Review 2020 Draft General Discussion

How's the 2020 draft watch going?
In WA
Nathan O'Driscoll 29 disposals for Perth Colts yesterday.
Joel Western 15 and a goal for Claremont yesterday as a small forward.
Denver Granger-Barass played League for Swans two weeks ago
Logan McDonald kicked 8.1 and had 23 disposals 14 marks as permanent forward for Aquinas yeaterday.
Brandon Walker only 10 disposals for East Fremantle Colts
Keep your eye out for an Aquinas/East Fremantle inside mid called Finn Gorringe. Tough, good ball winner and breaks from stoppages well.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Oliver Davis From Tassie is taking my eye atm in a poor team.. If he fills out i expect him to go top 30

This draft looks really good

updated list, work in progress. (obviously more SA and WA talent yet to come)

2020 Talent - good underagers
VC
Charlie Lazzaro (Geel)177cm 73kg
Noah Gribble (Geel)179cm 68kg
Oliver Henry (Geel)186cm 72kg
Tanner Bruhn (Geel)182cm 73kg
Charlie Brauer (Geel)183cm 68kg*
Elijah Hollands (Murr)188cm 80kg
Zavier Maher (Murr)183cm 82kg
Thomas Panuccio (Murr)179cm 73kg
Jai Neal (Dand)191cm 80kg*
Clayton Gay (Dand)183cm 71kg
Deakyn Smith (Dand)179cm 65kg* Melb NGA
Josh Treacy (Bend)192cm 88kg
Jack Evans (Bend)182cm 70kg
Jack Ginnivan (Bend)180cm 73kg
Jack Tillig (GWV)185cm 81kg*
Harry Sharp (GWV)180cm 70kg
Nick Stevens (GWV)191cm 86kg* WB NGA?
Sam Berry (Gipps)180cm 82kg
Zach Reid (Gipps)200cm 77kg*
Ryan Angwin (Gipps)181cm 62kg
Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Oak)194cm 79kg WB NGA
-----------------------------------------
VM
Josh Clarke (East)181cm 65kg
Will Parker (East)180cm 76kg*
Salele Feagaimalii (East)186cm 99kg* Haw NGA
Conor Downie (East)183cm 81kg Haw NGA
Will Phillips (Oak)179cm 78kg
Lochlan Jenkins (Oak)177cm 76kg
Reef McInnes (Oak)191cm 83kg Coll NGA
Giorgio Varagiannis (Oak)175 73kg*
Fraser Elliot (Oak)187cm 86kg*
Finlay Macrae (Oak)184cm 73kg
Darby Hipwell (Sand)181cm 78kg
Jake Bowey (Sand)173cm 65kg
Eddie Ford (West)186cm 80kg
Jackson Cardillo (Cald)185cm 77kg
Flynn Lakey (Cald)171cm 70kg*
Nikolas Cox (North)197cm 80kg
Ewan MacPherson (North)178cm 82kg WB F/S
------------------------------------------
ALLIES
Charlie Byrne (Murr)182cm 78kg
Alex Davies (GCS A)190cm 80kg GCS A
Errol Gulden (Syd A)173cm 70kg Syd A
Braeden Campbell (Syd A)178cm 71kg Syd A
Sam Collins (Tas)187cm 79kg
Oliver Davis (Tas)181cm 75kg
Jackson Callow (Tas)193cm 94kg
Pat Walker (Tas)185cm 77kg*
WA
Nathan O'Driscoll (Perth)182cm 75kg (early #1 pick prediction)
Logan McDonald (Perth)192cm 84kg
Denver Grainger-Barrass (Swan Dist)192cm 77kg
SA
Luke Edwards (Glenlg)187cm 79kg Adel F/S?(not sure he wants to be F/S)
Corey Durdin (C Dist)173cm 70kg
Riley Thilthorpe (W Adel)199cm 96kg
Taj Schoefield (WWT)176cm 71kg Port F/S
Zac Dumesny (S Adel)186cm 77kg

* = not 100% sure yet

updated list, work in progress. (obviously more SA and WA talent yet to come)

