List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Yeah me too, now he’s got a few up-and-comers gunning for a spot he might click it up a gear. It’s a good problem tinhave
Gunning for his spot ? He played one game for us this year and the club as hard as they tried during the trade period couldn’t get rid off him

Might sound crazy but I actually wouldn’t mind a developing HB with pace to eventually replace Clark when he goes into the middle. We’ve seen the damage that Houli, Baker and Short do for Richmond, they just slaughter teams on the rebound.

Too harsh ? No just stated facts
Going into his 8th season if he hasn’t cleaned it by now he is not going to.
Valuable in what way?
He's never been in a regime that demands quality execution till now.
I ain't saying he'll be best 22 but he only needs to clean up the 1 element and he's back in contention.

n
He's never been in a regime that demands quality execution till now.
I ain't saying he'll be best 22 but he only needs to clean up the 1 element and he's back in contention.
Just my opinion, needs to do more than 1 element.
Too slow, no 2 way running, no tank, only plays 1 position, new interchange rules make 60% gametime even harder to accomodate, poor by hand and foot, doesn't have great vision.

Speaking of Dunstan and slightly OT.

I reckon if he gets a shot at the midfield in 2021 he will be one that thrives. Last time he had Steele, Seb, a Jack Steven on the downhill, Sinclair, the occasional Acres, Billings, and underdeveloped Clark and sometimes Gres to name our star studded midfield.

Next year he will have an AA Steele, Jones, Crouch, Hanners, Seb, with Hill and Billings on the wings with targets like Butts and Higgins and Ming forward.

He is a pure inside pig, he can concentrate on that and will be lifted by the tide of quality that has come in since he was last in the guts.

I reckon he could very well surprise a few in a good way.

All the positives that Dunstan may bring are let down when he tries to get the pill to a team mate’s advantage.

Ratts seems to covet good skills & that leaves Spook out of luck unless he can miraculously become a competent disposer of the footy.

Personally I’d prefer getting as many games into Bytel as quickly as possible.

n
Just my opinion, needs to do more than 1 element.
Too slow, no 2 way running, no tank, only plays 1 position, new interchange rules make 60% game time even harder to accomodate, poor by hand and foot, doesn't have great vision.
You are way off with some of your opinions here.

He isn't fast but his tackle numbers so show that he goes both ways.

And the 60% game time and poor tank isn't something affecting him considering in 2019 he regularly played between 75-80% of game time.

We know he isn't a great kick but saying he struggles to hit a target with his hands and has poor vision seems like a big exaggeration.

And the 60% game time and poor tank isn't something affecting him considering in 2019 he regularly played between 75-80% of game time.

We know he isn't a great kick but saying he struggles to hit a target with his hands and has poor vision seems like a big exaggeration.

He’s a horribly lazy defensive runner. His tackle numbers are only decent due to what he does at stoppages.

He turns the ball over at critical times. He is a horrible kick.

And He’s not that good at being a “ball pig”.

Time we move on. Better, younger and more promising options are already on the list.

Dunstan has had more than enough chances.

And has played pretty well throughout his career. The last game we saw of him he got a Brownlow vote and his 2019 was pretty good overall too.

He is unlikely to be locked in best 22 next season but he is still someone who is of AFL quality and when he does get his chance at senior level, he won't be out of place.

No need to discard him so quickly and act as if he is a complete potato.

All the positives that Dunstan may bring are let down when he tries to get the pill to a team mate’s advantage.

Ratts seems to covet good skills & that leaves Spook out of luck unless he can miraculously become a competent disposer of the footy.

Personally I’d prefer getting as many games into Bytel as quickly as possible.

Inclined to agree with Bytel...and chances are that he'll get a better run at it next year. I'd like to give him a 10 game stint. We've got a squad that can cover for him now & it would hopefully fast track him...he's got the attributes, so let's see him put it together. Dunstan is good to have if needs be, but his lack of ability to get beyond 60-65% game time is going to be a problem.

75-80% game time? Don't get me wrong, I thought Dunstan was showing something at the end of 2019, but I thought the big knock on him (other than kicking) was his inability to stay on the park for anything more than 70%
It may be a problem going forward for him, but I won't knock him...he leaves it all out there.

And has played pretty well throughout his career. The last game we saw of him he got a Brownlow vote and his 2019 was pretty good overall too.

He is unlikely to be locked in best 22 next season but he is still someone who is of AFL quality and when he does get his chance at senior level, he won't be out of place.

No need to discard him so quickly and act as if he is a complete potato.
Discard so quickly ? going into his 8th season

Too harsh.
If he cleans up his disposal he's very valuable.

