2019 Trade thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I have a feeling Dylan may have said a few things around here tongue in cheek for a a bit of fun.

I’d buy that the first or 30th time but after dozens and dozens of the same posts with no appearance of humour it loses the effect.

Hawks supporters believe Greenwood has verbally committed to them.

I think you'll find informed Hawks supporters don't think he's OTL.

Cutler and Pies first and Suns 2nd for Oliver be about right he has a contract.
I think Cutler fit in well for the demons they need someone outside

Otherwise Cutler and suns second for Brayshaw.

Tigers packaged up a few depth players last year and it came back to bite them a little.
So always have to be careful we do not dilute the list too much just because we had little injures this year.

Cutler and Pies first and Suns 2nd for Oliver be about right he has a contract.
I think Cutler fit in well for the demons they need someone outside

Otherwise Cutler and suns second for Brayshaw.

Tigers packaged up a few depth players last year and it came back to bite them a little.
So always have to be careful we do not dilute the list too much just because we had little injures this year.
If Brayshaw goes, more than likely heads west to join his brothers.

Tigers had to let go some of their depth players so they could sign Lynch.

Jamie Elliott? Word is he could be squeezed out.
Was spoken about on the Age podcast today.

Somewhat injury prone, and probably needs to move to revive his career.

Would teach all our forwards about leading patterns. He might be small, but he plays like a tall.

Always thought he came across as a flog, but I’d take him over Greenwood.

What would you be prepared to give up for Oliver mate?
Perhaps a second round pick, not including the Gold Coast one.

I've seen a bit of Oliver and I don't get the fuss or why we'd need him with the players we already have on our list.

It’s interesting being on this side of the fence in that players want to come to our club. It certainly is a different feel. I will the trust Noble and Co. with who they bring in but the likes of Greenwood doesn’t get me excited. I believe there are greater needs but who knows. It’s been great to the likes of not only Cameron, Neale, McCarthy come in recent years but also take their game to a new level. I just hope that we don’t sell ‘the farm’ in targeting players but do have faith with those driving the ship. Contracts don’t mean much these days so it will be definitely interesting who also might pop up after the season finishes.
If Brayshaw goes, more than likely heads west to join his brothers.

Tigers had to let go some of their depth players so they could sign Lynch.
From memory the oldest is based out of Brisbane in the army but they do move around a lot.

20c85a7ef7aacfcb197810e062c8b612.jpg

I’d definitely be after Fogs, Knight, Keath, and Greenwood.

Cutler is twice the player than Greenwood is and would push for AA selection if played in Greenwood's position.

Pass.
No mate

Im not a fan of this Greenwood business. Trades cost either: picks, list spots, cap space or all 3. We have a list squeeze going on and are set to lose great depth players. When you want to bring in a player from another team you usually have to over pay in one of the above. Giving Greenwood a 3 year contract on decent enough money for him to leave Adelaide only for him to play NEAFL would be a waste.

You would rather develop your own depth than import it in. Id rather the likes of Hinge, C Lyons, Keays, Wooler remain as depth than chase a random guy. Guys who have played 2-4+ years in the Lions system will be a cheaper and more effective depth option than some random guy from Adelaide who we are overpaying. The synergies from working with your teammates for 2+ years is under-rated. Id be very confident in the likes of Keays/Taylor playing wing/small to mid forward and Matho/C Lyons/Hinge playing mid than having Greenwood play either role. All these guys are young and could develop further over the next 3 years just like Zorko did when he started playing AFL. Greenwood is a known aging quantity with no pre-existing synergy with the club. It'd be like if we were chasing the likes of Bewick to get back on the list hoping that he would become a consistent footballer at age 28.

Im not a fan of this Greenwood business. Trades cost either: picks, list spots, cap space or all 3. We have a list squeeze going on and are set to lose great depth players. When you want to bring in a player from another team you usually have to over pay in one of the above. Giving Greenwood a 3 year contract on decent enough money for him to leave Adelaide only for him to play NEAFL would be a waste.