2020 Talent - good underagers
Charlie Lazzaro (Geel)177cm 73kg
Noah Gribble (Geel)179cm 68kg
Oliver Henry (Geel)186cm 72kg
Tanner Bruhn (Geel)182cm 73kg
Charlie Brauer (Geel)183cm 68kg*
Elijah Hollands (Murr)188cm 80kg
Zavier Maher (Murr)183cm 82kg
Thomas Panuccio (Murr)179cm 73kg
Charlie Byrne (Murr)182cm 78kg
Jai Neal (Dand)191cm 80kg*
Clayton Gay (Dand)183cm 71kg
Josh Treacy (Bend)192cm 88kg
Jack Evans (Bend)182cm 70kg
Jack Ginnivan (Bend)180cm 73kg
Jack Tillig (GWV)185cm 81kg*
Harry Sharp (GWV)180cm 70kg
Nick Stevens (GWV)191cm 86kg* WB NGA?
Sam Berry (Gipps)180cm 82kg
Zach Reid (Gipps)200cm 77kg*
Ryan Angwin (Gipps)181cm 62kg
-----------------------------------------
Josh Clarke (East)181cm 65kg
Will Parker (East)180cm 76kg*
Salele Feagaimalii (East)186cm 99kg* Haw NGA
Conor Downie (East)183cm 81kg Haw NGA
Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Oak)194cm 79kg WB NGA
Will Phillips (Oak)179cm 78kg
Lochlan Jenkins (Oak)177cm 76kg
Giorgio Varagiannis (Oak)175 73kg*
Fraser Elliot (Oak)187cm 86kg*
Finlay Macrae (Oak)184cm 73kg
Darby Hipwell (Sand)181cm 78kg
Jake Bowey (Sand)173cm 65kg
Eddie Ford (West)186cm 80kg
Jackson Cardillo (Cald)185cm 77kg
Flynn Lakey (Cald)171cm 70kg*
Nikolas Cox (North)197cm 80kg
Ewan MacPherson (North)178cm 82kg WB F/S
Alex Davies (GCS A)190cm 80kg GCS A
Errol Gulden (Syd A)173cm 70kg Syd A
Braeden Campbell (Syd A)178cm 71kg Syd A
Sam Collins (Tas)187cm 79kg
Oliver Davis (Tas)181cm 75kg
Jackson Callow (Tas)193cm 94kg
Pat Walker (Tas)185cm 77kg
Nathan O'Driscoll (Perth)182cm 75kg (early #1 pick prediction)
Logan McDonald (Perth)192cm 84kg
Denver Grainger-Barrass (Swan Dist)192cm 77kg
Luke Edwards (Glenlg)187cm 79kg Adel F/S?(not sure he wants to be F/S)
Corey Durdin (C Dist)173cm 70kg
Riley Thilthorpe (W Adel)199cm 96kg
Taj Schoefield (WWT)*176cm 71kg
Zac Dumesny (S Adel)*186cm 77kg

* = not 100% sure yet
Hawks and Dogs look set to clean up next year at this rate.

Have you looked into ranking some of these guys into tiers? Who would you consider, say, the top 10 right now?

Hawks and Dogs look set to clean up next year at this rate.

Have you looked into ranking some of these guys into tiers? Who would you consider, say, the top 10 right now?

thats really hard because things change so much, at a guess it would be something like

1. Nathan O'Driscoll - Perth - mid
2. Luke Edwards - Glenlg - hbf/mid
3. Will Phillips - Oak - mid
4. Errol Gulden - Syd A - mid/forw
5. Jackson Callow - Tas - KPF (if he continues to develop like i think he could)

at the moment these 5 are my favourites, but things can change, the next group down i like these players for top 30-ish:

Charlie Lazzaro - Geel, Oliver Henry - Geel, Elijah Hollands - Murr, Jack Ginnivan - Bend, Harry Sharp - GWV, Sam Berry - Gipps, Jammarra Ugle-Hagan - GWV/Oak, Josh Clarke - East, Connor Downie - East, Lochlan Jenkins - Oak, Finlay Macrae - Oak, Jake Bowey - Sand, Eddie Ford - West, Jackson Cardillo - Cald, Nikolas Cox - North, Charlie Byrne - Murr, Braeden Campbell - Syd A, Oliver Davis - TAS, Sam Collins - TAS, Logan McDonald - WA, Denver Grainger-Barrass - WA, Corey Durdin -SA, Riley Thilthorpe - SA, Taj Schoefield - SA

also things change and i have only seen like maybe 80-90% of the top talent for 2020 so far at a guess.

thats really hard because things change so much, at a guess it would be something like

5. Jackson Callow - Tas - KPF (if he continues to develop like i think he could)

at the moment these 5 are my favourites, but things can change, the next group down i like these players for top 30-ish:

