List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread

I know Chugg and his family pretty well and he's a wonderful pick here. He didn't have the most consistent year but he has a huge scope to improve and arguably could be the best Tassie kid in this draft in a few years time (Easy to say when only one other one got drafted). Great work :thumbsu:
Bizarre Callow has been overlooked by everyone.

He looked really good as a defender off half-back. A bit lost as a wing (in terms of ball-winning) but he reads the ball well in flight, so I reckon half-back is a good way forward. Could play forward maybe, like his backline work most (perhaps others moving into the midfield?) but he's a long-term prospect.

You are probably right, but I read that profile and it just screams pressure small forward to me: good disposal, good reader of the play, balanced as a two-way runner, quick, good vertical leap. Perhaps I was just seduced by the bit about him only needing to have a handful of touches to have an impact on a game, which is exactly what a good pressure small forward needs to be able to do.

Has he got a ground level game? Mihocek wouldn't be AFL level on his aerial work alone, but he's very good at ground level.
From what I’ve seen it’s quite decent.

As other posters have mentioned, am also happy with the players we got, with the pretty shitty hand we had. All based on highlights and other reports though...

still hate that of the 7 gun talls in the draft, we couldn’t land any of them.. when we need one more than just about any other team, except Ess and North.and prob ADE.

reef getting through v good, poulter looks lively, Henry a bargain, Macrae solid and also good value, the rest speculative...

surprised we didn’t go Cook when we had the chance. That would’ve given us an A+ under circumstances.
But I’ll settle for an A to A-

Both Ginnivan and Chugg sound like exciting enough pick ups, wonder if they will both be eyeing off forward spots. Chugg appears to have played more defense, however reads as having some nice attributes we could use in our forward half and given our back line is already pretty stacked. Ginnivan being linked to a Toby Greene type excites me (minus the kung fu kicks and on field behavior hopefully). Beau McCreery also plays as that small forward, so nice to see we've identified and targeted an area of need.

Outside of that Macrae, Poulter and Reef as quality future mids (all ranked top 30 pre draft I believe?) are a nice haul, and with the Daicos's, Browns, Rantall and Bianco the future midfield looks promising. Henry seems a great replacement for Stevo and finally taking a KPF that we desperately needed was a relief. Don't know a lot about McMahon but seems a good size and apparently has good speed, would've liked another in today's draft so hopefully a Callow or Baldwin get an invite to train over the summer and show enough to warrant a list spot.

Was a bit worried with us coming off a really bad trade period, but with the draft hand we were dealt (even though we dealt it to ourselves) I think we've done really well.

Both Ginnivan and Chugg sound like exciting enough pick ups, wonder if they will both be eyeing off forward spots. Chugg appears to have played more defense, however reads as having some nice attributes we could use in our forward half and given our back line is already pretty stacked. Ginnivan being linked to a Toby Greene type excites me (minus the kung fu kicks and on field behavior hopefully). Beau McCreery also plays as that small forward, so nice to see we've identified and targeted an area of need.

Outside of that Macrae, Poulter and Reef as quality future mids (all ranked top 30 pre draft I believe?) are a nice haul, and with the Daicos's, Browns, Rantall and Bianco the future midfield looks promising. Henry seems a great replacement for Stevo and finally taking a KPF that we desperately needed was a relief. Don't know a lot about McMahon but seems a good size and apparently has good speed, would've liked another in today's draft so hopefully a Callow or Baldwin get an invite to train over the summer and show enough to warrant a list spot.

Was a bit worried with us coming off a really bad trade period, but with the draft hand we were dealt (even though we dealt it to ourselves) I think we've done really well.
I like that Chugg has fast. Reckon we were crying out for speed and most of the National draft kids we took don't sound quick.

From what I've seen in VFL games, Tohill won't make it. I hope he develops and proves me wrong.
Fair chance you're right, but he's only played one year of vfl - his first ever year of footy, so it's too early to judge regarding his potential. Also a fair chance that any KPF who didn't get selected last night or today will fit in the same boat as unlikely to make it.

Daicos went past Phillips last season and the fact Phillips could only play on a wing meant he was very expendable.
Agree he is a soldier but my argument is he is best 22. Maybe he would have dropped out down the track but that hadn’t happened .

I thought his 2nd partial ACL tear was June only? Could be wrong though, but no surprise if a few are happy to let the dust settle a bit on draft night before declaring their interest in him

The bit about it being relatively minor and only requiring more minor surgery in that initial report turned out to be BS and a later report confirmed that he underwent a full ACL reco again after picking up an 80% tear of his ACL graft.

I'm admittedly no orthopaedic surgeon but I'd guess that perhaps the one saving grace with catching the injury when there was "only" an 80% tear in the grafted ACL was that it may have held the knee together enough to prevent further significant damage to meniscus or other tendons as a side effect of the motion in the knee joint that occurs when you rupture an ACL completely?

Having said that the injury was in late June, so I can't see how he could possibly ready to attack an AFL pre-season in full at this stage without being at serious risk of reinjuring the knee again, if he had to have the graft re-done only 5 1/2 months ago.

The bit about it being relatively minor and only requiring more minor surgery in that initial report turned out to be BS and a later report confirmed that he underwent a full ACL reco again after picking up an 80% tear of his ACL graft.

I'm admittedly no orthopaedic surgeon but I'd guess that perhaps the one saving grace with catching the injury when there was "only" an 80% tear in the grafted ACL was that it may have held the knee together enough to prevent further significant damage to meniscus or other tendons as a side effect of the motion in the knee joint that occurs when you rupture an ACL completely?

Having said that the injury was in late June, so I can't see how he could possibly ready to attack an AFL pre-season in full at this stage without being at serious risk of reinjuring the knee again, if he had to have the graft re-done only 5 1/2 months ago.
Thanks for confirming. Yes no surprise at all then at his non-drafting, even mid season draft 2021 could be a stretch, will probably still be training only at that point?

Agree he is a soldier but my argument is he is best 22. Maybe he would have dropped out down the track but that hadn’t happened .
Agree with you. And he'd be a loss if 2021 was a year where we were looking at flag only and anything else as a disappointment - like 2019 and to a lesser extent 2020. But it's going to be a year we are looking to develop some players whilst still being competitive. In these terms, he's not much of a loss, if at all. as we'll find someone new to the list, who will be as good or better within 12 months.

I'd like us to as well - defender though if there is someone half likely. With Kelly, Tohill and this new kid, we've probably got enough KPF projects for now.

I also think Wilson can be added here. I know there was talk of him being on a wing but reckon he might end up a CHF or third tall.

Both Rendell and Buckley have also hinted at them thinking Keane has forward potential as well.

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft Thread