List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Hey lads come in peace?
What the hell happened with Parker? Watched his first few games and I thought he was a bloody steal and a half, saw he was delisted. What went wrong?
Don't listen to anything they say - s*** decision by the club. But then again I am (was) his advocate.

Unlikely its off-field related so a victim of circumstances. Very solid first season playing one of the tougher position on the ground, ended up our 3rd highest goals scorer with a goal a game. Given where he came from I saw that as an exceptional effort.

Then at the end of the season its injury, surgery, slow return to training, Covid, no real reserves comp and means players trying to find form off no real match time. Then one of the biggest issue's - being OOC when lists are being cut.

I hope someone else gives him a chance because even if its just the occasional highlight - he makes the game much more interesting to watch.

One last time for Matty

Cheers lads for the reply, big advocate of the dees getting him. Reckon he's a very capable player.
How about we give you back Kent and we pick Parker back up? I was shocked at the decision to delist him as well I think the change in list size played a major part. Out of Hind, Kent and Parker he was the one I hoped we kept.

What are peoples thoughts on Sam Berry and Zane Trew a mate of mine is adamant that Berry will be the steal of the draft and if we can't get him go for Zane. My issue is that he says they are both inside mids and with the recruiting of Crouch I would think it is better to go for a pacey mid.

Also what is the deal with Max Heath a few mates think he could be an option if he is around for our 2nd pick but all I could find stats wise was one game with 4 disposals and 7 hitouts so why the fuss?

Additionally do you think we will use more then one pick this draft after the new changes?

1489300317_drop-dead-fred-cobwebs.gif

Don't listen to anything they say - s*** decision by the club. But then again I am (was) his advocate.

Unlikely its off-field related so a victim of circumstances. Very solid first season playing one of the tougher position on the ground, ended up our 3rd highest goals scorer with a goal a game. Given where he came from I saw that as an exceptional effort.

Then at the end of the season its injury, surgery, slow return to training, Covid, no real reserves comp and means players trying to find form off no real match time. Then one of the biggest issue's - being OOC when lists are being cut.

I hope someone else gives him a chance because even if its just the occasional highlight - he makes the game much more interesting to watch.

One last time for Matty

I agree, his footy is really one of the reasons people love the game.

In unexceptional circumstances he'd probably be given more time to develop the necessary attributes to work in a competitive team environment.

If you're looking for cherry on your cake, he's definitely the guy why you want to draft - especially for nothing - and he'll be a cult favourite very quickly.

I really wish we'd persisted with him, but these are desperate times and he came out of contract at EXACTLY the wrong moment.

Good luck to the club brave enough to take a punt on him: you won't regret it.

THIS is the best kid in the draft? Im sure he will develop well enough but geez... let's breakdown these 'highlights' shall we -

1stQTR:

Centre bounce. Misses a tackle, follows up for the handball, takes a bounce and fails to score anything from a shot on the run.

Centre bounce. Avoids a tackle and feeds off a handball to a team-mate who is immediately under pressure.

Half back. Stops and props instead of backing into the contest. Only puts up one hand. Makes himself available for the handball and proceeds to kick the ball down the line and out of bounds.

2nd QTR:

Half back. Takes and uncontested mark with 2 team-mates running in support. Takes the kick himself and turns it over to a loose opponent on the wing. Turnover 1

Centre wing. Takes an easy handball and feeds to a running team-mate.

Half forward. Lays a tackle causing a turnover. Gathers, gets caught, and fires off a handball himself.

Centre half forward. Takes an uncontested mark. Never turns around to see if a team-mate is in a better spot. Set shot is offline and fails to make the distance.

3rd QTR:

Defensive wing. Takes the 'get out' handball from a team-mate and kicks on the 45 to CHF. Misses both team-mates and turns the ball over. Turnover 2.

Centre square. Gathers a loose ball and handballs to a team-mate.

Defensive wing. Is outmarked by a team-mate in a pack. JUH was front of the pack and did not touch the ball.

Centre wing. Outbodied in a pack. Gathers the loose ball and avoids a tackle. Kicks to the HFF where an opponent takes an uncontested mark. Turnover 3.

