List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Henry Walsh
His 1 game this year isn't evidence of much, but case in point he had a ripper game that got him a brownlow vote, if not for the bad disposal.

Perhaps he was trying too hard, l dunno.

The thing is, he's quite capable of good execution, so it's probably a concentration issue which is lack of composure really.

Another poster mentioned Crouch was out for the first 2 games so it's Dunny's chance to grab his spot.

Whilst l still think the team has moved past him, l also think some posters are overly negative about his prospects of improvement.
I'd like him to have a good year even if it's only to bump up his trade value.

I think he was really unlucky in 2020, when we started to lose mids in Gresh, Jones and Hanners he was out with his pulled tit. If he'd timed it right he might have played finals and either been starting best 22 next year or at least getting a lot more love. He's one dimensional and we lost players with those dimensions while he wasn't available.

I know he is very small but geez Jake Bowey looks super handy. If was 3 inches taller he would be a clear first round pick.
Watched the All Star game and he does almost everything right - he is a very smart footballer with great technical base skills.
Difficult to know where he fits in with his traits becoz he is so small, perhaps a wing.
If he slides to our 2nd pick, I hope we take a chance.
He fits in anywhere- he’s F@&king tiny .

Kevin Sheehan had us taking him in the mock draft he and Callum Twomey ran, despite not appearing in Cals current top 30.

If you’re good enough you’re big enough is the mantra draft central uses in his write up. Only marginally smaller than Montagna.

People get hung up on height, he is 2cm smaller than the reigning Brownlow Medalist.

If he was a little taller would be a certain top 15 pick in the draft . Great user of the ball and a great athlete.

If available at our pick then would be thrilled to pick him and not because Brett played for us.

Will be long gone by our second pick.

He is bigger than his Dad who was a serviceable player for us.
That was 16 years ago and players are all generally a lot taller than back then , that doesnt mean he wont be any good , just saying

His 1 game this year isn't evidence of much, but case in point he had a ripper game that got him a brownlow vote, if not for the bad disposal.

Perhaps he was trying too hard, l dunno.

The thing is, he's quite capable of good execution, so it's probably a concentration issue which is lack of composure really.

Another poster mentioned Crouch was out for the first 2 games so it's Dunny's chance to grab his spot.

Whilst l still think the team has moved past him, l also think some posters are overly negative about his prospects of improvement.
I'd like him to have a good year even if it's only to bump up his trade value.

What if Dunstan plays as well in the first two matches next year as he did in round 1 this year against North? He stays in the team and others get pushed out.

I’ve always thought Dunstan would be a much better player in a team with better players around him. He’s not afraid, is as hard as a cat’s head, and sacrifices his body for the benefit of the team.

He could surprise everyone next year. I’m glad he is still with us. It would be a great story if he was part of our future success.

People get hung up on height, he is 2cm smaller than the reigning Brownlow Medalist.

If he was a little taller would be a certain top 15 pick in the draft . Great user of the ball and a great athlete.

If available at our pick then would be thrilled to pick him and not because Brett played for us.

Will be long gone by our second pick.

I remember the knocks on Caleb Daniel during his draft year. He was thought to be too small to make it at AFL level. I think the Bulldogs drafted him with a pick in the 40s.

Daniel is a star. Probably the best kick in the AFL and one of the smartest players going around.

If Bowey is as good as has been suggested then we are justified in taking him if he is still there at our pick. Skill and nous usurps size.

PROFILE FROM THE DRAFT CENTRAL 2020 AFL DRAFT GUIDE

Jake Bowey is a highly talented prospect with some elite athletic traits, great skills and sound decision making. He might not be big, but he attacks every contest and shows no fear, then when he wins it, is able to dispose of it well to teammates down the field. Often, Bowey provides more scoring opportunities for his teammates than himself, averaging almost two scoring assists per game in the NAB League last year.

When playing deeper inside 50, Bowey showed he could kick multiple goals with two hauls of three goals in Rounds 5 and 10. What makes Bowey such a great prospect is he has an allround balance of top traits and is one of those that falls under the category of “if he was 10cm taller he would be rated a lot higher”, which is true because he is clearly first round talent on ability, and arguably pushing for top 10 with the skillset he has at his disposal.

In 2019, Bowey used the ball well by hand or foot with a 68 per cent efficiency despite running at 39.5 per cent contested rate. That is a pretty solid contested rate for an outside midfielder/forward, but no doubt he would have loved to have moved inside which was the goal for 2020 touted during preseason.

Having the athletic ability to burst away is important considering he can get knocked off the ball by bigger bodies or brought down because he is lighter. He is not afraid to win the contested ball, but his speed and smarts close to goal would be very handy at the elite level around stoppages. He is a player who could quickly make his way into a senior team at the elite level because of the tools he has, and between his ball use, aggression and athleticism, he is a real value pick-up in the second round.

I remember the knocks on Caleb Daniel during his draft year. He was thought to be too small to make it at AFL level. I think the Bulldogs drafted him with a pick in the 40s.

Daniel is a star. Probably the best kick in the AFL and one of the smartest players going around.

If Bowey is as good as has been suggested then we are justified in taking him if he is still there at our pick. Skill and nous usurps size.

