if we recruit another HBF before we recruit a mid.
Identify what you need, find it, find a way to get it.I think Newnes is a FA so not worth more than about a late second early third in compo. Keeping would be better, Stuv sounds more likely to retire than leave if he doesn't want to go around again. To me our depth is a bit light on so we don't have much to trade. We have very young or unestablished players, oldies with no value or best 22. That means the draft is about the only way we can improve.
Last season we did really well from the draft especially late, spending time on FA is probably worth keeping an eye on but all our energies should be on the drafting of talent and perhaps cherry picking B graders with youth on their side to fill obvious needs.
Cmon Gringo... Whitfield is a genuine gun. Wing, Mid or Half back. To even consider not wanting him in our team is utter garbage. He would walk straight in as our best player.
Identify what you need, find it, find a way to get it.
It’s all about flexibility and identifying what you need, personally I think high draft picks are somewhat overrated and are only part of the puzzle even if you get them right. We found AFL first 22 players in the football junkyard as have other clubs. Roughly a third of all NFL players were undrafted free agents, so despite all the resources and years of scouting they weren’t drafted.
Smart teams make it look easy with good planning and by using every method available to them to improve, so if we keep ruling things out are we a smart team?.
They were kissed on the dick with their father son players and have set themselves up nicely from that era.Like Geelong who pioneered picking the state league players and identified alternative talent streams. Tim Kelly and Tom Stewart are guns that cost chump change for example. Gary Rohan looks like a superstar at the Cats, Stanley is playing brilliant footy, Danger for cheap etc. Nearly everything they do in last management ends up working.
They have a guy who does the Sydney games wrap on SEN, he said Jones is one of the reasons that Sydney are **** these days saying he can't hit a target as well.
They were kissed on the dick with their father son players and have set themselves up nicely from that era.
Although they haven't won a flag for 8 years for all their brilliance.
I'd be more inclined to look at how the Hawks have done it, which pretty much what Yawks was suggesting.
Mate who barracks for the Swans said we could have him for free. He's not a fan, poor kicking so he'd fit right in.
Any one like a Whitfield would be great , but they would want the world - the only way I would give up 2 first round draft picks would be a Dangerfield or a Fyfe - one of these 2 would be all we need for our squad , hoping Hunter , Bytel , Coffield , Gresham , Acres can develop into solid mids.He probably would but we'd need to pay him a trillion dollars and 2 first rounders to get him. I still think he was pretty average before the move to HBF though, he was always a very good player but he's definitely better since the move and actually consistent. To me it would be a high profile trade which is good for business but we need to get midfield talent as a priority IMO. Wings we can make do with what we have with Billings, Acres, Newnes and several others but the obvious hole is the A grade mids we lack.
Pies will win it.The Hawks are looking like they are rebuilding with other teams high end talent, I reckon they will take longer than 8 years from their last flag too. Geelong has rebuilt with only a few remaining players form that era, never dropped out of contention. They look like they are the ones to beat for the flag this year. Their list is so deep and so good with quality and depth, good range of youth and experience too.
The Hawks have been kissed on the dick with the timing of being a dominant team in an era with restricted draft access and the aura they have created around Clarko and their professionalism makes them the destination for any player wanting to go to a pro club.
Pies will win it.
Yep, Hawks were just lucky.The Hawks are looking like they are rebuilding with other teams high end talent, I reckon they will take longer than 8 years from their last flag too. Geelong has rebuilt with only a few remaining players form that era, never dropped out of contention. They look like they are the ones to beat for the flag this year. Their list is so deep and so good with quality and depth, good range of youth and experience too.
The Hawks have been kissed on the dick with the timing of being a dominant team in an era with restricted draft access and the aura they have created around Clarko and their professionalism makes them the destination for any player wanting to go to a pro club.
Late second. 25-30.So Ross for an early second rounder is gaining legs I'm hearing.
I actually hope GWS win it.Maybe, I have Geelong in front of them, they are definitely in with a chance though. Geelong have a dream draw and should get top 2 without trying, the Pies will have to earn it the hard way. GWS will be up there but not sure on them still.
Any one like a Whitfield would be great , but they would want the world - the only way I would give up 2 first round draft picks would be a Dangerfield or a Fyfe - one of these 2 would be all we need for our squad , hoping Hunter , Bytel , Coffield , Gresham , Acres can develop into solid mids.
We have enough talent else where - but a Gawn or a Grundy would be good as well.
Apart from not getting a Dangerfield , Coniglio is one all should be trying everything to secure because he is a free agent and grab Tomlinson because he is a FA.
I just hope they are working on it now - Coniglio would be ideal captain.
Coniglio / Steven / Ross / Steele would be a good midfield.
Yep, Hawks were just lucky.
25-30 is an early second you nongLate second. 25-30.
If you're going to troll, get you facts right.
19- 24 hobbyist.25-30 is an early second you nong
And we have the timing of a failed stand up comedian.It's not just luck but even Brereton recons they were lucky with their timing. They are still a very well run club and should be admired fo what they do well.
Sorry you can't troll for shit.19- 24 hobbyist.
Anyway we can then use pick 30 to draft the best available HBF...
That's how you troll.
You paying attention boy?
I dare you to suggest we trade one of our HBF's to create space for Whitfield go on try it. What price Webster or Coff?He probably would but we'd need to pay him a trillion dollars and 2 first rounders to get him. I still think he was pretty average before the move to HBF though, he was always a very good player but he's definitely better since the move and actually consistent. To me it would be a high profile trade which is good for business but we need to get midfield talent as a priority IMO. Wings we can make do with what we have with Billings, Acres, Newnes and several others but the obvious hole is the A grade mids we lack.
No no no - if Whitfield came to the Saints he would not be playing half back flankI dare you to suggest we trade one of our HBF's to create space for Whitfield go on try it. What price Webster or Coff?