Defensive wing. Trails his opposite number to the ball. Gathers the loose ball and finds a team-mate with a short handball.

Back pocket. Gathers the ball from a spilt marking attempt and gets away a handball to avoid being penalized for holding the ball.

Back pocket. Drops an uncontested mark. Gets a lucky free kick for high contact. 50m as his opponent kicks the ball away. Kicks the ball from one HBF to the other. Team-mate is good enough to take a contested mark while 2 other team-mates 15m either side of him watch on.

Half forward. Front of the pack and gets both hands to it but fails to hold on as the body pressure comes.

4th QTR:

Centre half back. Over runs the ball then misses 2 tackles.

Centre wing. Takes a running handball and kicks to a team-mate who marks uncontested at half forward.

Half forward. Genuine pack mark.

Half back. Takes a short pass from a team mate. Plays on and kicks to the wing where an opponent marks uncontested. Turnover 4

Centre square. Lays a tackle. Lucky not to be paid as high contact.

THIS is the best kid in the draft? Im sure he will develop well enough but geez... let's breakdown these 'highlights' shall we -

1stQTR:

Centre bounce. Misses a tackle, follows up for the handball, takes a bounce and fails to score anything from a shot on the run.

Centre bounce. Avoids a tackle and feeds off a handball to a team-mate who is immediately under pressure.

Half back. Stops and props instead of backing into the contest. Only puts up one hand. Makes himself available for the handball and proceeds to kick the ball down the line and out of bounds.

2nd QTR:

Half back. Takes and uncontested mark with 2 team-mates running in support. Takes the kick himself and turns it over to a loose opponent on the wing. Turnover 1

Half forward. Lays a tackle causing a turnover. Gathers, gets caught, and fires off a handball himself.

Centre half forward. Takes an uncontested mark. Never turns around to see if a team-mate is in a better spot. Set shot is offline and fails to make the distance.

3rd QTR:

Defensive wing. Takes the 'get out' handball from a team-mate and kicks on the 45 to CHF. Misses both team-mates and turns the ball over. Turnover 2.

Defensive wing. Is outmarked by a team-mate in a pack. JUH was front of the pack and did not touch the ball.

Centre wing. Outbodied in a pack. Gathers the loose ball and avoids a tackle. Kicks to the HFF where an opponent takes an uncontested mark. Turnover 3.

Defensive wing. Trails his opposite number to the ball. Gathers the loose ball and finds a team-mate with a short handball.

Back pocket. Gathers the ball from a spilt marking attempt and gets away a handball to avoid being penalized for holding the ball.

Back pocket. Drops an uncontested mark. Gets a lucky free kick for high contact. 50m as his opponent kicks the ball away. Kicks the ball from one HBF to the other. Team-mate is good enough to take a contested mark while 2 other team-mates 15m either side of him watch on.

Half forward. Front of the pack and gets both hands to it but fails to hold on as the body pressure comes.

4th QTR:

Centre wing. Takes a running handball and kicks to a team-mate who marks uncontested at half forward.

Half back. Takes a short pass from a team mate. Plays on and kicks to the wing where an opponent marks uncontested. Turnover 4

He has a lot of natural talent and is very athletic but I think no football in Victoria this year and him already being tied to a club has turned the hype machine in overdrive.

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

Funny you should post this as I watched the whole game yesterday and he was terrible, don’t think he hit a target by foot. Was going to post my thoughts on the game starting with him.

Having said that having seen him play up forward for Oakleigh the kid can play.

Won’t be available for us but Holland’s can play seriously talented kid.

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

Yes. Very over hyped IMO.
Hi spud potential.

I don't know anything about any draft prospects, or our recruiter's intentions but I feel as if we need a big-bodied midfielder.
I liked the look of Will Brodie (of GC) and hoped we would trade for him.
I suppose there is still a chance that he gets delisted but I'm not holding my breath waiting.

So what prospects are there in the draft for a big-bodied mid?

