List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread

This bloke would be my choice. He has a lot of likeable traits.

They were my thoughts to until I watched Perkins’ video and then checked his combine results. Twomey has him at 17, so definitely gettable if we want a mid/HFF goal kicker who has tricks and plays much taller than his 186cm.

But I would also be very happy if we picked up Ford - he also looks impressive.

If no team has bid on McInnes by pick 16, then i'm guessing we'll trade pick 16 for 2 or more earlier picks? Like pick 25 and 30

Or we could just draft someone with pick 16 and and set ourselves up to match a bid on Reef in a trade while we're on the clock.

Looking at KM’s PD, if things go someway in the way he predicts, it will be hard to snap up a KPP. I suspect that’s why the drafting team are looking to move up.

Cox and Callow?

Cox not even in his top 20.

Callow at 17.

Callow has a bit of the Tom Boyd's about him, physically larger than other 17-18 year olds.. not sure his ability will necessarily translate to AFL level.

When you're already 96kg you really need to be tearing games apart.
Always take the the skinny guy who's still growing and can put on 10-15kg.

Cox not even in his top 20.

Callow at 17.

Callow has a bit of the Tom Boyd's about him, physically larger than other 17-18 year olds.. not sure his ability will necessarily translate to AFL level.

When you're already 96kg you really need to be tearing games apart.
Always take the the skinny guy who's still growing and can put on 10-15kg.

I think you might have overlooked the fact that Callow was playing senior footy in Tassie this year and taking the comp by storm, what's to say he just won't continue to get better? It's all the skinny KP guys that have been drafted early who seem to flop

Just quietly I reckon my Phantom top 10 will be closer 🤫
Cal's Top 25 Power Rankings will be closer to a Phantom Draft. It's subtle but Zavier Maher wasn't in his Top 40 (his original 25 and 15 more) but we knew there was at least two clubs keen on him in the second round. Now he's into 25, so reckon he's got that mail too. Cal is pretty spot on with his mail and being not much footy from a Victorian standpoint, reckon Maher for example is someone who he's heard about and put in even though it's technically Power Rankings and Phantom Draft.

We talk to a few different recruiters (who no we're not going to say who in advance lol), but Cal covers just about all of them I'd guess as he has the easy access via AFL. So for accuracy when Phantom's come out he's obviously the most accurate for club links. The one advantage we can have is talking to the players themselves as the advantage with that is, you know they'll be fairly upfront whereas recruiters obviously have ulterior motives sometimes.

Honestly it feels like every year in KM’s earlier phantoms he makes sure that the player we need is off the board so he can select the player he likes instead....

I wish people would stop taking Draft "experts" as Gods. If you think someone is just what we need then, back yourself in and get him. If a player like Callow/Baldwin is rated in the 30 to 40 range, it only takes one recruiter to rate him higher at say, 25 and you lose him, I'm not suggesting you use pick 10, but if he is available and you have, say, pick 20 then just get him, he fills a need. That's why I would like us to trade a couple of picks in the 18 to 23 range, Crows have 20 & 23, demons have 18 & 19 and GWS 20 & 29. One for Reef and one for Callow/Baldwin.
PS we have 2 2021 x 2nd rounders and we could package one with our 2021 1st.
Fully agree, if you like them take them and fix your needs, gut feel I'm thinking adelaide will take baldwin with one of the picks in the 20s. Im hoping we snare him but have my doubts. Really like the look of perkins and chapman.

Have a feeling there will be an early bid on Reef just to pi55 us off.

Bont was in the early teens from memory and was taken at 5, Pendles similar, I could be wrong but with Reef running quick in the 20m sprint, big bodied mid with a real burst of speed would be appealing. Not sure if anyone will risk another Cripps type slippage based on poor endurance testing.

It would be about right for another Club to take to opportunity and really rub it in.

I hope he isn't wearing 35 next year but I could live with it if he was.

Two mids with our first 2 picks PLUS Reef?? Sounds like something collingwood would do...
Haha, absolutely. But if we can’t move up it’s more than likely going to be something we are going to face. We’d be better off trying to trade our next pick for two later picks and look to draft a tall and maybe a small forward imo.

Have a feeling there will be an early bid on Reef just to pi55 us off.

Bont was in the early teens from memory and was taken at 5, Pendles similar, I could be wrong but with Reef running quick in the 20m sprint, big bodied mid with a real burst of speed would be appealing. Not sure if anyone will risk another Cripps type slippage based on poor endurance testing.

It would be about right for another Club to take to opportunity and really rub it in.

I hope he isn't wearing 35 next year but I could live with it if he was.
Without any football being played it’s hard to justify a player moving that far up imo. They just don’t have the vision to go off. From rated late first to the second round it’s hard to see him moving to pick 5, when there’s probably better footballers at this stage, on the board.

Was putting together a phantom just for shits and giggles... but anyone got any idea how many picks Adelaide will want? They've got Edwards and Borlase, two players whom may not get a bid until quite late.

They'd have to be open to trading away/around 9/22/23/40

I still wanna do 14, 16 & 65 for 9 and 40.

Provided we can trade our future first and a future second into the top 12 or so.

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread