Preview 2020 AFL National Draft thread

I think North should invest heavily in its midfield in the first round bringing in classy, dynamic and fast players. Then sort out it’s forward and ruck situation. On that basis my ideal draft haul would be:

2. Hollands (or if he’s gone, Phillips (though I’d be shattered not to land EH).
11. Perkins (or if gone, McRae - or if gone, Bruhn).
30. Jake Bowey
37. Neale

Once the midfield is settled with a good mix of class to compliment the grunt we always manage to somehow accumulate, we can focus on bringing in another key forward (assuming Larkey struggles and Comben doesn’t live up to the hype). This and next years draft could set us up for the next 10 years.
You see, Im the total opposite.

I reckon we should go tall this year simply because;
1. BBB, Durdin and Wood gone, Goldy & Tarrant at the twilight of their careers - we need to find replacements for their replacements..
2. Big guys take longer to develop so taking them now fast-tracks that development.
3. Theres (apparently) an abundance of star quality midfielders in next years draft and that’s without seeing some of this years kids that have slipped through the covid crack..

Pick 2 - MacDonald/DGB/Thrilla and 11 - Cox/Reid with a project ruck late would be ideal for mine.

Balmer’s mail from clubs is that Neale might be more of a rookie at this stage.

Given our pick in the 70’s will likely compress into the 50’s, he would be a good pick there.

He also mentioned he thinks all the Tassie boys will go undrafted.

He ranks JUH and Chapman #1 and #2 as players he think likely become perennial AA from the group.

In his own words “North have put an absolute mountain of work into Perkins”

He expects Matt Allison to be a bolter on draft night and go top 25.

He thinks Laurie could go as high as 10 as well.

His mock is being released on Tuesday.

Perkins at 2? Surely not.
Not beyond the realms of possibility and I wouldn't be disappointed if that's where our recruiters value him.

It's my understanding that the kid has massive upside but his exposed form isn't as hot as Hollands/Phillips.

Let's face it this draft carries a lot more unknowns than a normal year due to the lack of footy most of the draft candidates have been able to play this year.

I'd be thrilled if we ended up with a Perkins/Cox duo or McDonald/Thillthorp + Perkins.

I'm also hoping that our recruitment team has a very good insight into Campbell with a view to bidding on him at pick 2 if our guys consider him a genuine top 5 talent. If we consider him that highly rated we'll be happy to take him or force the COLAs hand which would mean there's at least one more selection option available at our pick 11.

It's not going to be easy to find another kid that loves kebabs that much.

All is good, this just in from our man on the scene:

"According to the shop owner, he asked ‘for one of his famous kebabs.’ His eftpos didn’t work. So transferred the money. The two kebabs were ruined so he ordered two more. I am unsure what flavour"

Apparently, McDonald has had 3 interviews with the Crows.

From the draft board: "Logan McDonald has had THREE interviews with the crows, including with Leadership Development Manager Dan Jackson, Nicks and obviously Ogilvy."

Yep. All the pro McDonald devotees on this board are likely to be disappointed. Thilthorpe is shaping up as a ruckman and Crows are not likely to burn pick 1 on him. Who's the last genuinely elite ruckman to play in a premiership?

Not beyond the realms of possibility and I wouldn't be disappointed if that's where our recruiters value him.

It's my understanding that the kid has massive upside but his exposed form isn't as hot as Hollands/Phillips.

Let's face it this draft carries a lot more unknowns than a normal year due to the lack of footy most of the draft candidates have been able to play this year.

I'd be thrilled if we ended up with a Perkins/Cox duo or McDonald/Thillthorp + Perkins.

I'm also hoping that our recruitment team has a very good insight into Campbell with a view to bidding on him at pick 2 if our guys consider him a genuine top 5 talent. If we consider him that highly rated we'll be happy to take him or force the COLAs hand which would mean there's at least one more selection option available at our pick 11.
I rate Perkins, but I would have thought Hollands offers a little more and has had more midfield exposure.

Go through the best forwards in the game and also the forwards who have played in recent premierships. A majority of them are or a would have been first round picks.

Riewoldt - 1st round pick - multiple premiership player - Elite forward

Lynch - pre listed(would have gone first round)- multiple premiership player - Elite forward

Kennedy - 1st round pick - premiership player - Elite forward

Boyd - 1st round pick - premiership player

Roughead - 1st round pick - multiple premiership player - Elite forward

Franklin - 1st round pick multiple premiership player - Elite forward

Hawkins - F/S (would have gone first round)- multiple premiership player - Elite forward

Dixon - Pre listed (would have gone first round) - Elite forward

Cameron - Pre listed (would have gone first round)- Elite forward

Then you have the next generation of young talent who will go along way to making their club successful :

Hipwood
B. King
M. King
H. McKay
C. Curnow
T. Marshall
N. Blakey
A. Naughton

As I have said previously, it can be hit and miss picking a key forward. But a majority of sides that win flags or go deep into finals have invested high in a key forward.

Fwiw Lynch was drafted 1st round not pre-listed.

Agree though, in fact think posted something almost word for word the same a couple of weeks ago.

Wouldn't discount Hawthorn taking Phillips. They're clinical.

Draft Phillips then tell Worpel or Mitchell to g'agf.

Ryan Burton style.

Wouldn't discount Hawthorn taking Phillips. They're clinical.

Draft Phillips then tell Worpel or Mitchell to g'agf.

Ryan Burton style.

They might put Phillips through their feeder system at GC first.

Balmer’s mail from clubs is that Neale might be more of a rookie at this stage.

Given our pick in the 70’s will likely compress into the 50’s, he would be a good pick there.

He also mentioned he thinks all the Tassie boys will go undrafted.

He ranks JUH and Chapman #1 and #2 as players he think likely become perennial AA from the group.

In his own words “North have put an absolute mountain of work into Perkins”

He expects Matt Allison to be a bolter on draft night and go top 25.

He thinks Laurie could go as high as 10 as well.

His mock is being released on Tuesday.
Do you take Balmers opinion seriously? Does he seriously not think any Tassie player will be recruited? Not even thinking a. Team will take a chance on Callow?

Perkins at 2? Surely not.
Don’t want to be negative and he seems like a lovely bloke, but if this happens it has Scott Clayton written all over it. Loves his speculative mid-sized athletes. Problem is, they tend to be busts just as often as guns. C’mon Scotty, Hollands or McDonald, don’t **** around.