List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

GWS have shot themselves in the foot and i love it. His heart isn't in Sydney and the captaincy doesn't sit well with him. 2 big mistakes have left them and now him vulnerable.
He wouldn’t be the first player to struggle in there first year as a stand alone captain and I dare say he won’t be the last, he will be fine next year.

Another one that would be very nice to get hold of but is contracted to 2022 is Lachie Sholl, I suspect Adelaide pulled the trigger on Sholl at pick 64 in the 2018 draft because they knew we had a pick at 66 and probably would have taken him, instead we took Finbar.

Would be the perfect addition to Walsh on the other wing with his elite foot skills on both sides of his body and his fantastic work ethic to get better, the fact he is the son of a former player doesn’t hurt either, this kid is everything our Lachie on the wing should be but isn’t for whatever reason.

Will be very interesting to see who lines up on Sholl this week will it be Walsh or will we give Cottrell the chance to really step up and beat a player of similar age, would love to see Cotts get the job and try and negate Sholls elite ball use while also trying to hurt him the other way, if Cotts can learn some composure and how to use space better I think he could really become a player, let’s see how he goes.
I've not seen any of Sholl that I can recall, so I had a look and his stats aren't too impressive.

What have you seen that caught your eye?

From left field, but if GWS miss the finals, there may be some stars who all of a sudden get home sick..

If we are after a small forward, why not ask the question of Toby Greene, he has been injury proned but IMO he is in the top 5 players in the comp and i would throw the kitchen sink to get him in Navy Blue.
If I could have any player from gws it would 100% be Toby Greene one of the most influential players in the comp

For us? Hard to argue.
These sorts of players make a difference on multiple fronts.

We can look at stats alone but the Greene and Papley types add something that many others don't have......and when I see Butlers name get put against Papleys....well....best not say.

We don't need seagulls. Impact players only, thank you Austin and co

We've got picks to trade to bring in players.
There is absolutely no need to trade out our young talent.
Dow is 20 years old ffs most of the up and coming mids, like Setters, are 22 before they are playing consistent AFL footy and 24 before becoming really good players, another pre season of hard work on his running and running patterns and a simplification of his core responsibilities and we will see a 21 year old Dow that could well be ahead of the curve, and before people mention Cerra and Brayshaw we will see where they are at compared to Dow at the end of next year after an injury free pre season and a good run into next year.

For us? Hard to argue.
These sorts of players make a difference on multiple fronts.

We can look at stats alone but the Greene and Papley types add something that many others don't have......and when I see Butlers name get put against Papleys....well....best not say.

We don't need seagulls. Impact players only, thank you Austin and co
If I could take anyone from them for our team it would be Whitfield all day long and twice on Sunday, he is exactly what we need.

I can see the logic in 2MP. Would be a good replacement for Casboult.

Not sure about Brodie despite his talent. He'd be playing the same role as Cripps and Setterfield. We've also got Kemp, Stocker, Dow and Kennedy who aren't getting regular games too.

Outside run should be the priority IMO :)
Yep we are past the need for a Brodie and there are much better options around than 2MP, Ladhams for one who is stuck behind Lycett who just signed a 5 year deal.

Dow is 20 years old ffs most of the up and coming mids, like Setters, are 22 before they are playing consistent AFL footy and 24 before becoming really good players, another pre season of hard work on his running and running patterns and a simplification of his core responsibilities and we will see a 21 year old Dow that could well be ahead of the curve, and before people mention Cerra and Brayshaw we will see where they are at compared to Dow at the end of next year after an injury free pre season and a good run into next year.

So that Kouta guy not much chop two years in the rezzies and only 14 games in the seniors by 20 yo

let’s cut him

On ability no question.

However, he's got some serious legal risks attached to him and reputational risk for us if found guilty. Dont want to pay him the big bucks while he's doing time.
Not a chance in hell Carlton goes anywhere near DeGoey one of our biggest platforms is Carlton Respects so yeah no chance, does he have talent?absolutely he has heaps and could be up there as one of the best at what he does, but he is Collingwood material enough said.

Plenty of top 10’s haven’t cut the mustard. Not saying Dow won’t yet but he’ll need to show substantial improvement whether he’s 20 years old or not next year, we won’t keep him on the list until he’s 22 or 23 if he doesn’t find another gear or show he’s capable of it

I don’t get this at all. You can add Stocker to the ‘condemned list’. All are high end draft picks. All are in their 2nd/3rd/4th year. We must trust in our development program.

