Opinion 2020 Draft picks 1/9/22/23/40/56/66/80 (2021 + Melb 2nd, 4th, Haw 4th)

which mythological creature you think would win in a fight, Bigfoot or Santa?

Nov 24, 2007
DTC Frat House
Team Lambda Variant

Crows Draft Hand Tweet

KEY DATES

Oct 30 – Nov 6: AFL Free Agency Period
November 4 – 12: AFL Trade Period
November 20: List Lodgment 1
November 27: List Lodgment 2
November 30: AFL Draft Nominations close
w/c December 7: NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Draft (exact date to be confirmed in due course)
Mid-December: Final List Lodgment & TPP estimates​

As God is my witness, finding anything useful on the AFL.com.au site is practically impossible, may whoever designed it burn in hell.

fair enough i just remember thinking at the time it was an awful set of picks that year considering what was still on the board at pick 15. was not happy still not happy. luckily elliott seems to be coming good from way down the draft.
The more I think about I get the vibe that Gallucci has never "been one of the boys", not like most of the team who seem to mix well?

Good attitude. Keeps the impression we didn't tank this season on purpose (seeing we went 0-13) and of course, ...
*Ignoring our list situation of course, because it would mean we'd have to find another two people to delist/move on.
Not necessarily - we could use our later round picks in trades or just not use them (treat trading pick 1 as upgrading those later picks). It's only when we head into draft night that we need to have the number of free list spots match the picks we want to use.

But it kinda makes sense if there's no clear standout #1 pick ......but I doubt we trade pick 1 out for a pick or two outside the top 10

Could see us trading pick 1 for #3 or #4 and another pick either this year or in 2021 first round
It could also mean Hamish's No.1 guy this draft is not considered at least by the AFL media to be right at the pointy end. Makes you think it's probably one of the Victorian lads or maybe even 2 that haven't played this season if that's the case?

Yep, my thinking as well ......it does seem without inferring what type of player the Crows will pick, that Nicks keeps referring to a Mid that can play forward ......that seems to be a Hollands type moreso than a Phillips / Campbell specialist mid type

This is worse than a playstation idea, but is it so crazy that it just might work? :D

Assuming we lose Brad, and suppose Tex is paid out. We could offer Ben Brown a pretty decent contract. North don't have much hope of extracting any value out of him, let alone to the team with pick 1 in the PSD if he nominates them. Not a free agent, so AFAIK that wouldn't affect any compo.

He is 27 and likely not going to play finals with us, but he would straighten us up and we like playing with the three slow talls. Personally, I don't like the three slow tall set up anyway, but just in terms of getting a 60 goal a year forward for essentially nothing, its a thought.

I see Fog developing in Tex's role rather than a deep forward. But probably Berg and Brown are too similar and I wouldn't want to bring in an older player that would block his development.
Brown is too much a one trick pony for mine, and he's been found out big time now teams are putting work into him.

If we do get Pick 1 and 2 and dont bid on JUH (highly unlikely) the big question next is who do we burden with Pick 1 fever that comes with each draft?

someone with more intestinal fortitude than J Watts , wants to pocket $10k and is a good media performer who can handle the pressure.

enter Elijah Hollands

Yep, my thinking as well ......it does seem without inferring what type of player the Crows will pick, that Nicks keeps referring to a Mid that can play forward ......that seems to be a Hollands type moreso than a Phillips / Campbell specialist mid type
Campbell is just as good forward as he is in the midfield mate but we aren't getting him.....Perkins is that player I think?
Poulter another.

Depending on Sydney, possibly the only version that could be ALMOST possible would be 2, 3 and 4.

Trade 1 to NM for 3 and 25, trade 9 and 20 for 4. Take Hollands, Thilthorpe and Phillips? Trade 25 and 21 for 13, trade 30 for Hately. Call it a day ...
theres some interesting elements here but why do Swans give up an elite player at 4? Makes no sense to me.

