List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
the eddie ford you are referring to played in the 40s at 185cm

the eddie ford in this draft is 188cm

The Eddie Ford I saw in the highlights - who looked very good in them - looked bigger than 188cm and younger than 120 years old to me - he might need remeasuring and check of his birth certificate

i'd say the more recent articles from SEN listing him at 189 are more accurate. he looks 190cm

Wouldnt surprise me to see Poulter be picked - we have a strong presence in SA and sounds like Toce went over to watch the games that were on.

Also, what a do!

Would love Eddie Ford though, that would be my wish.

I don't know anything about drafting but just watching those highlights, I really hope that we go for Caleb Poulter. A huge mid, with all the twists and turns that our young guys have, I think he could be a point of difference in our midfield. He seems to be inside and outside, and is more of a mid than Ford who seems to be a mid/forward. I reckon he will light us up in the middle there. He's thin now but you could see him getting AFL size without too much trouble. Is he fast? He's certainly fast thinking. Can he mark? Want.

It would be our first Caleb, normally the style of Bulldogs or GWS but what the hell every team seems to have one these days.

This is the account of Pie4Life who picked him in the BigFooty phantom draft on behalf of the Adelaide Crows last week:

Time for a bit of local flavour - Poulter the next man on my list and continuing my taller midfielder angle with a lovely 191cm outside inside mid who has been dominating SA Under 18 footy. Poulter can play, the question is, how will his Under 18 dominance translate to the AFL. He's got a bit of a funny gait, almost a wobble as he runs, but gets plenty of clearances every game and can hit the scoreboard. His size suggests he could become that big bodied tall mid who can play inside and outside. Right now he's lean and I think will always have those bandy legs but be good enough on the inside without being Bontempelli standard. His upside is high, can add the kg and really make a fist of things but I'd like to see more strength in his marking and more crunch in his tackles. I think atm he nows he's a bit of a lean lad and isn't showing what he's got. Likely to start outside first maybe a wing but is not a winger at all. Doesn't have the penetration for that but certainly can scoot if needed. Has great hands and has a knack of playing in bursts, brilliant then quiet then brilliant again.

One thing he does have is tremendous balance and agility for a 6ft3 mid, if that can be maintained he will be a massive improver and play a lot of AFL footy.

I don't know anything about drafting but just watching those highlights, I really hope that we go for Caleb Poulter. A huge mid, with all the twists and turns that our young guys have, I think he could be a point of difference in our midfield. He seems to be inside and outside, and is more of a mid than Ford who seems to be a mid/forward. I reckon he will light us up in the middle there. He's thin now but you could see him getting AFL size without too much trouble. Is he fast? He's certainly fast thinking. Can he mark? Want.

It would be our first Caleb, normally the style of Bulldogs or GWS but what the hell every team seems to have one these days.

This is the account of Pie4Life who picked him in the BigFooty phantom draft on behalf of the Adelaide Crows last week:

Time for a bit of local flavour - Poulter the next man on my list and continuing my taller midfielder angle with a lovely 191cm outside inside mid who has been dominating SA Under 18 footy. Poulter can play, the question is, how will his Under 18 dominance translate to the AFL. He's got a bit of a funny gait, almost a wobble as he runs, but gets plenty of clearances every game and can hit the scoreboard. His size suggests he could become that big bodied tall mid who can play inside and outside. Right now he's lean and I think will always have those bandy legs but be good enough on the inside without being Bontempelli standard. His upside is high, can add the kg and really make a fist of things but I'd like to see more strength in his marking and more crunch in his tackles. I think atm he nows he's a bit of a lean lad and isn't showing what he's got. Likely to start outside first maybe a wing but is not a winger at all. Doesn't have the penetration for that but certainly can scoot if needed. Has great hands and has a knack of playing in bursts, brilliant then quiet then brilliant again.

One thing he does have is tremendous balance and agility for a 6ft3 mid, if that can be maintained he will be a massive improver and play a lot of AFL footy.
Will be gone waaaay before our pick

Perhaps. Cal Twomey has him at 27. BigFooty Phantom Draft had him at 25. Not saying you're wrong but there seem to be a lot of kids that are rated higher.

Contracted till 22 so that helps him but ATM he simply doesn't find enough of the ball. His efforts at hb last year were solid but it was nothing spectacular even in comparison to other much more maligned players.

Give me a fit Jimmy Webster any day (and I'm not a great Jimmy fan)
Thinking the same ,doesn’t really drive it hard into the forward line .Surd he is hard at the man ala Byron Pickett type threat,but the AFL don’t want that style of player .Lot of love on here for him, but I am a bit Meh ..

