List Mgmt. 2020 Draft (December 9) discussion thread

Our currently owned picks:

24 - Blake Coleman
43 - Harry Sharp
48 - Henry Smith

Our currently owned 2021 picks:

1st (MEL), 1st (BRI), 3rd (WCE), 3rd (BRI), 4th (MEL), 4th (COL), 5th (BRI)

Sorry, was there another club in Brisbane that I wasn't aware of, besides the poorly run Crushers who were full of washed up has-beens?

Because?

I'm sure he was a good scout. I'm just saying it isn't all that hard to sign the best talent when you're the only game in town and it's a thousand clicks to get to the next club.
I was talking, as I asked, if there is a person and said, in Rugby League there was one, with the Brisbane Broncos - Cyril O'Connell who died in 2009.

But you just need to shoot people down so off you go again. Every other NRL club has scouts in Brisbane and relationships with feeder clubs. Collingwood doesn't have a second division team in Perth.

I was talking, as I asked, if there is a person and said, in Rugby League there was one, with the Brisbane Broncos - Cyril O'Connell who died in 2009.

But you just need to shoot people down so off you go again. Every other NRL club has scouts in Brisbane and relationships with feeder clubs. Collingwood doesn't have a second division team in Perth.
Maybe stop playing armchair psychologist and ask your question clearly, then someone might give you the answer you're seeking.

From a player's point of view, if you're 18 and ready to go... why shouldn't you be able to put yourself forward for a job?
I'm actually all for lifting the draft age, but legally, if a player was prevented from putting himself forward, there'd be the obvious restraint of trade provisions open to a player to challenge the validity of such restrictions.

Yes because that’s the comparison to be made
I'd rather that comparison than anyone defending someone so soft that is clearly going to have a sook if one of those big bad non-Victorian clubs draft him.

Perhaps if it is so hard, he should just sit out of footy for two years and see whether anyone is interested then once he grows a pair.

Maybe stop playing armchair psychologist and ask your question clearly, then someone might give you the answer you're seeking.
You answered Melbourne were good are recruiting. Clearly you have no idea at all how the sport works. The Rugby League has no draft, players go to a club based on what a club pays them supposedly within the salary cap - and the club you think are good at recruiting Melbourne were simply paying players double.

As a result, NRL Chief Executive David Gallop stripped the Melbourne Storm of their 2007 and 2009 premierships and their 2006, 2007 and 2008 minor premierships, fined them an Australian sporting record $1,689,000

I chocked on my wine laughing wile reading your logic

You answered Melbourne were good are recruiting. Clearly you have no idea at all how the sport works. The Rugby League has no draft, players go to a club based on what a club pays them supposedly within the salary cap - and the club you think are good at recruiting Melbourne were simply paying players double.
Right, we'll just pretend they didn't unearth the talent of Slater, Inglis, Folau, Cronk, Smith, Chambers and Vunivalu then. And that they didn't identify underutilised young talent like Maloney or Papenhuyzen and give them a chance for regular playing time. All just money, even after they started complying with the salary cap, no scouting involved.

I chocked on my wine laughing wile reading your logic
Steady on old mate, wouldn't want you to hurt yourself.

Geez, that's a surprise. Would've thought McDonald or Hollands for sure.

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft (December 9) discussion thread