List Mgmt. 2020 Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Live Draft Tracker
Take a boom or bust Victorian, which we did, thats perfect. Lets go!

Could be amazing, could be a nobody, literally nobody knows. But we got a ticket in the raffle.

So a bit like "The Next Buddy " White..... lets hope we get a winner this time.

PS No one mention Howard.

Settle guys, lets just see what we end up with at nights end.

Lets be frank, nobody has a clue about a lot of these players, and our drafters/recruiters have the runs on the board.
We have seen enough times over the years the supposed safe pick in the top 15 being a bust. There’s no such thing as a sure thing at draft time. Sometimes I think picking a name out of a hat might get just as good results.

194 cm potential wingmen could be devastating hopefully he is a footballer and not just athlete

were those same players ranked lower than your last placed rookie? because thats the reality on mayo, he was a mid season selection as a 19 year old. extreme roughy.

are you arguing that mayo is a better prospect than who we just drafted at pick 26?
I'm saying we had a player already on the list at his position with plenty of upside given he's only 19. You were big on Mayo when we picked him up, have you just changed your tune recently or what?

You've also been critical of our draft selections over the last few years - anything changed?

Yet apparently you know more the people at the club whos job it is to draft these young men. The club wants help for King. The list needs talls, not mids.
So we cant have an opinion that goes against everything the club and the recruiters does is amazing. Got it.

If there is no vision on him and all the specialist draft media people can do is note the player has a double barrel name, then questioning his selection in the first round is absolutely warranted.

The list needs highly talented players no matter the position. We said today we would go best available. On all available evidence from every draft resource available, I would confidently say this guy was not actually the best available at our pick.

I would have picked a mid but I reckon the club probably know 100 times more than me about the players in the draft and what we need in our side. Make that 200 times and the same as every single person here. It’s certainly not a mistake for at least 3 years

More I read the happier I am with the pick.
Increased his odds late, a number of clubs interested and touted to go 20-30 in several phantoms.
Great endurance, speed, and overhead marking.

Probably a perfect match of recruiting for need and seeing potential in the kid expected to go around our pick.
Good luck to the lad

What does that matter if he wouldn't have been picked until the 50's and we have a pick around there?
something that we will now never know. in a lottery of a draft where they didn't play a season it's a crap shoot. even more than usual. recruiting is about projecting to the future. Best of luck to a young bloke that's had one of the toughest years since the draft started. At least he was drafted to a destination club 😉

Rekon ol mate Highlander McLeod end up our CHB in a couple of seasons.

Speed, agility, endurance, reading the play, marking...

Just reads like a Brian Lake/Jeremy McGovern "junior forward turns AFL defender" story.

This forum is making me feel like it's 2006 and we've just called out Brad Howard

I'm saying we had a player already on the list at his position with plenty of upside given he's only 19. You were big on Mayo when we picked him up, have you just changed your tune recently or what?

You've also been critical of our draft selections over the last few years - anything changed?

he just did his ACL. Mayo whilst showing some signs for Sandy, hadn't yet shown he could play on the wing. so he was still only a CHF. the club would know him inside and out.

it's going to be a long long way back for him and tbh i think the best place for him is at his original WAFL club. i think it's going to take him 2-3 years of consistent footy to have another crack at AFL. there's no way a club can wait 2-3 years for him to develop. the landscape of the AFL has changed.

i'm a fan of Mayo and watched him play colts, but i'm not delusional to the point of suggestion that Mayo is a better prospect than a kid who's ranked at Pick 26.

do you really think Mayo is rated higher than pick 26 in this draft?

More I read the happier I am with the pick.
Increased his odds late, a number of clubs interested and touted to go 20-30 in several phantoms.
Great endurance, speed, and overhead marking.

Probably a perfect match of recruiting for need and seeing potential in the kid expected to go around our pick.
Good luck to the lad

stoked with it and would have been stoked with whomever we selected

Soooo.... he's Josh Battle? Maybe?

Came here to say the same thing. Looks to be a similar type.

The club likely have the confidence that he would’ve bolted up the order, had this season gone ahead. I liken the Vic kids to those younger types who just sneak in for draft eligibility. Players like Stuv or Battle, himself, who were drafted mid-late whilst still at high school. If they had have played another season, they would’ve been selected much earlier, with more exposed form.

I quite like this pick. Almost all our forwards are best 22. The next best to slot in as a KPF are McKernan and Alabakis. Bell, Mayo, Marsh, Abbott all gone this season. We don’t need one to play immediately, and he could develop into quite the player with his skill set - imagine 2 Battles.

Taking a mid would be nice, but there’s a bit of a logjam for playing time with Crouch added, Clark looking for more mid time, some added rotations from Higgins, and a need to develop Bytel and Byrnes. Don’t mind waiting a season before drafting another, especially if we intend to target a developed one via trade or FA next year.

Happy to trust the club on this one, had more hits than misses over the past few years!

Also will this draft still be going in 24 hours! Bloody hell what a boring drawn out experience.