List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Speaking of Dunstan and slightly OT.

I reckon if he gets a shot at the midfield in 2021 he will be one that thrives. Last time he had Steele, Seb, a Jack Steven on the downhill, Sinclair, the occasional Acres, Billings, and underdeveloped Clark and sometimes Gres to name our star studded midfield.

Next year he will have an AA Steele, Jones, Crouch, Hanners, Seb, with Hill and Billings on the wings with targets like Butts and Higgins and Ming forward.

He is a pure inside pig, he can concentrate on that and will be lifted by the tide of quality that has come in since he was last in the guts.

I reckon he could very well surprise a few in a good way.

Love it.

Personally I would play him before Ross. Get Dunstan & Crouch forming a real "Bash Bros" vibe on the inside.

Ross competing with Hammers & Since for a spot.

Might sound crazy but I actually wouldn’t mind a developing HB with pace to eventually replace Clark when he goes into the middle. We’ve seen the damage that Houli, Baker and Short do for Richmond, they just slaughter teams on the rebound.
Bytel turns out a midfield bull, Clark becomes a full time mid and Zac Jones is back on the hbf instead of Long

Might sound crazy but I actually wouldn’t mind a developing HB with pace to eventually replace Clark when he goes into the middle. We’ve seen the damage that Houli, Baker and Short do for Richmond, they just slaughter teams on the rebound.
Connolly.

Bytel turns out a midfield bull, Clark becomes a full time mid and Zac Jones is back on the hbf instead of Long
From here on out, Jones should be waxing with Clark, and if we are struggling for ball movement out of the backline, I would look to feature Jones there more permanently. More so for foot speed rather than long kicking skills, get the handball off and keep running, 2nd 3rd efforts and link it out of our defence.

Ew.

Jones on the HBF is no better than Savage. Jones in the middle was laying tackles and kicking goals.

Would prefer Clark stay at half back so he can take the kick in, play on to himself, and just Matrix move his way up the field to set up Ming for a bag every week.

Ew.

Jones on the HBF is no better than Savage. Jones in the middle was laying tackles and kicking goals.

Would prefer Clark stay at half back so he can take the kick in, play on to himself, and just Matrix move his way up the field to set up Ming for a bag every week.
Less interchanges means you have to rotate players through positions. Rotating Clark and Jones through hb/mid/bench makes as much sense as rotating Gresh/Higgins through mid/forward/bench.

With all the talk so far being about who we might take with our first pick, what are peoples thoughts on a later pick?
I’ve searched mainly the local area with one, which if we moved up the order we might be a chance, Sandringham Dragons Fraser Rosman who acquitted himself in the 20mt sprint & 2km time trial.

If we don’t improve our position, I like his team mate Lachlan Carrigan who for a young man wasn’t far away in the sprint as well & being so close to an under ager he could be an asset for the future learning off the seasoned players we have acquired the last couple of seasons.

It's time the club got seriously active here.
Between the late picks and the Zebs we aught make sure that any local boys worth considering are sucked in to StKilda pathways.
It's a must do.

Smythe's final phantom draft.
Welcome Eddie Ford!!

ST KILDA
PICKS: 21, 64, 67, 74, 93.
KEY DEFENDERS: Dougal Howard, Callum Wilkie, James Frawley, Josh Battle, Jake Carlisle, Dylan Roberton, Oscar Clavarino, Darragh Joyce.
SMALL/MEDIUM DEFENDERS: Hunter Clark, Nick Coffield, Ben Paton, Jarryn Geary, Ben Long, Jimmy Webster, Daniel McKenzie.
MIDFIELDERS: Jack Steele, Brad Crouch, Zak Jones, Bradley Hill, Dan Hannebery, Seb Ross, Jack Sinclair, Luke Dunstan, Jack Bytel, Ryan Byrnes, Leo Connolly.
KEY FORWARDS: Max King, Tim Membrey, Shaun McKernan.
SMALL/MEDIUM FORWARDS: Dan Butler, Jade Gresham, Jack Billings, Jack Higgins, Dean Kent, Jack Lonie.
RUCKS: Paddy Ryder, Rowan Marshall, Sam Alabakis.

Kaine Baldwin in action for South Australia.

Having nailed early selections in the form of Jade Gresham, Hunter Clark, Nick Coffield and Max King in recent seasons, the Saints are clearly in a different phase of their list build. Under list manager James Gallagher and powerbroker Simon Lethlean, the Saints have brought in a raft of seasoned players from rival clubs across the past two trade periods, even extending to bargain pick-ups such as Shaun McKernan and James Frawley. As such there aren't too many clear holes on their list any more. More key position depth would be handy given McKernan and Frawley only look like short-term fixes, but the best talls in the draft will be long gone by the time St Kilda enter proceedings.

