Game Day 2020 Preliminary Final vs Port Adelaide, 7.50pm

Agreed, and it's not like we were the standout dominant team in either of the two flag seasons so far. We were just a very, very good team that hit their straps and played great footy when it mattered. In 2018 we were probably the "best" team, but limped to the line a bit.

Who cares, seriously. If we bomb out tonight and miss the finals next year, how amazing were 2017 and 2019? Glad we got those at the very least :)

But this group has plenty to give yet, even if it doesn't necessarily mean flags.

:tigerface: :tigerface: :tigerface:

I've heard Hardwick say a few times that measuring success by premierships is bullshit. Not many other sports do that. We should celebrate our strong win/loss record over a long period, playing fast, exciting football, and standing up in big games - finals or not.

Of course, the premierships are not to be sniffed at. Just not the one and only measure of a powerful football team, IMO.

And 100% agree that we will have plenty to celebrate for years to come. I think we all know what a proper Richmond implosion looks like. There was a little stumble a few times this year, but here we are again, in the prelim.

Oct 14, 2011

Have people watched this? Have the team watched this? The last quarter one...The players and staff need to watch this again to get their heads into the right mindset. We can have this feeling again! We need that belief to never give up!
This should have been uploaded to Pornhub

How have port been the best team all year?
People keep saying it, but I don't get it.

They're currently 3rd fav for the flag, if they were the best team they'd be favorite.

It's on the scoreboard. They've been top of the ladder since Round 1. Doesn't happen often.

Apr 3, 2006
Port Adelaide
Liverpool, Brooklyn Nets
You’re definitely in the minority of opposition supporters that doesn’t hate us. :D
I dont hate Richmond, couple players im not fans of, but you gave us great joy when you beat Adelaide, you've given us a plethora of decent players and taken our slops, and you gave us our most enjoyable win in a final.

Hoping for a good hard contest tonight guys!

Adelaide media focuses on how proud they are of the AFC, even when getting the spoon.
You are never mentioned.
Opposite of Richmond... media hammers us in every way except for the smart guys like Ross Lyon

Jul 16, 2015
Fighting Furies
I've heard Hardwick say a few times that measuring success by premierships is bullshit. Not many other sports do that. We should celebrate our strong win/loss record over a long period, playing fast, exciting football, and standing up in big games - finals or not.

Of course, the premierships are not to be sniffed at. Just not the one and only measure of a powerful football team, IMO.

And 100% agree that we will have plenty to celebrate for years to come. I think we all know what a proper Richmond implosion looks like. There was a little stumble a few times this year, but here we are again, in the prelim.

Yep

This is why i cringe when i hear people say we were s**t for “37 years”

I means, its kinda correct, we were very s**t for a good part of 37 years, but there were also periods we werent s**t. We did alright in the mid 90s, made a prelim in 01, played well in 2013-15.

But because we didn’t win a flag people just ignore that

Tiger71

?????? King of the Micro ??????
Sep 22, 2011
Unpopular opinion, but we aren’t close to the Cats team of 07-11.

Thats fine too, that was a scarily good team and one of those rare team of champions and champion team sides. You dont get sides like that often

I think we are more comparable to the Hawks team of 13-15.

Disagree. The cats and ditto the hawks when they went on their run, had really no competition outside of 4 clubs. We on the other hand have to come up against realistically 8 sides that could win it, so the competition is a lot harder. To be able to do that as consistently as we have, ala we have won more games then anyone else the last 3 years while making 4 PF with 2 GF wins, is right up there.

If we win the GF in a covid year, when interstate clubs have had all the advantages while we have had our team 100 plus days away from home, no home ground advantage, not being able to train at there own club, as well having to win it while beating teams at there home grounds......no club has had that disadvantage and this flag is worth 2 flags for me

Soberian Tiger

Borat's cousin twice removed from village
Jul 25, 2018
Yep

This is why i cringe when i hear people say we were sh*t for “37 years”

I means, its kinda correct, we were very sh*t for a good part of 37 years, but there were also periods we werent sh*t. We did alright in the mid 90s, made a prelim in 01, played well in 2013-15.

But because we didn’t win a flag people just ignore that
There were times when luck didn't go the club's way.

Richo, Brown, Polak, Charles, even Ottens had injuries which ultimately cost the club. Sure, some of the pain, even a lot of it, was self-inflicted but ultimately there were times when the club was a bit stiff. Like the Lockett non-signing.

Frustrating times. Despite the problems, the club did not rival St Kilda for spoons, however.

Tiger71

?????? King of the Micro ??????
Sep 22, 2011
I dont hate Richmond, couple players im not fans of, but you gave us great joy when you beat Adelaide, you've given us a plethora of decent players and taken our slops, and you gave us our most enjoyable win in a final.

We have taken your slops ? Get ****ed mate. Now I know its been 6 years since your last final and it has gone right to your heads but boy oh boy have you all not built this up so bloody high. God I will just piss myself watching your gnashing of teeth if you lose. It was just 7 months ago you blokes had a 200 page thread wanting Ken removed.

In all seriousness I don't get why you think everyone hates Richmond.

You are one of the sides I least dislike.
be honest you only like us because we gave you a tolerable summer in 2017/18.

Same reason I have a soft spot for you guys. your threads in GF week 2017 gave us genuine hope. :) your gameday thread was a ripper.

Have u not seen the media all year?? They been trying to bring us down like no other...

pretty sure Trump will make an announcement soon on how toxic we are
No thats not true. Trump will make an announcement about how good we are.

Ceehook

Oct 3, 2017

yes we seemed to set something up there for a while with trading players
and it was done in a way with dignity for the players and neither club got screwed

every one likes an underdog and after Primus era the club had to do it the hard way

and we we bottomed out after Frawley/Wallace like wise

bring on the battle and may the best team win

Nov 23, 2000
Country Victoria
By the way, Tiger 'dynasty' from 1967 - 1974 was pretty serviceable.
4 flags in 8 years
Yet Dwayne pipe harps on Hawks 5 in 9 as the best he's seen with no mention of Hafeys Heroes

SA Tiger RVZ

Mar 29, 2018
Manchester City
Given the talk from Hinkley I'm expecting the Power to come out and try and take it up to us in a physical sense early on to show they won't be intimidated. If they do that I reckon it backfires on the spectacularly as they won't be focused on win the contest which will allow us to use our experience in this situation to settle into the game like it's a normal game and Hardwick will have the boys focused and prepared for the fight telling them to make the ball the focus and not to respond to the niggle. When we've been on a mission like that this year we've taken the game away from both WCE & Geelong quite quickly and once we did that we were able to then grind them into the ground.
That’s exactly what they did against the Lions at AO last year and they got ******* pantsed. We’re so focused on going after Neal they forgot to win the ball and the lions just piled on goals.

Jono_Hain97

Dec 25, 2014
There were times when luck didn't go the club's way.

Richo, Brown, Polak, Charles, even Ottens had injuries which ultimately cost the club. Sure, some of the pain, even a lot of it, was self-inflicted but ultimately there were times when the club was a bit stiff. Like the Lockett non-signing.

Frustrating times. Despite the problems, the club did not rival St Kilda for spoons, however.
It's also hypocritical. Geelong didnt win a flag for 44 years but because they recently won a few no one cares or says anything and their past is now irrelevant. But as soon as anyone even mentions Richmond's recent success, it's 'Richmond were sh*t for 37 years so it doesn't count'