Discussion 2020 General AFL Discussion

North setting their new coach up for failure

I believe that expectation was also conveyed to Banger at the interview.

ZHQlNIb.jpg

We probably can’t be pointing fingers with the very recent, public revelations about our (lack of) any contact with Robbie Muir.

But hopefully we have learnt a very good lesson from this, and hopefully the Doggies too will reach out to Cooney.

I know that I would like Dal, Stuv and BJ and any other past players to be welcomed back to the club at any time.
look the Robbie Muir situation was an error and not excusing it but i think as a club we improved this part of our club a while back , we used to have the past players ran by a past player who was doing it occasionally and working of an outdated contact list with a budget of nothing.. not for lack of trying unfortunatly many slipped throught the cracks , we fixed that and have club employees facilitating itnow the contact list is better and there is a bit of spending allowed on this part .. unfortunatly Robbie fell through that crack being an older former player i think it served as a bit of a wake up call that although we are a long way advanced in that area we still have ground to make up and lost contacts to reconnect with

I ran into Justin Peckett a few couple of years back and he was off to an ex player catch up. They must do them either club organised or not.

yeah i think there are a few groups that get together mainly guys who played together but the club also did hold past player events pre-COVID..
i also know that us interstate supporter groups do our best to make sure the past players are invited to all our functions ... here in the West we are lucky to have a few guys here who really get a kick out coming to our events and hanging out with the fans.. guys like George Young Both the Seirra's , Daniel Wulf , Craig Callaghan, Phil Cronan and of course Verdun Howell these guys have been to a number of my groups functions over the years and they have had a fantastic time .. especially Verdun he loves getting out and meeting Saints people and the respect our fans show him is fantastic ...

talking to the younger Seirra not that long ago he told me that when players first retire they kinda give footy away and dont really want to be associated with that kind of stuff but then they reach a point in life where they want their kids to see what they had done and the have that desire to be drawn back into the club and its fans ...

i read somewhere on the saints site a while back about past players catch ups. so it does happen and there was a dedicated staff member looking out for past players.

I'm not sure who it is but we have a few guys employed like Alan Murray and Tony Brown who are ex players and probably the best types to keep the past players together.

That doesn't explain the **** up with the indigineous action plan though which was quite recent

I'm not sure who it is but we have a few guys employed like Alan Murray and Tony Brown who are ex players and probably the best types to keep the past players together.
Browny is player welfare i think he is more linked to the current players ... i dont know now as the covid shake up and everything but there was one person in who looked after the past players and i believe she had a few former players who also helped out with coordinating things with the past players

That doesn't explain the fu** up with the indigineous action plan though which was quite recent
we are talking about past player contact here though if you want to talk about the indig action plan then fine but thats a differant topic...
the club openly admitted that firstly the treament Robbie got as a player was unacceptable
the club admitted that the treatment of Robbie after he retired was not acceptable
the club admitted that they need to be better at supporting and working with its "forgotten" former players.

the club has over 600 players who have played atleast 1 game for us since 1960 spread all across the world its not a simple exercise to be across every player and their situations, we are getting better at this side of things and if you talk to most former players they will say in the last couple of years the contact and outreach from the club has been much much improved.. we still have some ways to go. We still have some ugly history that we need to acknowledge and make right and im sure there are things that happened in our past that many people dont even know or remember happening that is pivotal in other peoples life and time at our club ...
the positive thing is that the club when made aware of these issues and wrongs from the past they go about righting them in a respectful way.

It wouldn’t hurt the AFL themselves to step up a bit either.
Imagine the squad members who don’t get to play in premiership winning sides.
They could at least have 3 tiers of medals or rings for those that played in the winning gf those who played home and away games but not the gf and those who were in the squad but didn’t play. At least they’d have something to remember it by and being a team sport they’ve all had input to the success.
The AFL can afford massive junkets for themselves, maybe share the love a bit with the players.