Campbell is just as good forward as he is in the midfield mate but we aren't getting him.....Perkins is that player I think?
Poulter another.
Perkins I like, good mix of speed and flair .....probably a 6-12 pick

I hear different assessments of Poulter, even heard Twomey talk about 20-30's for Poulter .......haven't seen him play so hard to comment

This is worse than a playstation idea, but is it so crazy that it just might work? :D

Assuming we lose Brad, and suppose Tex is paid out. We could offer Ben Brown a pretty decent contract. North don't have much hope of extracting any value out of him, let alone to the team with pick 1 in the PSD if he nominates them. Not a free agent, so AFAIK that wouldn't affect any compo.

He is 27 and likely not going to play finals with us, but he would straighten us up and we like playing with the three slow talls. Personally, I don't like the three slow tall set up anyway, but just in terms of getting a 60 goal a year forward for essentially nothing, its a thought.

I see Fog developing in Tex's role rather than a deep forward. But probably Berg and Brown are too similar and I wouldn't want to bring in an older player that would block his development.
No, we don't need a 28yo KPF on a long contract taking games from Berg, Fog and our KPF we draft.

No, No, No.

I hear different assessments of Poulter, even heard Twomey talk about 20-30's for Poulter .......haven't seen him play so hard to comment
Eddie Ford another I reckon that fits into that category, another that played quite well in that U17's Futures games, played mostly forward but has played some mid and he's another X factor type with his overhead marking a feature, even your boy Henry maybe though I see him best suited as a 3rd tall type forward or back personally. Even SA boy Brayden Cook maybe though I see him more half/forward/wing at this time with some questions still on his contested footy when we're talking midfield.

Lukosious is looking like he'll have a very good career at this point...

Harry McKay was the last key forward drafted in the top 10 (noting none were drafted in that range in 2016 and 2017) and he looks the good. Weidmann as well looks pretty solid for Melbourne. However, Schace who was drafted earlier has struggled that year has struggled.

The record isn't crash hot in between 2010 to 2015 - a lot of players got wrecked by injuries/health issues which is where I reckon this thought it coming from.

2014 isn't a good year for KPFs, seeing Peter Wright hasn't lived up to the hype and Darcy Moore and Paddy McCartin got wrecked by health issues/injuries.

Only one in 2013 was Tom Boyd, who certainly had his struggles, but at least played a key role in a premiership. Albeit for his second club.

Then previously - Dannhier and Patton are both the same story. Showed a lot when they're fit, but being fit has been a long running issue.

Gorringe in 2010 wasn't good, though unfortunately Tom Lynch (GC, Rich) was pick 11.
agree overall with one exception - AA Moore

Twomey's not Hamish but....where did Twomey have Tom Doedee. :)

As you know I'm not a big Twomey fan, the only thing he does I rate highly is his last Phantom Draft before Draft night where he gets reasonable mail on what the clubs are doing.

The more I think about I get the vibe that Gallucci has never "been one of the boys", not like most of the team who seem to mix well?
Yep, thought this for a while. I think he had air of Melbourne-elitism about him. Add in his close family roots (Italian), which I imagine is a bit foreign to alot of AFC players.

Rate him as a player, and hope that both him and the AFC players tried their best to mesh/work with each other.

I'm in Love .......I've seen enough ...199cm, plays like Eric Hipwood .....equally adept on the ground, quick, great footy nouse ...and I can't tell if he's a right or left foot kick

#8 please .....IMO better than Thilthorpe or McDonald

look excited smiling.gif

Yep, thought this for a while. I think he had air of Melbourne-elitism about him. Add in his close family roots (Italian), which I imagine is a bit foreign to alot of AFC players.

Rate him as a player, and hope that both him and the AFC players tried their best to mesh/work with each other.
I've never really rated him that highly, for someone with his amazing athletic profile we've never seen too much of it at either AFL or SANFL level.

the older brother wasn’t much chop either let’s face it

Assuming Brad Crouch compo there's only one trade I would do for Pick 1 and it's with North Melbourne.

AFC: Pick 1 + Future 2nd
NM: Pick 3 + Future 1st

1. NM
2. ADL
3. ADL

Two top 5 picks

Two of McDonald/Hollands/Thilthorpe/Phillips, and a top 2 pick next year (eg Horne) sounds pretty great to me. They'd be unlikely to do this of course but that's what you'd have to pay for pick 1.