List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Ok see what you mean now. Not being a smartarse but wouldn't all recruiting team have their board locked in a time ago?

Listening to Lethlean the other day, he was saying we have our players listed and will go down it until it's our turn. Basically saying best pick available.

As for bidding on Ugle. Where is the downside for Adelaide. Bulldogs don't match, they get a Max King type, Bulldogs match, they get the pick they had next and Bulldogs pay up big.

Only loser will be their No.1 if they bid as the no.1 selection gets 10k from the NAB and 10k from the AFL.
The kid Adelaide take will be the loser no matter what Adelaide do regarding the bid.

They will either be the guy taken at pick 1 who shouldn't have been if not for the academies, or he will be the guy that Adelaide had to settled for at pick 2.

Ok see what you mean now. Not being a smartarse but wouldn't all recruiting team have their board locked in a time ago?

Listening to Lethlean the other day, he was saying we have our players listed and will go down it until it's our turn. Basically saying best pick available.

As for bidding on Ugle. Where is the downside for Adelaide. Bulldogs don't match, they get a Max King type, Bulldogs match, they get the pick they had next and Bulldogs pay up big.

Only loser will be their No.1 if they bid as the no.1 selection gets 10k from the NAB and 10k from the AFL.

also miss out on the number 1 pick coverage but its a minor thing

pretty good post

odriscoll seems very vanilla, what worries me with him is he hadn't really performed when playing seniors in the WAFL, which tells me he is pretty far off it and might not cut it at AFL. typically the good prospects out here tend to atleast find their feet in the WAFL seniors.

having said that Berry by all accounts is more a medium forward rather than mid. a tad undersized given where the game is going in the midfield. so odriscoll has more runs on the board in terms of midfield and his attributes. that doesn't mean i'm saying odriscoll is the better prospect, just some thoughts on the two.

agree 100% on poulter. i think out of the three he's the 3rd preference. also agree that ford probably has more upside than poulter.

Have seen Berry a bit last year and he is more midfield than forward really strong powerful kid he played no 1. mid in the APS might have played more forward as an underager at Gippsland last year certainly the highlights package seemed to show him almost entirely mowing down slow defenders in the forward line. At AFL will be a mid and I am sure would have been a Mid this year in NAB League if he had played. Size will not be an issue for him he is a tank with springs in his legs is fantastic overhead.

cheers mate

side note: i really dont like school footy as a form guide for AFL given how far behind it is. might be on my own here.

The kid Adelaide take will be the loser no matter what Adelaide do regarding the bid.

They will either be the guy taken at pick 1 who shouldn't have been if not for the academies, or he will be the guy that Adelaide had to settled for at pick 2.

I reckon they're easing the expectations on the kid by having him at number 2 as opposed to number 1.

If it was one of the smaller Victorian clubs, I think they'd pass on JUH because they'd need to be able to sell the future to the fans. Much better to parade your shiny new #1 draft pick than the second best.

But if I was Adelaide, I would straight up tell the kid, you were our first pick, we knew doggies were going to match so we thought we'd let them take the extra attention that goes with being #1. We've re-worked your initial contract to get that $20k you missed out on.

If we were to try and trade into a better first round position, who would we trade with and what could we offer?

I'm assuming not Richmonds pick 17, because we would have already tried swapping future firsts during the higgens trade.

GWS at 15 with a swap of future firsts and more? I honestly have no idea...

Alright team. Game faces on.

Nothing but bragging rights on the line here.

Assuming we take 3 live picks tonight who would you like/expect us to grab?

I'll go with -

1st pick: Jack Carroll
2nd pick: Ollie Lord
3rd pick: Corey Gault

Like the idea of Gault.

Gives us:
- Frawley as cover for Carlisle / Howard
- McKernan as cover for Marshall / King
- Gault as cover for Ryder

cheers mate

side note: i really dont think school footy as a form guide for AFL given how far behind it is. might be on my own here.
Fair point and that is the challenge with the VIC kids this year will be a lot more guess work than previous years, as a prospect though Berry is a mid whether he is a good enough mid at AFL level is debatable I wouldn't be picking him as a forward

With Pick 64/Pick 74 (now about Pick ????) St Kilda selects

If Holmes goes too early and turns out a gun - its all my fault - ever since I nominated him a late pick dark horse his stocks have just kept rising.

yes it will be all your fault.

Also if we draft him and he's a spud. Its your fault.
( Bourkey never showed his face on the board after he oversold Nick Heyne, and we actually drafted him ).

side note: i really dont like school footy as a form guide for AFL given how far behind it is. might be on my own here.

Yeah, the APS particularly is such a limited subset that it's basically useless. There's just no depth at that level. I remember watching games for my APS school 25 years ago and most of the first 18 were just battlers having a bit of fun, they didn't even bother to keep playing footy after school, not even at ammos level.

Admittedly the APS has lifted its level a bit more recently. In my time they had a gentlemen's agreement to not have sporting scholarships, basically not take kids unless they were up to it academically. There were a few "music scholarships" (Goddard at Caulfield IIRC) but it meant there were very few decent APS players through the 1990s.

Nowadays they don't mind plucking a Cyril Rioli or a Zach Merrett or a Jack Ziebell, so the standard is a bit better. Still plenty of muppets though, way different to the under 18s comp.

Months ago. Not much would change it especially this year given the limited vision

Admittedly the APS has lifted its level a bit more recently. In my time they had a gentlemen's agreement to not have sporting scholarships, basically not take kids unless they were up to it academically. There were a few "music scholarships" (Goddard at Caulfield IIRC) but it meant there were very few decent APS players through the 1990s.
I think haileybury at least in Berwick flounted those rules ASAP in the 2000's

Some bloke I worked with for at KFC back in highschool was going to get a full ride scholarship until his did his acl, Tom Scully also got a scholarship for being a good footballer and no other reason.

Months ago. Not much would change it especially this year given the limited vision

not according to adelaide

apparently some of the medical stuff came in late so they were waiting on that before having their final list committee. the order may not have changed in months but it had not yet been finalised.

that or they are lying

Oi shhhhhhh !!!! Stop talking about my boy Berry other clubs may find out about him.
giphy.gif

not according to adelaide

apparently some of the medical stuff came in late so they were waiting on that before having their final list committee. the order may not have changed in months but it had not yet been finalised.

that or they are lying
That is why I said not much would change.

Pretty much every club already knows how the first round is going to go.

Yeah, the APS particularly is such a limited subset that it's basically useless. There's just no depth at that level. I remember watching games for my APS school 25 years ago and most of the first 18 were just battlers having a bit of fun, they didn't even bother to keep playing footy after school, not even at ammos level.

Nowadays they don't mind plucking a Cyril Rioli or a Zach Merrett or a Jack Ziebell, so the standard is a bit better. Still plenty of muppets though, way different to the under 18s comp.
cheers mate

Maybe in Perth but most city victorians are taken out of private schools. The standard is excellent.

Great to see you around mate.

Interesting with Archie Perkins. I'm not sure I'd want a kid that dictates to a professional league what he's doing. Strikes me as not ready for it. Buyer beware.
Australian kids aren't like American kids that know they'll move interstate for college after high school. The draft is a burden here. Big cultural difference about a draft system between the two countries.