List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Yes we need mids. But we also need forwards that can kick multiple goals.

Yep there is that, still reckon there is more need to add some grunt in the middle so we continue to get it to the forwards. I have faith in Membrey, King, Marshall, Gresham, Lonie etc developing as a strong forward line.

Would have liked Byrnes to have a chance to develop this year as I think he is the type of player we need in the middle.

I was an advocate of trading our single pick to move back and get 2 out of Caldwell, Hately and Riley-Collyer so I'm up for picking up any of those guys now on the cheap. Ain't giving pick 5 for Caldwell though - pick 24 maybe (GC have another priority pick at end 1st/start 2nd this Yr).

So Gill reckons the draft will go ahead, all be it possibly in January.

It'll be interesting to see what the new list rules will be. We may want to keep all our rookies, and shifting 4 of them on to the main list would mean we don't need to draft anyone this year at all.

I think we're looking well set up for a final list trim.
The guys to go in the next 2 years are fairly obvious at this point IMO,
Joyce
Dmac
Ryder
Brown
Abbott
Gears,
and
Daults
Philips
Mayo
Kent
Austin/Clav
Sav/Jimmy
Lonie
Sincs
Connolly
Bell,
raffling off for the rest.
There's gonna be some unlucky boys find their careers are over after this.

Geary is no chance of being delisted while he’s captain.

Looks like lists will be slowly cut down and TBH we’ve probably got more candidates than I thought we would.

Clav
Austin
Langlands
McKenzie
Phillips

Just a few I wouldn’t be too upset about if we had to let go. After that it gets a bit tough.

So Gill reckons the draft will go ahead, all be it possibly in January.

It'll be interesting to see what the new list rules will be. We may want to keep all our rookies, and shifting 4 of them on to the main list would mean we don't need to draft anyone this year at all.

I think we're looking well set up for a final list trim.
The guys to go in the next 2 years are fairly obvious at this point IMO,
Joyce
Dmac
Ryder
Brown
Abbott
Gears,
and
Daults
Philips
Mayo
Kent
Austin/Clav
Sav/Jimmy
Lonie
Sincs
Connolly
Bell,
raffling off for the rest.
There's gonna be some unlucky boys find their careers are over after this.

I reckon you could add another 6 to that list of borderline players as well. I would think there are only about 4 players that are definite keepers for our next tilt. Marshall, Clark, Hill and Gresham. Ross and Billings could be used as trade bait. We need guns and we aren't going to get them unless we draft them. They are both good but not winners. Guys like Dunstan should get a few months to prove himself and be first on trade table too.

Hunter is a keeper, so are Hill and Doogs, Members, Battle, Wilkie, Paton. .
Edit: Whoops..

We would be stupid to trade Billings if we want to win games.

Untouchables:

Howard
Battle
Clark
Winx
Roma
Billings
Gresh
Skunk
Hill

Maybe i missed someone?

The rest are on the table though you'd need overs for some of them to consider a trade

Dunstan has had 6 years to prove himself and has failed, what we have seen is all we will get not going to improve now
Would be lucky if anyone would give a 3rd round pick for him

Untouchables:

Howard
Battle
Clark
Winx
Roma
Billings
Gresh
Skunk
Hill

Maybe i missed someone?

The rest are on the table though you'd need overs for some of them to consider a trade
We have a high quality spine there, all 24 and under expect Membrey (26 next month so he's not old).

Exactly. That's 9 very good players to build around. I reckon we have some decent 2nd tier players too. But we desperately need one, maybe 2, elite ball winning mids to take the lead. We probably need to draft them and hope they have immediate impact

I agree %100. Ross, Dunny and Billings are tradable now.

We've supposedly got a layer of highly rated youth to come into the team so the C and B grade players need to make way and we need a premium quality mid.

Exactly. That's 9 very good players to build around. I reckon we have some decent 2nd tier players too. But we desperately need one, maybe 2, elite ball winning mids to take the lead. We probably need to draft them and hope they have immediate impact
Hopefully Hunter can transition into the midfield quickly because he has all the traits to be a special midfielder. And I still have a small hope Steele can elevate his game again to be that contested beast we need.

With the expected list and salary cap cuts, we might be able to get a highly rated GWS midfielder a few years into their career to help speed that up a bit - either Hately or Cadwell would be good gets.

We would be stupid to trade Billings if we want to win games.