His disposal is poor to average and it sounds like Ratts won't play anyone who is a poor user. He was definitely playing good footy towards the end of 2019 but so was Savage. He's still got hope because he's on the list but things look stacked against him right now with Crouch coming in. His best hope is Crouch's drug ban weeks giving him a chance to be too good to drop. He should train like his career depends on it over summer.

With all the talk so far being about who we might take with our first pick, what are peoples thoughts on a later pick?
I’ve searched mainly the local area with one, which if we moved up the order we might be a chance, Sandringham Dragons Fraser Rosman who acquitted himself in the 20mt sprint & 2km time trial.

If we don’t improve our position, I like his team mate Lachlan Carrigan who for a young man wasn’t far away in the sprint as well & being so close to an under ager he could be an asset for the future learning off the seasoned players we have acquired the last couple of seasons.

With all the talk so far being about who we might take with our first pick, what are peoples thoughts on a later pick?
I’ve searched mainly the local area with one, which if we moved up the order we might be a chance, Sandringham Dragons Fraser Rosman who acquitted himself in the 20mt sprint & 2km time trial.

If we don’t improve our position, I like his team mate Lachlan Carrigan who for a young man wasn’t far away in the sprint as well & being so close to an under ager he could be an asset for the future learning off the seasoned players we have acquired the last couple of seasons.

Look I’m not disputing his strength around the stoppages. That will be his MO I’m just saying the concern I have is movement in and out of stoppages. Personally I don’t see it in the same way regarding the Pendlebury, Hunter Clark,Nicky Dal ability to understand time and space. Happy to agree to dissagree
That's fair, with the Pendlebury comparison I was going for more how he uses time and space at stoppages rather then his quality at executing it. My main point about Berry though is unless we get a slider I don't expect anything special from our pick and so he seems the most likely to make it at the higher level while having a reliable more then memorable career. I am also a sucker for someone who loves to tackle, shows a want to compete.
EasyFragrantElephantbeetle-size_restricted.gif

75-80% game time? Don't get me wrong, I thought Dunstan was showing something at the end of 2019, but I thought the big knock on him (other than kicking) was his inability to stay on the park for anything more than 70%
It may be a problem going forward for him, but I won't knock him...he leaves it all out there.
Yep, thats what the official statistics say he played in 2019.
The idea that he didn't have the ability to stay on the ground for a decent amount of time is very outdated.

Discard so quickly ? going into his 8th season
The view of him has turned completely off the back of nothing. No one is saying he is a superstar but he is still a decent AFL player despite his weaknesses. Is he likely to be best 22 next year, no, but he is still someone who can come if there is an injury and contribute immediately or force his way into the side with good VFL form.

He has gone from someone who can contribute at AFL level as a handy inside mid option (he was one of 4 players to average a certain amount of clearances, tackles, inside 50s in 2019 so he is of AFL standard), to someone who people are acting like it would be disastrous if he was ever near an AFL ground and lacks so much ability at everything that he even struggles to tie his own shoelaces.

I just don't think we need to throw him on the scrapheap just yet.

I’m so confused. How many list spots do we have open ATM?

FINALISED

Trade

We had 45 players this season (40 Senior Listed, 5 Rookie Listed [Wilkie, Bell, Langlands, Mayo, Alabakis]), with Alabakis being a Cat B rookie.

Based on comings and goings over trade period:

Lost 10 Seniors (Hind, Phillips, Parker, Brown, Abbott, Austin, Marsh, Savage, Clavarino, Joyce)
Lost 3 Cat A Rookies (Bell, Langlands, Mayo)

Clavarino and Joyce have been made Cat A rookies
Gained 4 Seniors (Crouch, Higgins, McKernan, Frawley)

Gives us 34 Senior Listed, 3 Cat A Rookie Listed, 1 Cat B Rookie Listed as it currently stands (38 contracted players).

Tidbits!

The club have said that we will leave one available spot on our list for the preseason supplementary players list or mid season drafts, however I am unsure whether this is on the Senior List of Rookie List. (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/subscr...fc78040d9772a8&memtype=anonymous&mode=premium)

The club have hinted that Callum Wilkie will remain on the rookie list (https://www.saints.com.au/news/838327/backline-pair-moved-to-rookie-list)
Draft

Give us 2-4 Senior Listed players, 1-3 Cat A Rookie Listed Players, and 1 Cat B Rookie Listed player for us to draft

I highly doubt we are drafting 4 senior listed players, and don't believe we will be upgrading Wilkie (however there are pro's to doing this).

I believe there may be a trend to maximizing rookie lists (6 players) in order to have more money saved outside of the TPP ($80k each = $480k saved), given the current fiscal environment created by Covid-19.

Given this, I believe we will:

Draft 2 Senior Listed Players (maybe 3 at a pinch if someone we like is still available)

Draft 3 Cat A Rookies (maybe 2 if we pinched another, as per above)

No mention of whether we have an additional Cat B Rookie in our sights