Elijah Hollands 189cm will go too early

Archie Perkins 188cm might last until our pick but is unlikely to

Alex Davies 192cm is linked to GC academy

Reef McInnes 193cm is linked to Collingwood - we should bid on him with our first if no-one has done so yet

Brayden Cook 190cm from SA ?might be worth a look at about our pick

Caleb Poulter 192cm from WA ?might be worth a look at about our pick

Max Holmes 189cm did well in the 20m time trial - I like the look of him

Carter Michael 188cm linked to Brisbane academy

Saxon Crozier 190cm also linked to Brisbane academy

Dominic Bedendo 188cm did well in the (L) vertical leap

Any thoughts on the players I have listed? Any I have omitted?

How about we give you back Kent and we pick Parker back up? I was shocked at the decision to delist him as well I think the change in list size played a major part. Out of Hind, Kent and Parker he was the one I hoped we kept.

What are peoples thoughts on Sam Berry and Zane Trew a mate of mine is adamant that Berry will be the steal of the draft and if we can't get him go for Zane. My issue is that he says they are both inside mids and with the recruiting of Crouch I would think it is better to go for a pacey mid.

Also what is the deal with Max Heath a few mates think he could be an option if he is around for our 2nd pick but all I could find stats wise was one game with 4 disposals and 7 hitouts so why the fuss?

Additionally do you think we will use more then one pick this draft after the new changes?

1489300317_drop-dead-fred-cobwebs.gif
Re: Max Heath played 5 minutes of each quarter so those stats are not a true measure of that game. Rucks are a priority, I would pick him or Lane.

I don't know anything about any draft prospects, or our recruiter's intentions but I feel as if we need a big-bodied midfielder.
I liked the look of Will Brodie (of GC) and hoped we would trade for him.
I suppose there is still a chance that he gets delisted but I'm not holding my breath waiting.

So what prospects are there in the draft for a big-bodied mid?

Elijah Hollands 189cm will go too early

Archie Perkins 188cm might last until our pick but is unlikely to

Alex Davies 192cm is linked to GC academy

Reef McInnes 193cm is linked to Collingwood - we should bid on him with our first if no-one has done so yet

Brayden Cook 190cm from SA ?might be worth a look at about our pick

Caleb Poulter 192cm from WA ?might be worth a look at about our pick

Max Holmes 189cm did well in the 20m time trial - I like the look of him

Carter Michael 188cm linked to Brisbane academy

Saxon Crozier 190cm also linked to Brisbane academy

Dominic Bedendo 188cm did well in the (L) vertical leap

Any thoughts on the players I have listed? Any I have omitted?

I will just mention there are no Jacks in your list , I’m very disappointed in you lol.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

Doesn’t sound good , but everyone can have a shocker at some stage .

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

He didn’t play well but it was nothing more than an exhibition match. A match where he was played predominantly out of position to allow every player to get fair playing time. To put the game into perspective, Logan McDonald finished the match with one disposal lol.

You say exhibition, I say u18 All Stars. He was playing against the best of the best and the very kids he will be coming into the AFL against.

A game where his team dominated and he, as the premier KPF of the class, failed to have an impact.

I'm sure he has talent and that he will be fine but if this is what the highlights of 'the next Buddy Franklin' look like then I think we all need to just pump the brakes on the perpetual hype train that rolls out every draft.

Spencer White was going to be the next Franklin too...

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

I think it was a GF he played in he was supposedly the most dominant player on the ground. My draft watcher mate reckons he'll be something special. He said he's the closest thing to Buddy that anyone has seen since Buddy.

You say exhibition, I say u18 All Stars. He was playing against the best of the best and the very kids he will be coming into the AFL against.

A game where his team dominated and he, as the premier KPF of the class, failed to have an impact.

I'm sure he has talent and that he will be fine but if this is what the highlights of 'the next Buddy Franklin' look like then I think we all need to just pump the brakes on the perpetual hype train that rolls out every draft.

Spencer White was going to be the next Franklin too...
There's more to the kid than one game.

1stQTR:

2nd QTR:

3rd QTR:

4th QTR:

Can go any club

Thoughts on Eddie Ford and Mcrae and Powell who all might be available at our picks?
Really like powell as a natural mid, reminds me of Clayton Oliver although he is smaller. Understands time and space very well though.

Just heard big Cox on SEN, sounds very impressive.

Unfortunately I think he's most likely gone before our pick though.

No chance.

Looks a great replacement for Carlisle but at worst I think he slides to Collingwood.