I like Billings, he's what I'd call a very good player but he seems mentally fragile. He's like Schnieder quality but with a knack for kicking points at big moments, he's like the embodiment of the Richo era Saints. He's got all the skills in the world but he's more Fiora than Lenny Hayes. He will help us stay middle table for a few years before we have to start again but to improve we need stars. I'm talking a side to take us to a flag not struggle on. Same with Seb Ross, Jimmy, Savage, Geary, Carlisle, Dunstan etc.

Too many guys happy to be AFL players with no killer instinct. I reckon we are very similar to the Dees as rebuild model. We mentally broke a few who won't recover. I'd cut hard and start again. When you look at sides like the Dogs, we have a list that looks in a different class. Even the Suns are building up a lot of top end kids, if they fire, I can't see how we catch them paying top dollar for Hill types and dumping our current players for nothing. I'm worried we are a long way off still even if we get to finals in the next couple of years.

I agree %100. Ross, Dunny and Billings are tradable now.

We've supposedly got a layer of highly rated youth to come into the team so the C and B grade players need to make way and we need a premium quality mid.

I'm not sure we have heaps of good youth yet. King and Clark the only top shelf ones. Guys like Parker, Hind, Paton etc might as well get games to see how far they can go over some of the pea hearts currently getting games. Hopefully Byrnes and Bytel come on as well.

I like Billings, he's what I'd call a very good player but he seems mentally fragile. He's like Schnieder quality but with a knack for kicking points at big moments, he's like the embodiment of the Richo era Saints. He's got all the skills in the world but he's more Fiora than Lenny Hayes. He will help us stay middle table for a few years before we have to start again but to improve we need stars. I'm talking a side to take us to a flag not struggle on. Same with Seb Ross, Jimmy, Savage, Geary, Carlisle, Dunstan etc.

Too many guys happy to be AFL players with no killer instinct. I reckon we are very similar to the Dees as rebuild model. We mentally broke a few who won't recover. I'd cut hard and start again. When you look at sides like the Dogs, we have a list that looks in a different class. Even the Suns are building up a lot of top end kids, if they fire, I can't see how we catch them paying top dollar for Hill types and dumping our current players for nothing. I'm worried we are a long way off still even if we get to finals in the next couple of years.
If you look at his career, it is the big moments where he doesn't shit his pants and delivers. One of the few players on our list who has risen in big moments to be the difference in the game. He is a classy, outside player, and one of the closest things we have to a star. He can only do so much with a poor inside group we have, yet he is still consistently one of our best and usually the reason to why we win/lead in a game.

If we want to improve our list, you dont trade quality like Billings away. You get better players around him so be doesnt need to be our only avenue to win the game.

Not interested in King

If you look at his career, it is the big moments where he doesn't shit his pants and delivers. One of the few players on our list who has risen in big moments to be the difference in the game. He is a classy, outside player, and one of the closest things we have to a star. He can only do so much with a poor inside group we have, yet he is still consistently one of our best and usually the reason to why we win/lead in a game.

If we want to improve our list, you dont trade quality like Billings away. You get better players around him so be doesnt need to be our only avenue to win the game.

He had one game against the Dogs about 5 years ago where he won us the game. He's about the only player we could lose that would get a first rounder. He seems mentally soft. Seb Ross I've supported for years, but I think I'm done with him now. Dunstan, Sinclair, Savage, Carlisle etc are all on my hit list too. Richo years seem to have seeped into them. I still hate them all for losing round one, so if they win again, I will jump straight back on.

I think a fair amount of trouser soiling, dummy spitting, toy throwing goin on after a 2 point loss.

I think there'll definitely be some that will be put up for trade but ffs hold ya powder.

I'm bored so raging at the players seems a welcome distraction.

He had one game against the Dogs about 5 years ago where he won us the game. He's about the only player we could lose that would get a first rounder. He seems mentally soft. Seb Ross I've supported for years, but I think I'm done with him now. Dunstan, Sinclair, Savage, Carlisle etc are all on my hit list too. Richo years seem to have seeped into them. I still hate them all for losing round one, so if they win again, I will jump straight back on.
He's been vital in big moments, or been the difference between wining and losing a lot more than just that game.

While he would get us a first rounder, I would rather a known, high quality player than another speculative kid. There is no point continually bringing in kids if you dont have good, senior players alongside them to help them develop. Part of our issues in recent years was our lack of strong senior core for our young players to develop next too.