Charlie Lazzaro - Geel, Oliver Henry - Geel, Elijah Hollands - Murr, Jack Ginnivan - Bend, Harry Sharp - GWV, Sam Berry - Gipps, Jammarra Ugle-Hagan - GWV/Oak, Josh Clarke - East, Connor Downie - East, Lochlan Jenkins - Oak, Finlay Macrae - Oak, Jake Bowey - Sand, Eddie Ford - West, Jackson Cardillo - Cald, Nikolas Cox - North, Charlie Byrne - Murr, Braeden Campbell - Syd A, Oliver Davis - TAS, Sam Collins - TAS, Logan McDonald - WA, Denver Grainger-Barrass - WA, Corey Durdin -SA, Riley Thilthorpe - SA, Taj Schoefield - SA

also things change and i have only seen like maybe 80-90% of the top talent for 2020 so far at a guess.
Elijah Hollands top 3 for me. Wouldn’t be surprised if he went at 1 or 2 next year

How's the 2020 draft watch going?
In WA
Nathan O'Driscoll 29 disposals for Perth Colts yesterday.
Joel Western 15 and a goal for Claremont yesterday as a small forward.
Denver Granger-Barass played League for Swans two weeks ago
Logan McDonald kicked 8.1 and had 23 disposals 14 marks as permanent forward for Aquinas yeaterday.
Brandon Walker only 10 disposals for East Fremantle Colts
Keep your eye out for an Aquinas/East Fremantle inside mid called Finn Gorringe. Tough, good ball winner and breaks from stoppages well.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

McDonald is one of the ones I'm keeping an eye out for as a "key" forward although he is undersized right at this point he has a knack of big goal sprees and towering marks.

Western has been pretty consistent alternating mid and forward - has super pace and skills but is tiny at 170ish cm.

Brandon Walker he someone has been throwing up 10-16 possessions most colts games but his athleticsm coupled with clean hands and skills means I am anticipating Freo will come up good coin for him.

I've heard a couple of recruiters have Cox in the top few. Obviously a lot of these boys have a lot more developing to do so things are likely to change a lot.

Elijah Hollands top 3 for me. Wouldn’t be surprised if he went at 1 or 2 next year

I have a token bet with my mate about who will go higher out of he and Riley Thilthorpe. RT Playing league already as an 16/17 year old this year in the SANFL. 198cm elite running key forward/massive ruck rover.

(Vic Metro)
Oakleigh Chargers | Inside Midfielder
12/12/2002 | 192cm | 83kg

Stats:
24 disposals, 9 tackles, 6 clearances, 4 inside 50s, 2 rebound 50s

Our scouts said: “His clean hands, strength in the contest, and tackling made him the dominant inside midfielder, but his spread and props in traffic bode well for a well-balanced game.” – Michael Alvaro

Verdict: Collingwood has found another gem in its NGA ranks, with McInness a fantastic inside midfield prospect. He started the game better than anyone and just finds the ball, working hard to do so around the ground. Has already made an impact with Oakleigh too, and is a great size.

This Kid has come up the Last Few Weeks and Sounds like played a Very Good U-17 Game last week.

What do people think of Him?

Alex Davies looked good for gold coast neafl team yesterday.
Is a big kid for a midfielder at 190cm as listed here.

Competed well against Sydney’s mids mcinerny ling, rose.

to this group i would add:
Bruhn (Geel) might even be a top 5 chance
Stevens (GWV)
Perkins (Sand)
McInnes (Oak)

so that makes it my top 33 for 2020 prior to the 2019 nableague finals

*still have not seen all of the SA and WA talent obviously ect.

O'Driscoll #1? Jeez, he's a worse kick than Deven Robertson and that's tough. Great extractor and can find it, but couldn't hit a barn door from 20m.

Grainger-Barras is a very special player and should easily be the first KPD off the board in 2020. Fits the mould of the new-age defender very well but could add a couple of centimetres.

Isiah Winder from Peel is one to keep an eye on. Apparently 178cm/77kg but I'd say he's taller than that measurement. Has the cleanest hands I've seen in the WA junior system. Averaging 18.7 disposals but has played some games as a running defender and one or two as a lead-up forward. 75% disposal efficiency for the season, rarely misses a target.

Finn Gorringe (EF) is impressive, can see him taking on a bigger role with EF next year without the likes of Rivers, Warner, J.Jackson if he plays a full season there but I don't know what the deal is with his school (Aquinas) footy commitments.