It wouldn’t hurt the AFL themselves to step up a bit either.
Imagine the squad members who don’t get to play in premiership winning sides.
They could at least have 3 tiers of medals or rings for those that played in the winning gf those who played home and away games but not the gf and those who were in the squad but didn’t play. At least they’d have something to remember it by and being a team sport they’ve all had input to the success.
The AFL can afford massive junkets for themselves, maybe share the love a bit with the players.

One thing that NFL teams do really well. Every guy on the roster gets a ring and is part of the team photo.

I believe the Hawks did this during their 3-peat.

Clarko made a highlight in one of his speeches that even though some of these guys didn't play seniors they still had an impact. It could have been something as small as a word of encouragement or a training/diet tip that helps someone in the 22 on GF Day push that 1% harder and get the win.

alot of players have gone

Carlton has some interesting retirements, Finbar O'Kade Simpson, Goddard delisted twice, they were starting to get drunk by that stage.

yeah i think there are a few groups that get together mainly guys who played together but the club also did hold past player events pre-COVID..
i also know that us interstate supporter groups do our best to make sure the past players are invited to all our functions ... here in the West we are lucky to have a few guys here who really get a kick out coming to our events and hanging out with the fans.. guys like George Young Both the Seirra's , Daniel Wulf , Craig Callaghan, Phil Cronan and of course Verdun Howell these guys have been to a number of my groups functions over the years and they have had a fantastic time .. especially Verdun he loves getting out and meeting Saints people and the respect our fans show him is fantastic ...

talking to the younger Seirra not that long ago he told me that when players first retire they kinda give footy away and dont really want to be associated with that kind of stuff but then they reach a point in life where they want their kids to see what they had done and the have that desire to be drawn back into the club and its fans ...
God bless Verdun. Hear he's not been that well. Lovely fella. Doubt I will ever meet him again.

In the 80's when I lived in Perth I went to a couple of Saints WA functions organised by the great Lew Mutch. Cowboy was at one one of them. The Doc and his assistant Allan Davis were meant to be at one but never showed. This was a Saturday morning after we'd been belted by the Eagles the night before at the WACA. They were meant to be watching a potential recruit. Not sure who was playing that early! I ended up with Frank Coughlan's jumper at that function. No 15. Had it for years, but the Mrs made me get rid of it in a moving chuck out.

The link below is a fascinating read. A short summary is talking about the young people today who are not dyed in the wool fans. I liked the comparison between the sporting teams owner’s children. The oldest boy going to college wanted a tv and a subscription while the younger girl wanted a tablet for streaming.
‘I have read supporters in the past who have said that Maddie’s Match and our Pride games as being distractions. They might be the key to getting young people involved in supporting St Kilda. As a baby boomer I know that I enjoy the videos the club puts out...even a picture of three of our Saints fishing in the Northern Territory.
we may need a dedicated media team that can put out digital content to attract the younger generation

The link below is a fascinating read. A short summary is talking about the young people today who are not dyed in the wool fans. I liked the comparison between the sporting teams owner’s children. The oldest boy going to college wanted a tv and a subscription while the younger girl wanted a tablet for streaming.
‘I have read supporters in the past who have said that Maddie’s Match and our Pride games as being distractions. They might be the key to getting young people involved in supporting St Kilda. As a baby boomer I know that I enjoy the videos the club puts out...even a picture of three of our Saints fishing in the Northern Territory.
we may need a dedicated media team that can put out digital content to attract the younger generation

I've done my free articles for the month, but I think there is a danger with losing the loyalty to players. I know from watching soccer there is much less passion for the club and game due to the transient line ups. Often a bulk of the players are gone every couple of seasons and you learn not to get attached. FA is more likely to kill footy than anything. Riewoldt stayed for the romance of one club but this newer generation seem to want instant premierships or to be playing immediately.

Fascinating stuff. I certainly see this connectivity issue playing out within my own household, with one interesting layer.

My wife’s children are gamers. They participate in some actual sport, but without the zeal to play in the big league or even be their best. They do it because friends are doing it and it is a means to preserving their social dynamic.

