Quicky
- May 27, 2008
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
- Other Teams
- Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
He's got a raw something, bit like Checkers
Yeah agree. I really want us to draft him.

AFLW Logo
The livestream will be available on womens.afl & the AFLW app. Join our live chat!
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
He's got a raw something, bit like Checkers
So do I, has great hands and a good kick for goalYeah agree. I really want us to draft him.
This is the TSL seniors grand final last year. It isn't just kids he's bullying.
He’s 194cm and 100kg. He absolutely has the size required for AFL. Looks a natural footballer, and I’d hope we have learned our lesson overlooking footballers for athletes when we overlooked Cripps in 2013. Iirc Knightmare is a big wrap for this kid. Maybe he could shed some light?He is certainly a strong bull and a natural footballer but at only 193 cm and average athleticism there has to be a question mark as to how that translates to AFL, If that clip was SANFL, WAFL or VFL Id be reassured, but Im not sure the Tassie League isn't a great standard these days. FWIW, I reckon the likes of Zach Reid and Nick Cox offer more upside as these kids have the size and athleticism required at AFL, and Im not sure Callow does. Id happily take him 2nd round, or even late 1st round (which we might end up with if we keep winning), but I reckon others are better AFL KP prospects
He is certainly a strong bull and a natural footballer but at only 193 cm and average athleticism there has to be a question mark as to how that translates to AFL, If that clip was SANFL, WAFL or VFL Id be reassured, but Im not sure the Tassie League isn't a great standard these days. FWIW, I reckon the likes of Zach Reid and Nick Cox offer more upside as these kids have the size and athleticism required at AFL, and Im not sure Callow does. Id happily take him 2nd round, or even late 1st round (which we might end up with if we keep winning), but I reckon others are better AFL KP prospects
Yeah, 194cm and 100kg is a legit size. Jack Riewoldt is 193cm and 92kgs, Darling is 191cm and 95kgs, Checkers is 192cm and 97kgs, Sam Weideman is 195cm and 97kgs, etc etc.He’s 194cm and 100kg. He absolutely has the size required for AFL. Looks a natural footballer, and I’d hope we have learned our lesson overlooking footballers for athletes when we overlooked Cripps in 2013. Iirc Knightmare is a big wrap for this kid. Maybe he could shed some light?
He looks plenty athletic in his highlights. He's up to 194cm now too, and these guys often grow a bit more after being drafted. I just reckon he looks a natural footballer and natural key forward.
Yeah, 194cm and 100kg is a legit size. Jack Riewoldt is 193cm and 92kgs, Darling is 191cm and 95kgs, Checkers is 192cm and 97kgs, Sam Weideman is 195cm and 97kgs, etc etc.
Sure...but Jack compensates his relative lack of height with a massive leap. Darling is incredibly mobile, moves like a midfielder. And thats kind of my point. If you are lower end of the height spectrum as a KP you need something to compensate. Now to be fair, the kid looks a ripper contested mark, so maybe that's his point of difference, but whether than translated to AFL where everyone is a bit bigger, stronger and faster is the unknown question.
I think Checkers is a good comparison to this kid. Checkers has been a good player for us, plenty of footy smarts and good skills, but hardly a top liner. Id say the main reasons he isnt a top liner is that he is 192 cm and not 197 cm and his pace is ordinary. . I suspect this kid would be about as good as Checkers, and Im not sure you cough up a first rounder for that type of player.
All this sounds like Id be unhappy if we drafted this kid. I wouldn't be. There is plenty to like and if he was the best available KP at our pick, Id take him happily (presuming our pick is going to be around 15 or 16 and we haven't traded into the top 10). I just like some other KP prospects who might be available at our pick a bit more, and he doesn't look a top 10-15 prospect to me...All of course in my very inexpert humble opinion
Really? If he was plenty athletic I'd suggest he would be talked about as a top 10 draft pick, cause his vice like hands and goal kicking look really elite to me, so something must be putting the slows on the kid. FWIW, I saw in that clip a guy who struggled to get separation from his opponent on the lead, and in that nice contested mark in the square, he didn't exactly get high off the ground with a big leap.
It would be great if he is still growing...at only 193 cm and playing KP you would be giving away significant height to most opponents, and would feel much more comfortable in taking him if he grew 2-3 cm
No Cox in Shifters top tall forwards? Maybe rates him as a defender or utility?Shifters Top KPF's
![]()
Kevin Sheehan reveals his top NAB AFL Draft Prospects: Tall Forwards
AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan reveals his top NAB AFL Draft Prospects - Tall Forwardswww.afl.com.au
No Cox in Shifters top tall forwards? Maybe rates him as a defender or utility?
For mine Cox isn’t a key forward. Plays more like a flanker. Think he’ll be more suited as a tall winger or an intercept defender.No Cox in Shifters top tall forwards? Maybe rates him as a defender or utility?
Callow is a gun, we are primed to be able to take him with our first pick. Much better than Cox and Reid who both look like overgrown midfielders and really skinny
List cuts are going to be minimal and we’re likely to lose/lost Reid, Varcoe, Scharenberg, Beams, Langdon and could also potentially see Phillips, Sier, Wills and Atu moved on. I’d actually be really surprised if we didn’t take at least 4 in this draft tbh.Hope the pies take 4 in the draft but with list cuts seems unlikely to happen
A 1st rd intercepting KPP like Cox or DGB, Reef and a Laurie or Callow probably satisfies me though. Gets us a bit of everything
He seems to be rated by most watchers in the 30-60 range. I’d be surprised, but not upset if we were to take him early.Callow is a gun, we are primed to be able to take him with our first pick. Much better than Cox and Reid who both look like overgrown midfielders and really skinny
So he has a basketball background?Lord reads like the type of pick Hine likes to make

I don’t care how skinny a kid is at draft, just whether he has the most talent. If Cox or Reid considered more talented, and with the right headspace, then they would be my preference. Big kids don’t always make good senior players.