News 2020 AFL Fixture

Ikon would have been great...
Playing them at the G should have been the decision imo..
‘fun fact’ we were scheduled to play them only once this year Rd15 at 4.35 on a Saturday at Marvel, so how do you justify that decision...

Yes and it was our home game.

3 ****ing years in a row now we play at GMHBA. :rage:

Why ... because AFL!

Iirc prior to games being called off the AFL/ clubs were in discussions with Fox to give access to Kayo for club members. I don't know where they got to with that, perhaps they'll bring it back up

Yes and it was our home game.

3 ******* years in a row now we play at GMHBA. :rage:

Why ... because AFL!
Being shaped like a pencil, GMHBA stadium is not fit for AFL football and is a big reason why Geelong look like a good team in the regular season and get found out on the MCG. Ridiculous that we have to go there 3 years in a row

Let just hope we don't have to kick against a 5 goal wind for 3 quarters in this game.

Happy for Geelong to play all of there home games there if we can have their MCG home games.

I have Fox Footy but I don’t really care if it’s FTA or Fox. Fox is struggling to keep people as subscribers. I imagine it would fall off a cliff if it didn’t have some exclusivity.
Fox having no adds after every single goal kicked is a bonus...
For the record i have had it for many years but it’s ridiculously over priced...

I am happy that we are playing geelong on their terms again...I am expecting our boys will be eager to respond...caarn caaaarlton

Eh, it's a Mickey Mouse season anyway.

Also, irrelevant if it "was" our home game. Now it's an away game. May mean later in the year we get a home game against Freo/WC/Sydney/GWS instead of having to travel.

Yeah too early to be upset about it...at least there won't be any pro-Geelong crowd to contend with.

I'd prefer to play Geelong at GMHBA if it meant we received a home game in VIC against an interstate team as replacement.

Very frustrating heading to Geelong again but unfortunately we’ll keep copping the short end of the straw from the AFL until we start pushing up the ladder. AFL has always protected the strong clubs and unfortunately that’s not us at the moment due to past performance. Expect a more favourable fixture with times, venues and broadcast once we start performing consistently well

I am of the opinion that geelong is only hurting themselves when they get so many games at GMHBA. They’re never getting a GF there. And will only end up second best at best in a GF at the G. V anybody. They play there boundary game so well at their shit ground but hand no idea at the G. I wish it continues for as much time as possible. Straight sets again geelong I reckon.

Iirc prior to games being called off the AFL/ clubs were in discussions with Fox to give access to Kayo for club members. I don't know where they got to with that, perhaps they'll bring it back up
Busy yesterday so did not get to listen fully but by chance heard radio for about two minutes where guy on SEN said the original plan to do something where members could get a deal from Kayo for around $2 to $3 dollars is not workable now. They maybe still seeing if they can do some other deal for members but I not heard anything from club on this at all since Cain Liddle mentioned it on radio all those months ago, Surely this week we get an email update on something like this as games coming up soon.

Ok, with Melnbourne and us meeting in round 2, I am wondering what the plan is for a scratch match of our players not going to play seniors that arvo.
Surely there must be some plan for Carlton and Melbourne players out of 22 to play some kind of game, even if just 15 v 15 at Princes Park just after noon that day. ????
Would make sense... therefore it probably not going to happen....

I am of the opinion that geelong is only hurting themselves when they get so many games at GMHBA. They’re never getting a GF there. And will only end up second best at best in a GF at the G. V anybody. They play there boundary game so well at their shit ground but hand no idea at the G. I wish it continues for as much time as possible. Straight sets again geelong I reckon.
freo cleaning them out down there in that final was as delicious as any upset I've experienced..........that's still the danger for those smug corio graziers.......

Eh, it's a Mickey Mouse season anyway.

Also, irrelevant if it "was" our home game. Now it's an away game. May mean later in the year we get a home game against Freo/WC/Sydney/GWS instead of having to travel.

Interesting take on things, I actually see it as the opposite to a 'mickey mouse' season. It's the first time since 1986 season that the premiership will be decided after having a fair and equitable draw in the home and away season.

The best thing that could happen for footy is to keep the 17 round season going into the future, the uneven draw makes it a farce.

Interesting take on things, I actually see it as the opposite to a 'mickey mouse' season. It's the first time since 1986 season that the premiership will be decided after having a fair and equitable draw in the home and away season.

The best thing that could happen for footy is to keep the 17 round season going into the future, the uneven draw makes it a farce.
Ain’t gonna happen gab123 (re the fixture).

My concern is that those in charge of the AFL are going to use this ‘topolino’ season to make changes that will not be reversed next year. We’ve already got shorter games. We’ll have smaller playing lists. Smaller coaching panels. A night grand final (yuck).

I’m not looking forward to the season being played without the crowds. I hated the game against Richmond because without the crowd it’s not footy. The game thrives on noise. Pumping it in on a soundtrack is laughable.

News 2020 AFL Fixture