Medium forward/midfielder Brayden Cook would be a good option if he slid through to the Saints' first selection while there should be a bevy of handy midfielders such as Jack Carroll and Nathan O'Driscoll on offer at the Saints' first selection. As with Richmond and Collingwood, Jackson Callow and Kaine Baldwin loom as two potential options for the Saints if they want another tall forward late in the draft.

Still looks to me like we have a big hole in the ruck and key forward.
I don't consider Alabakis as a potential ruck as he may never make it. Saints need another young developing ruckman.
Pity about Jack Bell and Mayo

Smythe's final phantom draft.
Welcome Eddie Ford!!
Lets hope he is right

He's never been in a regime that demands quality execution till now.
I ain't saying he'll be best 22 but he only needs to clean up the 1 element and he's back in contention.
Its AFL footy anyone that wants to make it should be demanding from them self quality execution

Still looks to me like we have a big hole in the ruck and key forward.
I don't consider Alabakis as a potential ruck as he may never make it. Saints need another young developing ruckman.
Pity about Jack Bell and Mayo
Battle should probably be listed with the forwards, but even then we are very thin in that space.

I think we will end up picking one late in the draft.

Jones is too valuable as a mid IMO. Our only burst from stoppage player.

Battle should probably be listed with the forwards, but even then we are very thin in that space.

I think we will end up picking one late in the draft.
Late draft forwards are wishful thinking, better off taking a ruck type and holding off on the tall forward until the mid-season or next year's draft

That's fair, with the Pendlebury comparison I was going for more how he uses time and space at stoppages rather then his quality at executing it. My main point about Berry though is unless we get a slider I don't expect anything special from our pick and so he seems the most likely to make it at the higher level while having a reliable more then memorable career. I am also a sucker for someone who loves to tackle, shows a want to compete.
EasyFragrantElephantbeetle-size_restricted.gif
For sure af the very least he’ll add some serious toughness and a bit of enforcement in the midfield.

That's fair, with the Pendlebury comparison I was going for more how he uses time and space at stoppages rather then his quality at executing it. My main point about Berry though is unless we get a slider I don't expect anything special from our pick and so he seems the most likely to make it at the higher level while having a reliable more then memorable career. I am also a sucker for someone who loves to tackle, shows a want to compete.
EasyFragrantElephantbeetle-size_restricted.gif

Love the early Jay & SB

And has played pretty well throughout his career. The last game we saw of him he got a Brownlow vote and his 2019 was pretty good overall too.

He is unlikely to be locked in best 22 next season but he is still someone who is of AFL quality and when he does get his chance at senior level, he won't be out of place.

No need to discard him so quickly and act as if he is a complete potato.

I can’t believe he got a vote in that North game. His direct opponent tore us a new arse & was hugely influential in them winning the game.

Dunstan is not getting discarded, my post was in response to all the talk about him playing a prominent role & suddenly being a best 22 player.

Love it.

Personally I would play him before Ross. Get Dunstan & Crouch forming a real "Bash Bros" vibe on the inside.

Ross competing with Hammers & Since for a spot.

Ross is a vastly better player than Dunstan.

I’ve been Seb’s biggest critic but he was our best mid behind Steeley in the last 6 weeks of the season.

Crouch & Steele are our bash brothers.

Too harsh.
If he cleans up his disposal he's very valuable.
If he cleans up his disposal... Big If.
He's had 7 years and 104 games to fix his disposal, but it has actually become worse. His round 1 game this year was evident of that. Kicked about 4 inside 50 grubbers on a perfect day at Marvel stadium.
Love his effort and contested stuff, but his tank and 2 way running is poor along with his disposal. He's good depth in case of injuries but that's it. Hope were not relying on him playing more than a handful of games tbh

If he cleans up his disposal... Big If.
He's had 7 years and 104 games to fix his disposal, but it has actually become worse. His round 1 game this year was evident of that. Kicked about 4 inside 50 grubbers on a perfect day at Marvel stadium.
Love his effort and contested stuff, but his tank and 2 way running is poor along with his disposal. He's good depth in case of injuries but that's it. Hope were not relying on him playing more than a handful of games tbh
His 1 game this year isn't evidence of much, but case in point he had a ripper game that got him a brownlow vote, if not for the bad disposal.

Perhaps he was trying too hard, l dunno.

The thing is, he's quite capable of good execution, so it's probably a concentration issue which is lack of composure really.

Another poster mentioned Crouch was out for the first 2 games so it's Dunny's chance to grab his spot.

Whilst l still think the team has moved past him, l also think some posters are overly negative about his prospects of improvement.
I'd like him to have a good year even if it's only to bump up his trade value.