You would rather develop your own depth than import it in. Id rather the likes of Hinge, C Lyons, Keays, Wooler remain as depth than chase a random guy. Guys who have played 2-4+ years in the Lions system will be a cheaper and more effective depth option than some random guy from Adelaide who we are overpaying. The synergies from working with your teammates for 2+ years is under-rated. Id be very confident in the likes of Keays/Taylor playing wing/small to mid forward and Matho/C Lyons/Hinge playing mid than having Greenwood play either role. All these guys are young and could develop further over the next 3 years just like Zorko did when he started playing AFL. Greenwood is a known aging quantity with no pre-existing synergy with the club. It'd be like if we were chasing the likes of Bewick to get back on the list hoping that he would become a consistent footballer at age 28.

I think the recruiting team (including Fagan) aren't going to bring players in without a specific (best 22) role in mind. They've got the track record to prove they know what they're talking about and reckon we back them in if they think he's the right fit.

If we get him cheap cool. If we don't get him it doesn't bother me.

We have cutler and lewy on the outer. Hodge potentially may retire. So if all 3 leave thats extra moola for a grades. But if noble and fages see something in Greenwood then go for it.

I'm definitely in the pro-Greenwood boat. It might be one of the cases where you rate a player that play well against you higher, but I love his attack on the ball and can a 3 year deal is fair considering he started playing football later

From memory the oldest is based out of Brisbane in the army but they do move around a lot.
Yup. Think he might be on tour atm.

The two younger brothers are in WA, but also all the extended family live in WA.

The Brayshaw’s moved from WA to Vic for his dads playing career. Otherwise all his other family, uncles, aunts, cousins, etc are still in WA.

Hi guys,
Long time lurker- first time poster.
Just thought i'd share that i have on what I consider good authority that there could be a bit of moving on of current players to make room for some targets this off season, there is supposedly around five guys we are targeting.. of which I've been told Hugh Greenwood and Adam Tomlinson are two. Not sure either exactly fill needs, but that's what I've been told.. fingers crossed there's a couple A graders in the mix for those other few🤞

Dodongo heard the same thing about Tomlinson about a month back. Not a 'Dodongo would stake a Dodongo ball confidence" thing but enough that makes Dodongo think its good mail.

Scary reply to a first time poster

Just a question for some of the anti-Greenwood posters (briztoon, lionraven & Dylan12 on this page come to mind) would you guys have been for/against Jarryd Lyons at this stage last year?

I feel like he had similar - maybe less - runs on the board when we got him. It was a free hit, but Greenwood wouldn't be much more expensive I wouldn't think. I'm genuinely curious because I feel like the club's recruiting strategy has been pretty spot on over the past two years. Specifically with players that might've seemed questionable initially but have well and truly proven their worth as great recruits as the year has gone on.

It's probably changed my thinking about trade targets a little. Partially because I have a higher degree of trust in the talent assessment of our recruiting department than I ever have, and also because I've seen what sort of approach actually builds a good side (and it isn't necessarily an 'only A Graders' policy). Under the A graders only policy, we wouldn't have brought in Mitch, Linc, Lyons, Bundy, Stef, Walker or Adams - all players who are as of the weekend best 22 in a top four team.

Scary reply to a first time poster

Dodongo's understanding is the club has inquired about him as have a few Victorian clubs and a month ago he wasn't ruling it out but held a move to Victoria in higher regard but the success we have this year could tip the balance in our favour.

We obviously think he would play some sort of unique role but Dodongo doesn't know what that could be. Dodongo would trust and back the club in as they do see something in him and with our track record lately its best not to doubt them.

Only A graders probably stretches the salary cap a bit so the next level down has obviously been a target and has worked a treat so far..but I think any future newcomers deserve discussion because they won't necessarily be a hit