Zane Trew (SD) has no problems with finding the footy. Averaged 30 in his 3 colts games this season, including 41 + 10 tackles against Perth in R3. Will have a blinder next season I reckon. Predicting a similar championships to Dev Robertson.

Joel Western (C) is a Freo NGA Academy kid with blistering pace and a sublime change of direction but not much else. Fails to compose himself when kicking on the run and it can literally go anywhere. Hope someone has a whisper in his ear about that because it's a liability at colts level, let alone at the Champs next season.

Brandon & Chris Walker (EF) both Freo NGA boys, sublime athletes. Brandon the better footballer, seem to both lack impact as medium running defenders. Would like to see them unleashed on a wing.

Adam Boules (EP) an absolute ball magnet. Averaging 21.3 as an underager leading EP's midfield. Not damaging but always need someone to get the ball.

Connor Heuer (PT) a project key forward if I've ever seen one. Great on the lead, has a good frame and will be able to add size, very long kick but a little wayward sometimes. Only 8.12 from 12 games, but there's something to work with.

Logan McDonald (P) - haven't seen enough of him to make a fair assessment but from all accounts seems to be a smaller key forward capable of kicking bags.

Ira Jetta (SF) had a late start to the season due to injury, eased his way back into his first game and has averaged 20 disposals since then. Has kicked 5 goals from 9 games as a midfielder in a team who is lucky to score most games. Very impressive at the stoppages.

Others I like the look of: Heath Chapman (WP), Sandon Page (S), Jack Carroll (EF), Edward Curley (EF), Owen Dann (EF), Keanu Haddow (EF), Jonathon Ietto (PT)

O'Driscoll #1? Jeez, he's a worse kick than Deven Robertson and that's tough. Great extractor and can find it, but couldn't hit a barn door from 20m.

Grainger-Barras is a very special player and should easily be the first KPD off the board in 2020. Fits the mould of the new-age defender very well but could add a couple of centimetres.

Isiah Winder from Peel is one to keep an eye on. Apparently 178cm/77kg but I'd say he's taller than that measurement. Has the cleanest hands I've seen in the WA junior system. Averaging 18.7 disposals but has played some games as a running defender and one or two as a lead-up forward. 75% disposal efficiency for the season, rarely misses a target.

Finn Gorringe (EF) is impressive, can see him taking on a bigger role with EF next year without the likes of Rivers, Warner, J.Jackson if he plays a full season there but I don't know what the deal is with his school (Aquinas) footy commitments.

Zane Trew (SD) has no problems with finding the footy. Averaged 30 in his 3 colts games this season, including 41 + 10 tackles against Perth in R3. Will have a blinder next season I reckon. Predicting a similar championships to Dev Robertson.

Joel Western (C) is a Freo NGA Academy kid with blistering pace and a sublime change of direction but not much else. Fails to compose himself when kicking on the run and it can literally go anywhere. Hope someone has a whisper in his ear about that because it's a liability at colts level, let alone at the Champs next season.

Brandon & Chris Walker (EF) both Freo NGA boys, sublime athletes. Brandon the better footballer, seem to both lack impact as medium running defenders. Would like to see them unleashed on a wing.

Adam Boules (EP) an absolute ball magnet. Averaging 21.3 as an underager leading EP's midfield. Not damaging but always need someone to get the ball.

Connor Heuer (PT) a project key forward if I've ever seen one. Great on the lead, has a good frame and will be able to add size, very long kick but a little wayward sometimes. Only 8.12 from 12 games, but there's something to work with.

Logan McDonald (P) - haven't seen enough of him to make a fair assessment but from all accounts seems to be a smaller key forward capable of kicking bags.

Ira Jetta (SF) had a late start to the season due to injury, eased his way back into his first game and has averaged 20 disposals since then. Has kicked 5 goals from 9 games as a midfielder in a team who is lucky to score most games. Very impressive at the stoppages.

Others I like the look of: Heath Chapman (WP), Sandon Page (S), Jack Carroll (EF), Edward Curley (EF), Owen Dann (EF), Keanu Haddow (EF), Jonathon Ietto (PT)

Great assessment, I tend to agree with most of what you have said

I'm curious to hear what you guys all think but I see Will Phillips as one of the better prospects I have see. Only has one knock on him which is height but still has time to grow a little taller. He is incredibly clean, can use both feet, has speed and can take a strong grab. I genuinely want Collingwood to do whatever we can to nab him.

had a look a couple of weeks ago and saw josh watson (northern) look to go very well, what are your thoughts on him ?

