List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

BlueJet

Aug 16, 2009
North Ballarat
Crocker is rubbish did sweet stuff all at Collingwood or Adelaide vfl specialist.
Rubbish probably isn't a fair description tbh.
What is it exactly that you don't rate about his game?
If nothing else, he's positioning himself as best as he can to give it a real crack, which I certainly respect.

Dec 18, 2005
Barstow, Cal14nia
GAVROI MOUNIA... GAMW TON PIRAEA
Port throwing all sorts of crazy money at Merrett to sway him.

Will make him the highest paid player on their list by a long way, and one of the highest paid in the comp for the next two years.

In the event that he doesn’t stay loyal to Essendon, that deal will take some beating.

It’s strange that these types of conversations are now happening even before the season starts - scary path we are heading down.

Nov 13, 2015
In Transit

Will make him the highest paid player on their list by a long way, and one of the highest paid in the comp for the next two years.

In the event that he doesn’t stay loyal to Essendon, that deal will take some beating.

It’s strange that these types of conversations are now happening even before the season starts - scary path we are heading down.

Players have been identified/targetted a long way out, for some time now, especially with the introduction of FA

Aug 30, 2017
Can Honey go on the wings?
Maybe with some soy, but I'm not a huge fan, particularly when it's the pre-marinated garbage.

Give me a good dry rub (Kosmos Q 'Dirty Bird') cooked in the weber with high indirect heat or the classic buttermilk deep fried with buffalo sauce (plus blue cheese sauce & a couple of sticks of celery).

May 1, 2016
Rubbish probably isn't a fair description tbh.
What is it exactly that you don't rate about his game?
If nothing else, he's positioning himself as best as he can to give it a real crack, which I certainly respect.
He's a tweener. Gets into good positions at VFL level, but at AFL level he's that bit too slow, too small and not evasive enough. Think, a small forward version of Nick Graham.

May 1, 2016

I suppose it becomes a matter of where instead of what, then. Does he want to stay in Melbourne, or is the difference between the various offers he's going to get worth changing cities, or does it matter to him at all?

We'll see, I guess. Only thing is, I'm not sure - beyond needing good players the way all clubs need good players - that Merrett's a need for Port. Don't they have Rozee, Butters, Duursma, all of whom play that midfielder/forward role already in the ones to a terrific extent? They swoop on Merrett, does one of them sit out?

BlueJet

Aug 16, 2009
North Ballarat
He's a tweener. Gets into good positions at VFL level, but at AFL level he's that bit too slow, too small and not evasive enough. Think, a small forward version of Nick Graham.
Thanks mate - I am quite familiar with him as a player & was interested in the Blues picking him up prior to his stint with the Pies.
I was just wanting the other poster to expand on his comments as I find "he's a spud" or outright referring to a player as rubbish to be a shitful appraisal.
My preference is that the club picks up McDonald but whoever ends up on the list will have earned their place and as such I will support them.

Dec 18, 2005
Barstow, Cal14nia
GAVROI MOUNIA... GAMW TON PIRAEA
This team should take a chance on Jimmy Toumpas.

His pedigree and background alone should make it an easy choice.

300 of his family members once held off an incoming Persian army at Thermopylae.

Admittedly, this all took place in 480BC which was before the AFL changed the interchange cap.

Milshouse

Sep 5, 2020
Vfl side hmmmm
B ? Mcdonald ramsay
HB Parks ? cotrell
C Philp kennedy obrien
FOL ? Dow stocker
HF Fogarty ? durdin
F Honey ? owies

BigFrizz36

Mar 20, 2017
He's had a fair bit on his plate throughout his career which with the death of his father might have eased a bit. Probably not the answer but good luck to him if he can get on our list.

BigFrizz36

Mar 20, 2017
This team should take a chance on Jimmy Toumpas.

His pedigree and background alone should make it an easy choice.

300 of his family members once held off an incoming Persian army at Thermopylae.

Admittedly, this all took place in 480BC which was before the AFL changed the interchange cap.
Was thus about the time that Lazarus made his comeback? Reckon the toumpas one is less likely.

Nov 4, 2003
Earth, near Carlton.
Tottenham Hotspur
He's a smart forward who is quick in a straight line, strong in his contested work and has a mean kick and sidestep. He could probably do some damage at stoppages too, so I see him as an upgrade on Kennedy for the most part.

jezzatigerbrent

Aug 16, 2009
I wonder whether Waterman can be pinched ...like some team finishing below Essendon just names him...or does Essendon have 1st dibs.. I doubt whether he signed the contract as yet..i'd be great to serve Dodo some sh*t back 4 mucking around so many other teams at trade time

The SSP period has no connection to last year's ladder.

If they haven't been training with us, it's fair to say they won't be considered for selection.

The Bighouse

Jun 28, 2009

I haven’t watched the praccy match yet, but assume he went alright?
Had a really good WAFL season and looked like a good selection for the train on period.

Bokan

Dec 21, 2015
Reminds me of a Tory Dickson type
Certainly had the same accuracy yesterday

On CPH1877 using BigFooty.com mobile app

BuxbaumBixby

Apr 1, 2010
I still think a wingman is a massive need. Walsh is too good to play there and all the other options seem to be not top end talent or have fairly big holes in their game to play there, mostly running ability. LOB is the one obvious hope but outside of that it’s slim pickings imo

I'd love to get a top level coach's view on the importance of the wing position as the game has transitioned from 1-1 to zones, possession and field position.

My theory - I reckon it's a role that's gone from lower priority in a team to an absolute key specialist role in successful sides.

Walsh is one outlier of a player on so many levels - but I reckon wing is one of those positions that now needs serious footy IQ - matched with serious athletic ability - something I just don't think you get from most guys who've only been in the system for a couple of years.

I'd be very tempted get Martin, Walsh and Newnes spending equal times on our wings. Willo could end up there - but I reckon he plays half-back for a couple more years to really learn his craft.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain

Apr 20, 2006
I'd love to get a top level coach's view on the importance of the wing position as the game has transitioned from 1-1 to zones, possession and field position.

My theory - I reckon it's a role that's gone from lower priority in a team to an absolute key specialist role in successful sides.

Walsh is one outlier of a player on so many levels - but I reckon wing is one of those positions that now needs serious footy IQ - matched with serious athletic ability - something I just don't think you get from most guys who've only been in the system for a couple of years.

I'd be very tempted get Martin, Walsh and Newnes spending equal times on our wings. Willo could end up there - but I reckon he plays half-back for a couple more years to really learn his craft.
I think it comes down a lot to a sides game plan.
Someone like Richmond have a very limited player like mcIntosh being a very important player simply because his role requires being a great athlete and not a lot of skill needed. I think the types we play there will be entirely dependent on our game style. We might need skilful players there if we require our wings to hit up forwards which Richmond don’t. Setterfield looked good there yesterday but who knows he might be lined against Hill next week and be forced wider and get burnt up and down the ground. Other weeks he might play a more contested/congested game which will suit him to a tee.