It’s Powers first year at the club. We’ve invested heavily in him. Maybe he’s working on the weaknesses we see and probably don’t see. Patience..
This is a point I’ve made several times in the past, our rebuild wasn’t just our list but our whole club from boot studder to CEO, the point being our development program has been rebuilt during this time as well and is only now, that we have gotten Power and O’Keefe, that we are really concentrating on development and that we will really start to see the results that more experienced clubs get from there young players, people need to remember this when judging our results up until now, you don’t become a greAt club overnight it takes time and patience to get the right people in the right positions before you can get the results we want.

I personally wouldnt trade him but if he insisted he wanted to leave and wanted a trade whilst it might sound strange due to him being drafted at #53 i would be asking a pick between #20-#25. He is certainly best 22 at Richmond and would have been an automatic selection in his 2nd premiership had he not done his shoulder in the Prelim.

The thing that distorts his value is the role he plays at Richmond being a defensive mid rather than a ball hunting midfielder but i think in another team with a different game plan he would be a mid that could get 20+ touches every game and does kick goals when he goes foward.
Which is exactly what I’m counting on, would happily give you our second rounder for him or try to upgrade it if necessary as he has all the attributes we need probably more so than anyone, as I said in my earlier post I believe he is a hybrid between Ed and Murphy with all of Ed’s defensive capabilities and the potential and ability to be an offensive weapon as well like Murphy, therefore he fits 2 long term needs for us in the one player which in my mind makes him what should be our no 1 priority.😁👍

If I am Peter Wright and see myself as a Fwd that can ruck, there is no chance i am coming to a side that already has Harry Mckay and Charlie Curnow.. He needs to find a club where he will play and get opportunities and we are not that club..
Essington post Daniher. Imagine the floggings he would get from supporters of *

Yep we are past the need for a Brodie and there are much better options around than 2MP, Ladhams for one who is stuck behind Lycett who just signed a 5 year deal.

Ladhams isn't behind Lycett. He was playing seniors and playing very well, then decided to host a house party despite Covid restrictions and copped a 5(?) game suspension.

I've not seen any of Sholl that I can recall, so I had a look and his stats aren't too impressive.

What have you seen that caught your eye?
His games this year have been very good and his disposal by foot is exceptional, also have followed his development at Adelaide because I liked him for us in ‘18 and he is the son of an ex player, has a reputation as being a really hard worker that does all the extras he can to get better, just a really good young kid with attributes that are what we need, have a look at him this weekend when we play Adelaide he’s a ripper. People at Adelaide reckon he could be the best kick ever and that’s people that knew one DJarman. Has just shown glimpses of what he could be at this stage but I like him.

Ladhams isn't behind Lycett. He was playing seniors and playing very well, then decided to host a house party despite Covid restrictions and copped a 5(?) game suspension.
They’ve actually been playing both but with Lycett as the no1 ruck and Ladhams playing more forward, Lycett is there first choice ruckman and as I said they gave him a 5 year deal, been rumblings about Ladhams being possibly gettable.

You misunderstand by comment, mate. I noted that Dow's value is far from a first rounder but I probably (and many others) wouldn't want to lose Papley in a deal.

If Swans said "Dow for Papley" on the face of it, we make out like bandits taking into consideration current market value. On that I agree.

My point was more around losing Dow in lieu of Papley. Do I think any straight swap would be remotely on the table? No way. Is it skewed in our favour heavily? Probably. But I'd still feel uneasy about it. That's my personal opinion.

Sure I can agree on that...dow could still become a gun mid so its a risk trading him.

If we get papley it will get done with draft picks as most trades do eg kelly, gibbs, shiel, neale, treloar etc

They’ve actually been playing both but with Lycett as the no1 ruck and Ladhams playing more forward, Lycett is there first choice ruckman and as I said they gave him a 5 year deal, been rumblings about Ladhams being possibly gettable.

Fair call. I don't see it though. He's getting a game at a premiership fancy, and you'd think they'd be keen to implement a gradual transition from Lycett to Ladhams, especially given both are passable second forwards.

SA born and raised too.

That the prevailing justification for keeping Dow is him being 20, rather than demonstrated form, says a lot.

In 3 years I cannot recall an instance of Dow using his burst of speed to chase down and tackle the opposition. There is no excuse, age or otherwise, for there not to be numerous examples. That is why I'm confident Dow is not worth holding onto, irrespective of him being able to carve out a career.