It’s a yes from me, unless a 200cm CHB is available -unlikely though.
Point of difference to others on our list .
Similar running patterns and vision to Bytel.Can never have too many mids .
Looking at all these free hits to other clubs,and the Carlisle injury gets me thinking, I don’t think we can be a top 2 Team without Ben King .
Here is hoping for next year .

I had no idea about any of the kids in this years draft but after a conversation with a mate of mine who is pretty knowledgeable in this area he told me that Berry would be the steal of the draft. I looked up what I could find online, the more I read and watched the more he reminded me of Scott West. Your not wrong with his questionable foot skills I think that is more under pressure then general field though and can be easily fixed. Berrys tackling ability and clearance work is very impressive he has a good tank doing a decent time in the 2km and his running vertical jump at the combine was equal highest at 94cm with Ford who is 7cm taller.
He is the perfect team player that is happy to play second fiddle in the midfield he'll put his head down extract the ball and get it to our outside runners.
I don't see a problem with having a younger Dunstan, Luke gives 100% every-time he walks out on the field winning more possessions then he should by trying harder then the other guy.
X factor is a term that is thrown around to much, over the last 20 years I can only think of a hand full of players that actually transferred their hyped junior form into a sustained career. The truly greats generally go top 10 so looking for someone with "x factor" at our pick is usually a folly (Spencer White style).
With Berry we know what we are going to get, at worst a reliable Dunstan and best maybe the next Coniglio.

a10d36e8196e8890c475ddc8be7a174c.gif
I have one worry about Berry, for what ever reason when in congestion he just seems to stand still. What I mean is he doesn't really move through the stoppage. I think this coupled with the fact that he isn;t the fastest player is a bit of a worry. Reminds me a bit of the same problems Aiden Bonar had at the same level. By all means he may work it out bu just being that much stronger but its a concern IMO.

Even the prospect of drafting talented interstate kids scares the hell outta me.

I like the diversity aspect, helps to get players out of their goldfish bowl like way of thinking. Besides I'd back the Saints to open their arms and create an environment no one would run from. Haven't had many run home for a while now. We're not an expansion club in the AFL wilderness here.

From what little footage I've watched, I'll have to disagree with your mate.

Berry is a solid footballer but is matured physically and able to out muscle the smaller kids around him, and has developed a style based on that ability which won't translate to AFL with the same effectiveness.

I haven't seen anything that suggests any particular talent above the normal, or avenues of development potential.

I think 25-35 is his range as a fairly safe bet but lower potential.
IMHO Bytel and Byrnes will both be better players.
I think he is just too inside for what we need. We have taken two inside mids the last two drafts - in Bytel and Byrnes - so would be nice to compliment them with a more outside mid than get another inside type. I think we all have very high hopes on Bytel becoming a regular player and while Byrnes is still a bit unknown, he seemed to perform well in all the scratch matches this year so might end up being something as well.
I have one worry about Berry, for what ever reason when in congestion he just seems to stand still. What I mean is he doesn't really move through the stoppage. I think this coupled with the fact that he isn;t the fastest player is a bit of a worry. Reminds me a bit of the same problems Aiden Bonar had at the same level. By all means he may work it out bu just being that much stronger but its a concern IMO.

Every year this issue is brought up about someone "being physically more mature" so take his stats or performances with a grain of salt. In the past I would acknowledge that this was an issue but with the increase professionalism in fitness and development standards unless you truly are a beast of a man I don't see it as relevant as it once was. All I know is that Berry can kick on both feet can can get the hard ball and tackles hard and for what our pick well end up I think he will be a decent get. Sam brings something a bit different to Bytel and Byrnes, I'm still not sold on Ryan yet but with Jack his tackling and field kicking is a plus. Sam's ability to get the hard ball out to his teammate is his positive, his overhead marking I believe is also underrated. Sam does appear to take his time around stoppages but I see it as a similar kind of ability that Pendlebury has where he has an awareness of what is around him and rarely gets done for holding the ball.
I'm not saying he will be the best player to come out of this draft or even top 5 but for having the pick that we do and the kids being discussed going around then I think he will be best of those. Not every player is a Winx sometimes a Frankie Peckett comes along and plays 250 solid if not memorable games for your club.

bFTJw90.gif

Agree. Great on both feet, very productive, and better for the haircut.

