2020 Copeland Trophy

Buckley put fair effort into acknowledging the fans and members.

Didn’t have an issue with the players speeches ... IMO the mood was low, they’d probably already checked out and who can blame them?
They all sounded absolutely knackered didn't they. Dunno if it was from the season or the fact that this was an AM recording, after a big night on the piss

IIRC there was only a few votes between 3rd and 5th, so it could have just as easily been some other combination
Yeah and Moore was managed for that match in Adelaide when we played all those games close together and finished 1 vote behind Crisp so could have made a difference. I did not think that Pendles was as effective as in other years but our voting system maybe rewards midfielders most.

Hard to argue with the results given that the posters on this board ended up with the same top 6 in our voting.

Our order compared to the Copeland was 1, 2, 5, 4, 3, 6 so pretty closely matched.

Moore was managed for that match in Adelaide when we played all those games close together and finished 1 vote behind Crisp so could have made a difference.

I’m not sure if it’s still the same system, up but you used to start with a vote for every game played. If that is still the case then it’s certainly cost Moore. His hammies are probably grateful, though.

Hard to argue with the results given that the posters on this board ended up with the same top 6 in our voting.

Our order compared to the Copeland was 1, 2, 5, 4, 3, 6 so pretty closely matched.

I’m not sure if it’s still the same system, up but you used to start with a vote for every game played. If that is still the case then it’s certainly cost Moore. His hammies are probably grateful, though.
I reckon that was Malthouse's system.

Congrats to Taylor Adams - magnificent season and just reward winning the Copeland.

And a big shout out to the top 10. The ever green Rolls Royce in Pendles.

But I reserve my biggest shout out to young Daicos for becoming the player he has (I had my doubts), and also to John Noble ...in his first full AFL season after being picked up mid season. The application he has shown to make it has been remarkable.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Maybe I underrate him but I just don't know how Pendlebury was our 2nd best player this year.

Consistently good, but doesn't win a lot of clearances or make huge plays anymore
Yeah agree mate. He gets the numbers but is not really as influential as some of the other star mids from other teams. Have been disappointed with his last 3 final series.

And remember mate, he missed 4 games. Reckon they were generous to him in the voting.

The voting of this board also had Pendles at second overall.

I don't think that sentiment or generosity has anything to do with it. The man had a good year.

Maybe I underrate him but I just don't know how Pendlebury was our 2nd best player this year.

Consistently good, but doesn't win a lot of clearances or make huge plays anymore
AA top 40, averaged more clearances than Petracca, Cotchin, Selwood, Rockliff, Kelly x2, Dusty and Merrett, was 31st in contested possessions per game and 11th in disposals per game, nearly averaged 350m gained, and was 15th in the competition in effective disposals per game. Not to mention we here on this very board voted him as 2nd. I think our midfield at stoppages would have been a complete shitshow without him, like our midfield at centre stoppages was

The voting system on the Didaka is nothing like a Copeland one though.

That's got nothing to do with the question of whether or not Pendles had a good year.

The fact that he polled well across the season according to both counts tells me plenty, especially given the fact that his efforts tend to be generally underappreciated.

AA top 40, averaged more clearances than Petracca, Cotchin, Selwood, Rockliff, Kelly x2, Dusty and Merrett, was 31st in contested possessions per game and 11th in disposals per game, nearly averaged 350m gained, and was 15th in the competition in effective disposals per game. Not to mention we here on this very board voted him as 2nd. I think our midfield at stoppages would have been a complete shitshow without him, like our midfield at centre stoppages was

Thought he had a good season, but compared to his prime was no where near as good.

I thought Maynard and Moore both were more influential imo. It was our defence, not our midfield, that carried us to scrap into the finals.

Our midfield and whole team were a complete shitshow when he was out. Didn't he miss WCE, Freo, Demons games where we were absolutely awful.

I was surprised Pendles came 2nd. I probably had him 5th, thought Moore/Maynard were right behind Adams. But can't complain.
Very proud Daicos got 6th and Nobes got 10th who many did not (or still don't?) rate him at some point this season.

Any other result than Adams would be a crime. So glad to see he won in a landslide.

And remember mate, he missed 4 games. Reckon they were generous to him in the voting.
Mate I'm surprised someone on big footy didn't get into the top 10 lol
It's fairly obvious apart from top 6
It was a chook raffle

No treleor
No de goey
No sidebottom

Congrats to Ad's on his Copeland win. So very well deserved, and the next Collingwood captain.
Also Pendles, runner-up, the guy is unbelievable, what a true legend of our club, and is our greatest player ever...

The only questionable aspect on Pendlebury is he missed 4 games. Often missing so many games hurts in the Copeland, but with the exception of Adams most players had at least 2-3 quiet games and missed 1-2. Pendlebury was super in the games he did play; on stat averages he had all of the AA mids covered except Neale.

My main query re. Pendles is his hurt factor. He gets good numbers but so does his opponent. His disposal is generally good but he is not a matchwinner.

2020 Copeland Trophy