Terrific write-up. Do you think B Walkers lack of production is because of the position they had him in. Seems so highly rated but his stats are underwhelming each week.

Is Western definitely draftable at this stage and will his value be dependant on if he can grow a bit more and play midfield at AFL level? Very hard to make it in the middle at 172cm

Terrific write-up. Do you think B Walkers lack of production is because of the position they had him in. Seems so highly rated but his stats are underwhelming each week.

Is Western definitely draftable at this stage and will his value be dependant on if he can grow a bit more and play midfield at AFL level? Very hard to make it in the middle at 172cm

I think the Walker twins were so highly rated because they are the perfect athletes for the AFL. Tall, good frame to build size on, can cover lots of ground at good speed. That being said they are so raw skill wise, but there's a lot to work with. East Freo play a very mid-heavy game, especially when L.Jackson/Rivers/Warner/J.Jackson came back after champs, it was like it was only those 4 playing and just finding each other. I don't think stats can tell you everything with running defenders though so it's hard to accurately rate Brandon (far better footballer than Chris) but I think if he starts playing on a wing his stats will naturally inflate.

Western isn't draftable at all for me, but as an NGA kid you can basically get him for free as a Cat B so there's no reason why Fremantle wouldn't. I think the only real position that he'd be able to play in the AFL is as a small forward. Simply doesn't have the skill or size to play in the midfield and although he's got a decent tank, his kicking is so awful that he couldn't be a wingman. His speed and evasiveness and ability to read the ball off hands would make him a good forward imo.

Team Brown:

Jake Bowey (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro)
Braeden Campbell (Sydney Swans/NSW-ACT)
Taj Schofield (WWT Eagles/South Australia)
Noah Gribble (Geelong Falcons/Vic Country)
Blake Coleman (Brisbane Lions/Queensland)
Will Phillips (Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro)
Brandon Walker (East Fremantle/Western Australia)
Connor Downie (Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro)
Eddie Ford (Western Jets/Vic Metro)
Saxon Crozier (Brisbane Lions/Queensland)
Luke Edwards (Glenelg/South Australia)
Sam Collins (North Hobart/Tasmania)
Elijah Hollands (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country)
Blake Morris (Subiaco/Western Australia)
Joel Jeffrey (Wanderers/Northern Territory)
James Borlase (Sturt/South Australia)
Nick Stevens (GWV Rebels/Vic Country)
Reef McInnes (Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro)
Josh Treacy (Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country)
Logan McDonald (Perth/Western Australia)
Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Country)
Riley Thilthorpe (West Adelaide/South Australia)
Shannon Neale (South Fremantle/Western Australia)
Zach Reid (Gippsland Power/Vic Country)

Team Dal Santo:

Errol Gulden (Sydney Swans/NSW-ACT)
Joel Western (Claremont/Western Australia)
Corey Durdin (Central District/South Australia)
Wil Parker (Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro)
Finlay Macrae (Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro)
Tanner Bruhn (Geelong Falcons/Vic Country)
Zavier Maher (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country)
Nathan O’Driscoll (Perth/Western Australia)
Zac Dumesny (South Adelaide/South Australia)
Archie Perkins (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro)
Jack Carroll (East Fremantle/Western Australia)
Lachlan Jones (WWT Eagles/South Australia)
Oliver Henry (Geelong Falcons/Vic Country)
Carter Michael (Brisbane Lions/Queensland)
Brodie Lake (Southern Districts/Northern Territory)
Alex Davies (Gold Coast SUNS/Queensland)
Josh Green (GWS GIANTS/NSW-ACT)
Heath Chapman (West Perth/Western Australia)
Jackson Callow (North Launceston/Tasmania)
Ollie Lord (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro)
Cody Brand (Calder Cannons/Vic Metro)
Nikolas Cox (Northern Knights/Vic Metro)
Henry Walsh (Geelong Falcons/Vic Country)
Henry Smith (WWT Eagles/South Australia)

unlucky to miss
Oliver Davis - Tas must be inj
Charlie Lazzaro - Geel
Sam Berry - Gipps
Jack Ginnivan - Bend
Josh Clarke - East
Jackson Cardillo - Cald
Denver Grainger-Barrass - WA (great intercept defender)
Charlie Byrne - Murr / Allies

I understand it’s still very early days but has anyone had the opportunity to watch Maurice Rioli junior? He’s obviously been followed from Richmond fans because of his name for a very long time.

How would you experts rate him in comparison to the current talent pool, I’ve notices his name really hasn’t been mentioned in here yet.