I can remember leading in to Calebs draft year the Saints would drop short videos of our recruiting team around a desk extolling the strengths of different players and I remember they had a big wrap on Caleb Daniel. I think we wanted him but gambled that (due to his height) he would still be available in the rookie draft where we had the first pick.

We took Lonie and 41. The dogs took Daniel at 46 after Bailey Dale at 45.

Fun fact - Dougal Howard went at pick 56 in the same draft.

I can remember leading in to Calebs draft year the Saints would drop short videos of our recruiting team around a desk extolling the strengths of different players and I remember they had a big wrap on Caleb Daniel. I think we wanted him but gambled that (due to his height) he would still be available in the rookie draft where we had the first pick.

We took Lonie and 41. The dogs took Daniel at 46 after Bailey Dale at 45.

Fun fact - Dougal Howard went at pick 56 in the same draft.

Lonie was a good selection at pick 41, but Daniel was a gem at 46. He organises their defence and mops up the mess when the heat is on.

I think Daniel proved that the right player can be any size. Bowey does sound like a very good prospect.

Richmond are full of players either under 180cm or around that height. Hawks weren’t exactly land of the giants during their three-peat either. I wouldn’t be too concerned about it if he’s good enough.

It's time the club got seriously active here.
Between the late picks and the Zebs we aught make sure that any local boys worth considering are sucked in to StKilda pathways.
It's a must do.
Blake Howes in next year's draft...

I hope we pick up the best key position player at our first pick , knowing we are most probably in with a chance to pick up a free agent midfielder next year.
Knowing guys like Merrett , Oliver , Kelly , Crouch , Laird , Cripps , Bontempelli still have not signed and having Bytel , Byrne waiting for game time I would take a gamble for a tall.

Same height as these guys

Mitch Crowden, Sam Gray, Lincoln McCarthy, Dylan Moore, Lachlan Murphy, Shai Bolton, Travis Colyer, Michael Gibbons, Stefan Giro, Bobby Hill, Jack Lonie, Dion Prestia, Willie Rioli, Will Snelling, Lewis Taylor, Dayne Zorko, Eddie Betts, Kade Chandler, Darcy MacPherson, Devon Smith, Boyd Woodcock

Yes but much easier to look at what they cant do than look at what they can do

I think Daniel proved that the right player can be any size. Bowey does sound like a very good prospect.

I wouldn't be concerned about Bowey's height. He sounds like he has all the attributes we are looking for - fast, good footy IQ, good disposal, good attitude.

If he is best available at 21 then grab him.

Wow I kicked the hornets nest mentioning Dunstan may benefit from having quality around him.
Like when has that ever happened,? You know players look better with better players around them.

How does having better players around him make him kick the ball at a competent level?

A number of better players ahead of him and younger players with talent fast approaching in the rear view mirror.

How does having better players around him make him kick the ball at a competent level?

A number of better players ahead of him and younger players with talent fast approaching in the rear view mirror.

More time to dispose the ball, more opportunity to dispose of the ball, better options on the wings and mids running patterns etc. Anyway kicking is only one aspect, Jones is a poor kick, Seb not great. Dunstan being a fourth mid instead of a second mid takes the pressure off a bit.

As for kicking, general direction of Ming with Butler, Higgins and Lonie at his feet buzzing about.

I am not a fanboi of Dunstan, if Byrnes and Bytel or others take his spot, so be it, I just think a one position player benefits from better players being around him.

I think Dunstan would have been handy this year when we ran out of soldiers in the guts mid season. Remember two of our pure mids in Hanners and Crouch are injury prone, having Dunstan there is a bonus in my opinion.

More time to dispose the ball, more opportunity to dispose of the ball, better options on the wings and mids running patterns etc. Anyway kicking is only one aspect, Jones is a poor kick, Seb not great. Dunstan being a fourth mid instead of a second mid takes the pressure off a bit.

As for kicking, general direction of Ming with Butler, Higgins and Lonie at his feet buzzing about.

I am not a fanboi of Dunstan, if Byrnes and Bytel or others take his spot, so be it, I just think a one position player benefits from better players being around him.

I think Dunstan would have been handy this year when we ran out of soldiers in the guts mid season. Remember two of our pure mids in Hanners and Crouch are injury prone, having Dunstan there is a bonus in my opinion.

Agreed. Ross is another who is really a 4th banana. The problem is for too long we needed him to be the top dog and he just doesn't have the tools. Surround him with better players and he can play more to his skill set.

Likewise Dunny can be serviceable as an inside mid if all we need from him is to shovel the ball out to our better users. He'll never be a star, but he can be serviceable in the right surroundings

Sumich is refreshingly honest about the kids out of WA.

Mentioned O'Driscoll and Carroll in favourable terms.

Brutally honest on Zane Trew. Said he could play but would sook if not going his way. Neeeds to work on attitude to make it.

Nice to hear him tell it as he sees it.

That was 16 years ago and players are all generally a lot taller than back then , that doesnt mean he wont be any good , just saying

I've lost the odd weekend before. What were you doing to lose a decade :O ?

Sumich is refreshingly honest about the kids out of WA.

Mentioned O'Driscoll and Carroll in favourable terms.

Brutally honest on Zane Trew. Said he could play but would sook if not going his way. Neeeds to work on attitude to make it.

Nice to hear him tell it as he sees it.

Nice to hear him tell it as he sees Weagles picking up Trew for Pick #99*