2020 Finished.

2020 not over, but It'd be nice if we had just one year without huge injuries to key players.

How come Richmond and Brisbane can get through entire years with only a handful of injuries?
I assume you're seeking an alternative answer to luck. And Richmond had plenty of injuries early last year, and their performance dipped as a result. I guess they have better staff than us that only allow injuries to only happen in the first half of the year or something, I dunno.

A lot of talk about lacking a KPF, I don't get this mantra. We aren't a side that is heavily reliant on a KPF provided we play our game plan. Certainly not like gws and wc.

Suffocate the opposition, outrun to have receivers on the outside, that gives us transition and that's why we had 14 I50's last night in the last.

It's poor kicking for goal that lost us the game, not a lack of a KPF.

Fair dinkum the absolute gloom and doom is totally unwarranted. There is so much upside for this team, yes we're spluttering in 2nd gear and yet we almost - and should've - knocked off the grand finalist < let that sink in, the grand finalist. On their home deck no less.

If anything you all know how glass half empty about our flag chances than most. Other posters who have an even more pessimistic view, well that's saying something!

Yes Howe is an important cog and won't be replaced by the same potential, Howe is not our whole back 6 though is he.

But this team, is a system based team, we play fundamentals with a plethora of versatile types that can rotate through a lot of positions. We are spoilt for choice that way - probably more so than just about any other team, because of the way we (should) play.

If it was the Gov at wc or Davis at gws then ok, that'd be worrying. But it's not it's one man out a very solid back 6 or 7 because we're disciplined. When we get going we're going to be hard to stop.

I assume you're seeking an alternative answer to luck. And Richmond had plenty of injuries early last year, and their performance dipped as a result. I guess they have better staff than us that only allow injuries to only happen in the first half of the year or something, I dunno.

There's no luck about the amount of repetitive soft tissue injuries we have.

Adams reinjured himself, Treloar has had on-going soft tissue injuries, Moore has had re-occurring hammies, Reid has had 8 years of it, Elliot constant hamstring issues, Marsh constant issues, Freeman constant issues, Wells constant issues, Young, Sinclair the list goes on and on.

Only a fool would put our injury toll down to "luck". Look at how many soft tissue injuries Richmond and Brisbane have had over the past 3 years. Half as much as us? a third?... Guess it's all luck ay.

Not convinced about our form this season, second halves have been horrendous and the forward line looking very fragile.
This is just my opinion but I think we have 2 more chances with this group for a premiership 2020/21. We will be losing Pendlebury and Sidey soon as age and form start to catch up. We desperately need a key forward and can’t see us getting one in the near future so unless this group gets it done it will be another decade or more. Reason is lack of early top draft picks coming through. We’ll probably make finals with the list we have but some good trades/recruiting to make the last game of the season.

Not convinced about our form this season, second halves have been horrendous and the forward line looking very fragile.
This is just my opinion but I think we have 2 more chances with this group for a premiership 2020/21. We will be losing Pendlebury and Sidey soon as age and form start to catch up. We desperately need a key forward and can’t see us getting one in the near future so unless this group gets it done it will be another decade or more. Reason is lack of early top draft picks coming through. We’ll probably make finals with the list we have but some good trades/recruiting to make the last game of the season.
We have a key forward developing, just will take a little time.

Agreed. Same old same in clutch matches.
The only reason you survive on this board is through the kindness of Collingwood people. What other board would accept a poster who’s only purpose is to bag the team?

I am a Collingwood supporter who is blogging at the pleasure of the Moderators not you dear fellow. But I do enjoy our little tete a tetes. I I hope you do too.

I’m very confident you hate Collingwood. It’s clear for all to see.

We where Dominated much of the Game by GWS

Um no TD, it was pretty even in all the important stats, we had 11 extra I50's - 14 in the last, more marks I50, more tackles I50. We had em on toast even when they threw everything at us while we were spluttering in 2nd gear. The potential of this team is very high.

We didn't convert where we should've - poor kicking at goal will not continue week in week out. < The only thing that lost it for us.

Have some faith mate.

GWS be Flag Favorites Now

Long way to go in this season before we start making those predictions. If you were looking at form season to date then you'd be penciling in a Port v Bears GF after the Suns and Hawks were squeezed out in the PF. We haven't even come close to hitting our straps yet. Neither has Richmond, WCE's or GWS.

This is one of the most talented Pies sides I have seen, in terms of overall foot skills, the best. But they will never flag IMO as long as they are coached by Buckley under the McGuire presidency. Put simply, we lack the killer instinct, the club is too nice, too focused on non footy matters and has lost its way.

Watching the players smile and laugh with GWS players post game made me sick. Yeah I am old school but every flag side has that ruthless edge to them, the Pies under Buckely simply do not.

2020 certainly isn’t finished.This season is wide open and we’ve got as much chance of winning it as anyone.But I do feel we need some hard nuts like Varcoe and Greenwood back in this side.Neither of these
players played in our two narrow losses against GWS and I believe the results would have been different if they had
played.They’re just the sort of players you need in really tight tough contests,especially in finals.

2020 Finished.