His work in traffic is excellent, looks like he'll be very high production and has the good vision of his brother. I rate his bro as one of the best 10 mids in the AFL and he's looking on a very similar path. I think Jackson only came on in his draft year and at the same age Finlay looks better. I think he'll go between 10 and 20 though so probably not likely to get to us.

It's going to be interesting to see how he goes long term. Twomey has him late top 10 - early teens but the draft central people have him ranked mid-late 20s in their power rankings. Big difference in assessment of his overall talent and ability.

Every year this issue is brought up about someone "being physically more mature" so take his stats or performances with a grain of salt. In the past I would acknowledge that this was an issue but with the increase professionalism in fitness and development standards unless you truly are a beast of a man I don't see it as relevant as it once was. All I know is that Berry can kick on both feet can can get the hard ball and tackles hard and for what our pick well end up I think he will be a decent get. Sam brings something a bit different to Bytel and Byrnes, I'm still not sold on Ryan yet but with Jack his tackling and field kicking is a plus. Sam's ability to get the hard ball out to his teammate is his positive, his overhead marking I believe is also underrated. Sam does appear to take his time around stoppages but I see it as a similar kind of ability that Pendlebury has where he has an awareness of what is around him and rarely gets done for holding the ball.
I'm not saying he will be the best player to come out of this draft or even top 5 but for having the pick that we do and the kids being discussed going around then I think he will be best of those. Not every player is a Winx sometimes a Frankie Peckett comes along and plays 250 solid if not memorable games for your club.

bFTJw90.gif
Look I’m not disputing his strength around the stoppages. That will be his MO I’m just saying the concern I have is movement in and out of stoppages. Personally I don’t see it in the same way regarding the Pendlebury, Hunter Clark,Nicky Dal ability to understand time and space. Happy to agree to dissagree

bFTJw90.gif

Dunstan is a classic example.

The other thing that i'm sure goes on is "performance enhancing drugs " in the kids.
I'm pretty sure ( though not positive ) that Junior football drug tests are a rarity, and it would be nice to think the kids are all clean, but we ain't in Kansas Dorothy.
Sometimes a new kid comes into the AFL and they are amazing straight out of the draft. Come in , play terrific senior footy, then they actually go backwards.

The horrible cynical part of me wonders if they had been on the gear, but stopped once they hit AFL and the near certainty of getting caught.

Dunstan is a classic example.

The other thing that i'm sure goes on is "performance enhancing drugs " in the kids.
I'm pretty sure ( though not positive ) that Junior football drug tests are a rarity, and it would be nice to think the kids are all clean, but we ain't in Kansas Dorothy.
Sometimes a new kid comes into the AFL and they are amazing straight out of the draft. Come in , play terrific senior footy, then they actually go backwards.

The horrible cynical part of me wonders if they had been on the gear, but stopped once they hit AFL and the near certainty of getting caught.

ASADA test at the U18 champs.

O'Driscoll

Didn't realise he played at WAFL Senior level this year, might be one a bit more ready to plug in and play.

Hope he is versatile George !
He seems to have drifted out a bit the past few weeks. During trade period I saw a lot of people talking about him as someone who could go at Essendon's pick.

Him and Jack Carroll seem to be the two that both AFL.com.au and Fox Sports are linking us too which is interesting since they are both WA kids and we have had a big preference for years to draft Victorian kids - pretty sure 2013 was the last time we took an 18 year old in the national draft who wasn't playing in the Nab League competition (so not counting the mature agers and while Long is technically from NT, he was living and going to school in Vic)

Perhaps. Cal Twomey has him at 27. BigFooty Phantom Draft had him at 25. Not saying you're wrong but there seem to be a lot of kids that are rated higher.

Most would have him as still a chance for our picks.

AFL have been culpable with their stupid Academy system.

Bulldogs were essentially able to create a draft pick to trade for Treloar.
If they had not traded that pick, and the Crows bid on Ugle Hagen, ( as the short sighted idiots in AFL house imagined ) then it wouldn't have affected all the teams after the Bulldogs first pick. 2 clubs , ( Crows and Dogs ) 2 picks. But by trading the pick to Collingwood, a 3rd pick gets put in front of everyone.

Its possible someone could bid on Campbell, and if they do, then the Swans getting him won't really impact anyone else.

If someone bids on McInnes before 16 it makes no difference.

Port traded all their picks out, they will get Jones for SFA , essentially giving an extra pick to those they traded with.
1st round, and late 2nd round.

We have 2 free agency compensation picks and 2 Academy picks that will affect us. 4 picks , not the end of the world.