List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III

Stephenson keen to join a pokies free club? Do it Euge! [emoji106]

Time to update your sig 'Toes:

"We hate Essendon!" - Michael Firrito 2016
"We hate Richmond!" – Jarrad Waite 2018
"We hate North Melbourne!" - Damien Barrett 2020

My worry with Stephenson is that what happens if he has an ok year with us and shows some promise, in his new contract negotiations his salary expectations are still going to be 600K. Unless he blows the house down we won't pay that and his trade value would of depreciated. High risk high reward type stuff.

There was no knock on his toughness prior to this year. He had glandular fever and lost about 10 kegs which would make contesting against bigger bodies very difficult. You'd be crazy not to back in his talent.

I don't have any longterm concerns with his attack on the footy, it only became an issue this year when his form and confidence dropped off.
LDU has pulled out of pleny of contests and i don't have any longterm concerns with him either.

They're still kids, they need a bit more time to grow confidence in their body and to believe they can compete at the highest level against older and more physical players.

Trade radio is just total garbage. Brendon Goddard, Adam Cooney, Mat Rendell, Purple warrior and so on.

26 and 31 for Brown.

Send 26 to Collingwood for Stephenson.

I can see this falling into place after the Brown trade.

Love reading your posts mate, always have for years even with out an account and just browsing. You are very knowledgeable on the draft, the draftees, trade week, free agency ect but this comment from you I think is one of the first times I don’t agree with you other then you getting excited about a few potential recruits over the years.

Surely with the position the pies are in, the lack of interest in Stephenson and the fact we are possibly going to help them with some sort of salary dump, pick 26 if we were to get it is to steep? A second rounder this year or next is to steep in my opinion. I understand Stephenson is a talent and I love him (won me many first goal bets over the last 3 years) but I think this is a chance we can truly bend someone over in our favour and get him for something later in the draft?

No one actually thinks the Pies are contending anytime soon do they? Pretty sure even Pies supporters give themselves no chance in 2021. Treloar and Phillips will go. Still no forwards. Steele and Pendles will be winding up soon.

Interesting reading the Pies board....Their expectation is that pick 11 will be involved if Stephenson is traded to Nth. Can't imagine that will be the case if we are taking on his salary. Collingwood are desperate to get some $$$ off their books.

I saw one talk about who they were going to draft with pick 2 and pick 6 once Treloar and Stephenson were gone.

It was a near essay.

My worry with Stephenson is he's soft as shit and struggles defensively. He really needs to develop a harder edge or the second chance he might be getting from us will be short lived.

He's been on the outside at Collingwood for a while now and considering they're seemingly desperate to get rid of his contract I'd be offering a 3rd rounder at best.

I'll be disappointed if we give up anything more than this for him.

Carlton has backed out at the last minute on an Adam Saad deal with Essendon
Essendon and Carlton had all but agreed on a deal for Adam Saad until the Blues backed out in a surprise twist at the last minute.
Jay Clark and Michael Warner, News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

similars

Carlton has backed out at the last minute on an Adam Saad deal with Essendon.

The Herald Sun understands the Bombers and Blues had all but agreed on a deal for the speedy defender last night after a marathon three-hour negotiation.
Saad’s managers Marty Pask and John Meesen from Kapital Sports played a central role in the talks to help break the impasse and the Bombers were also keen to get moving.

To break the deadlock, Essendon list boss Adrian Dodoro was prepared to give Carlton Saad and a third-round pick in return for pick No. 8 and a future fourth-round choice from Carlton.

That way, Essendon was happy to receive pick No. 8 but help boost the Blues’ third-round draft position in return.

Sources this morning said the proposal was a fair deal for the gun linebreaker.

But just as talks were set to be finalised with the Blues, Carlton backed out, leaving Saad’s future back up in the air ahead of tomorrow night’s 7.30pm deadline.

It was said talks were calm and respectful until the last-minute surprise twist.

It is understood Saad’s camp is frustrated by the stalemate after positive progress on a deal last night.

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III