My children, born in Fiji, are also gamers. But they are eager to adopt an Australian sporting team in various codes and follow them, without ever watching whole games either live or on television. But staying abreast of results and significant moments forms part of their subconscious strategy to assimilate into Australian society and become accepted. It certainly allows them to participate in water cooler talk with friends and colleagues.

The AFL has a significant advantage in its uniqueness as a sport and its cultural importance. I think Australians will always support it. I do think the product will need to change in ways that will grate with its current traditional fan base if it is going to keep the attention of younger fans.

Don’t underestimate the power of fantasy football and even tipping competitions as a mechanism for creating connection where it would not normally be. I’m not sure what the AFL gaming experience is like other than to say it has not permeated into the lives of the young adults in my household, so I’m guessing it’s pretty shite.

Out of competition media just as important to people who don’t spectate the sport too. So things like trade period will continue to rise in its popularity.

Also this is where creative, expressive players like Jack Higgins and Matty Parker have real power in their ability to generate marketable media moments that can be quickly uploaded to social media with a quirky caption.

God bless Verdun. Hear he's not been that well. Lovely fella. Doubt I will ever meet him again.

In the 80's when I lived in Perth I went to a couple of Saints WA functions organised by the great Lew Mutch. Cowboy was at one one of them. The Doc and his assistant Allan Davis were meant to be at one but never showed. This was a Saturday morning after we'd been belted by the Eagles the night before at the WACA. They were meant to be watching a potential recruit. Not sure who was playing that early! I ended up with Frank Coughlan's jumper at that function. No 15. Had it for years, but the Mrs made me get rid of it in a moving chuck out.
i think Verdun is going ok now ... one of my committee members lives next door to the home that he and his lovely wife are in ... he really is one of the nicest fellas you will encounter ... one of my favourite memories came last year (2019) when we played Carlton late in the season ... we had a combined function with the WA blues supporter group .. The Carlton group informed me a few days out they had secured a special guest for the function with Sid Jackson coming with them , well not to be out done i hit the phones and wrangled George Young and Verdun to come to represent the saints .. was a great function and i was lucky enough to have some time sitting between George and Verdun as we watched the game ... at one point in the game Josh Bruce in his typical fashion took a strong mark and lined up for goal from dead in front 20m out only to spray the kick and miss the un-missable , George Young then proclaims to us that if he was playing that would never have missed then without missing a beat Verdun pipes up "Georgie if i was playing on you, you wouldnt have taken the mark.." George killed himself laughing admitting yeah your prob right mate ....

Best moment ever :)

i think Verdun is going ok now ... one of my committee members lives next door to the home that he and his lovely wife are in ... he really is one of the nicest fellas you will encounter ... one of my favourite memories came last year (2019) when we played Carlton late in the season ... we had a combined function with the WA blues supporter group .. The Carlton group informed me a few days out they had secured a special guest for the function with Sid Jackson coming with them , well not to be out done i hit the phones and wrangled George Young and Verdun to come to represent the saints .. was a great function and i was lucky enough to have some time sitting between George and Verdun as we watched the game ... at one point in the game Josh Bruce in his typical fashion took a strong mark and lined up for goal from dead in front 20m out only to spray the kick and miss the un-missable , George Young then proclaims to us that if he was playing that would never have missed then without missing a beat Verdun pipes up "Georgie if i was playing on you, you wouldnt have taken the mark.." George killed himself laughing admitting yeah your prob right mate ....

Best moment ever :)
Brilliant! They were both right in a way. Glad to hear Verdun is going ok.

Is Lew Mutch still going? Used to tell some great Saints stories.

Brilliant! They were both right in a way. Glad to hear Verdun is going ok.

Is Lew Mutch still going? Used to tell some great Saints stories.
he is still around ... he doenst come to any saints functions now days, since he stepped down from running the Western Saints i reckon ive seen him maybe twice .. but i do have contact with his daughters who tell me he is going fine ...