List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

I couldn't agree more mate,
at present Willo is playing a more defensive role than he's used to so hopefully he can grow into it.
The last 2 weeks I think Willo has looked a lot better and has been more attacking and really starting to trust his beautiful left foot kick again, if he can continue in that vein it makes us a much better team and frees up Doc a lot more as well. Some of the 40 metre low hard kicks he does are just game changers.

Dow looks like he'll be one of the long term, Jordan Russell like, development jobs. He'll have to work it out himself at some stage, can't rely on the club to go full time Mother Duck.

Think that's a bit unfair, Murph. You're putting words in people's mouth.
To some extent your probably right Geth I’m just tired of the same old rigmarole after every game regarding Murphy and Ed who have given a lot to this club and are still deserving of there spots, is it Murphy’s fault his body has been smashed from pillar to post from playing for this club as an undersized inside mid from 18 years of age where some hero opposition players thought it was tough to smash into a kids injured shoulder, I’m sure he would be the first to put his hand up if he thought he was holding someone back but the fact is he’s not.

Very surprised and disappointed to not see Setters name in the 22 under 22 squad of 40 has had a much better season than a lot of the players on that list as mids.

Particularly when FOXFOOTY has him rated in the top 10 of most improved players in the AFL.

:think:

To some extent your probably right Geth I’m just tired of the same old rigmarole after every game regarding Murphy and Ed who have given a lot to this club and are still deserving of there spots, is it Murphy’s fault his body has been smashed from pillar to post from playing for this club as an undersized inside mid from 18 years of age where some hero opposition players thought it was tough to smash into a kids injured shoulder, I’m sure he would be the first to put his hand up if he thought he was holding someone back but the fact is he’s not.
People are entitled to their perspective but I'd never thought I'd see the day that our own supporters would be sinking the boot into our players the way that they have been.

Is Murph the player that he was? No
Has he been pivotal in a number of our wins? Yes & for that reason until a SPS, Dow etc warrant selection, he'll continue to get games. (Despite arguments to the contrary, they'd be the ones being gifted games on existing form)
If we must be annoyed, be annoyed at our inability to recruit senior standard footballers that see the older blokes demoted to the periphery of the side.
An example being there's a lot less angst over Kreuzers injury because we're aware of what Pittonet & TDK offer us both now & into the future.

If Plowman picks up Papley tonight, it will be like the Hindenburg disaster “oh the humanity”.

Ideally, smaller defenders like Simpson, Docherty or Williamson should get the job. Plow gets jobs he really shouldn't because others can't do it. He sacrifices his game so that others can look good.

We're not really comparing Dow and Schumacher are we?

Dow was tracking very well until the middle of last season when he was moved out of position and then has had a few injury issues.

I'm giving him more time to recover from that.

I wasn't aware Dow has suggested he is home sick. When did that occur?
And where is he going to not be homesick? He is a few hours car ride away.
It's all nonsense. He is 20. I just hope that the attention he is getting is a motivation and not a confidence killer.

Particularly when FOXFOOTY has him rated in the top 10 of most improved players in the AFL.

:think:
Yeah good article thanks for that Agro, the more I think about his omission the angrier I get, it’s just plain incompetence to not even have him in the 40 man squad, the AFLPA need to have another look at it because it just doesn’t make sense him not being in. 🤬🤬

To be fair it’s been a lean period for a lot of small forwArds, Walters didn’t kick a goal for 5 weeks, Betts wasn’t kicking goals and even Cameron hasn’t been lighting the world on fire.

Walters is averaging 18 disposals a game with shortened quarters.

He's playing further up the ground so his scoreboard impact is not going to be as great.

Cameron has been injured. He's in a similar situation to Cripps. Does anyone here honestly think that Cripps isn't carrying an injury that still allows him to play, but significantly impacts his game day performance?

In an alternate universe, Dow is drafted to GWS at pick 3. Averages 14 and 17 touches in his first two years before being sent forward and then to the two's in the following year as he can't crack the 22. But he has shown glimpses of explosive pace, contested work and a side-step to match. This board is probably pleading to throw our first rounder at him. Grass is always greener.

Understand it has been a poor year, but the injuries haven't helped fitness wise. Needs time to develop and he should either be in the midfield or in the two's, he's not a forward. Would be irresponsible to trade at his lowest value.

The last sentence is the most pertinent

If he’s not top 3 he’d be top 5. I don’t reckon Greene and Walters are the same type anyway. Ryan would have some claims for a spot too.

Still top 10 in the coleman despite doing next to nothing for 2 months. Think you’re underrating him a little bit.

Potentially.

I just have him as an above average player, not elite.

Top 10 in the Coleman doesn't mean anything this year. There's a really tight cluster of players on very similar tallies. Could easily drop to outside the top 20 or so in one round. That's how tight the gap is between 10 and 20 on the list.

I'm sorry but this doesn't wash with me. If he is tired then he needs to build his tank. And he missed an easy target after winning the footy which was just a poor kick

It's about understanding the relationship between symptoms and cause.

One cause can have multiple symptoms.

Example:
Cause: Lack of endurance.
Symptoms: Lack of intensity, lack of repeat efforts, failing to show explosive pace out of packs, poor kicking due to fatigue, poor decision making due to fatigue.

He only recently returned from a pretty serious knee injury, restricting him from match play for a good three months.

The reality is his endurance would have declined during this time, leading to multiple symptoms in his game.

He had no chance in that horrible excuse for a forward line.

Still reckon we should be into him big time. Each week the steak knives coming back get heavier and heavier ...

We will be into him, big time, but what I have been trying to point out all year is cost v output should always be considered

At most, he is worth a pick in the 7-10 range only, any more and we should walk away

We will be into him, big time, but what I have been trying to point out all year is cost v output should always be considered

At most, he is worth a pick in the 7-10 range only, any more and we should walk away
Your 1st pick this year is about the right cost if its possible to get it done.

Last year our first wasn't enough IIRC, and considering his price has only risen unless he really kicks up a stink about leaving I can't see us getting it done for that.
I think last year the Swans probably thought we can hold him and convince his this is the place best for him but if another year and he has the same request the club would need to consider that. Can only ask

3 goals in 7 weeks for a small forward, I ain’t coughing up 2 first rounders for that, even if the media says we must

This years first straight up, no change. Walk away if they demand more...

Reckon it would be pick swaps. No campaigner offers 2 x 1st for a small forward.