List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III

The only honest thing to do now is put a decent contract in front of DeGoey...
Yep a win win there

either we put a decent offer and De Goey comes for free in PSD

or our offer makes pies increase their offer and continue to mess up their cap

I find it ironical that with Collingwood's history of player misdemeanours they chose to trade out the 21 yo rising star because he wasnt doing what was asked

Having listened to Geoff now.

Geoff has spun some increadible bullshit.

• Walsh disputes Jaidyn's story. He wasn't working hard enough. Wasn't doing what was asked.
  • In exit interview, this was reinforced to him. The phone call wasn't the first time he was told of issues. It has been explained numerous times.
  • He was made "well aware" of short comings, and what he needed to do to improve - from coaches and team mates.

- JS admitted in those interviews he had stuff to work on
- Admitted he found the hub life difficult and he wasn't at his best
- Never claimed he wasn't rung and told told of issues, claimed he wasn't rung and told he was up for trade.
- JS never said in his interview that he wasn't told of short coming or what he had to improve on.

Jesus.

Just shut your mouths and let it blow over.

So ugly, going after a now ex-players wife.

This might really piss Treloar off to the point where spills the beans publicly now.

I hope he does...It's the least they deserve when they've tried to question his mental capability to play footy while his wife is away. It's garbage and I really feel for the bloke.

This sort of stuff can lead to a monumental drop off like we saw with Adelaide and that camp. It's the least they deserve for the way they have treated Treloar, Phillips and Stevo.

Makes you wonder if they’ve got cash flow issues.. bigger club, bigger membership base, higher debt..
If we can manage to pay the cap, so can they. Things can't be that bad for them, surely.

Reckon Tef is on the money, with McGuire and Buckley insisting on contracts and overriding the list management team. Now the chickens have come home to roost.

• Walsh disputes Jaidyn's story. He wasn't working hard enough. Wasn't doing what was asked.
  • In exit interview, this was reinforced to him. The phone call wasn't the first time he was told of issues. It has been explained numerous times.
  • He was made "well aware" of short comings, and what he needed to do to improve - from coaches and team mates.

- Never claimed he wasn't rung and told told of issues, claimed he wasn't rung and told he was up for trade.
- JS never said in his interview that he wasn't told of short coming or what he had to improve on.
ad3ffb_1fd8c17190ea402e8344c9e3a23c8430~mv2.gif

Hope they’re saying that to Grundy too

The dick sucking of Collingwood supporters on the Collingwood board by opposition supporters (including some of our own) is cringeworthy and embarrassing.

3/4 of them would take absolute glee in seeing us relocated to Tasmania.

fu** them.

They lost 3 players because their club have been paying overs for years.

Boo bloody Hoo.

It's the whole point of equalisation and the salary cap.
One of the many positives to this is that I assume I won't be reading as much bs on here about clubs like Collingwood not having a salary cap for a while.

A bit disappointing. Almost an unwritten rule you don't bag a player who has been traded. Clearly a PR strategy to try and placate their pissed off supporters.

Sometimes young blokes just need to be taken in to a room, have the door locked behind them, a recieve a good old fashioned kick in the arse and a rocket.

There's far too much convoluted "human resources" bullsh1t that has entered the sport.

For a club with such vast resources, including spin doctors coming out of their arse, how could they get this one so wrong?
Id imagine there are a few players partners unhappy with the clubs position. Expect that there will be something released along the lines of the club is supportive of player partners advancing their own careers......and in the fine print unless we think it might interfere with player performance........

1) Greenwood was our fu** up
2) Wells was his own greed. Good riddance to him.

A lot of people air raid on the internet, but I have met very few that ever backed up such things once I locked eyes on them in person. It's a fallacy, and you should probably read less media and actually get down on the ground with more real life people.

I'd nail McGuire & Buckley to a post without giving it a second thought, but I am not going to gloat and ridicule working class battlers who have been betrayed by these parasites. Have you read the commentary from these folks about those two? They want them gone, but feel completely impotent in achieving that aim because the power structure at Collingwood has insulated itself from the rank & file.

It kinda reminds me of another smaller club.

Oh yeah, the working class battlers of Collingwood, Abbotsford and Clifton Hill.

Mate, it's not the ****ing 1950's. Collingwood fans aren't just "working class" migrants and dock hands from the inner city.

Don't worry, about 10 of my closest friends are Pie's fans. I'm 10-1 out at North and Collingwood games.

The rank and file have no problem laying the shit on us, don't worry.

They overpaid and played Russian roullete with the salary cap (and were a kick away from snatching a flag because of it).

I have 0 sympathy for them as a club.

I'd nail McGuire & Buckley to a post without giving it a second thought, but I am not going to gloat and ridicule working class battlers who have been betrayed by these parasites. Have you read the commentary from these folks about those two? They want them gone, but feel completely impotent in achieving that aim because the power structure at Collingwood has insulated itself from the rank & file.

It kinda reminds me of another smaller club.

Well I guess it's a positive that you limit the gloating and ridicule to our own supporters.

A bit disappointing. Almost an unwritten rule you don't bag a player who has been traded. Clearly a PR strategy to try and placate their pissed off supporters.

You don't do it in public either.

- monumentally ****ed their cap by overpaying battlers and giving too much money to good players
- ****ed off a rising star winner because he apparently "didn't open up to the group" and then got on radio and basically lied about why they got rid of him
- traded a starting wingman on 550k for pick 65 then tried to claim it was to give him more opportunity
- traded two first rounders for a gun outside mid with no hammies, gave him more money than god then traded him for a single first three years later and tried to blame his exit on his international netballer wife
- still have $7m tied up in the third best ruckman in the competition
- still haven't signed their mercurial forward who might not even play because he's still under the cloud of sexual assault allegations, who if they do sign will take a monstrous chunk out of their cap
- gave an American import a contract that probably wasn't designed to allow him to hit his triggers for an extra year at 550k, then accidentally played him enough to let him hit the triggers, tying up another 550k in the cap on a bloke good for 1-2 half decent quarters a season
- after what might be the worst day in the club's last five years, they come out and bag basically all the players who left in order to save face with their supporters, who probably don't care and will hate them regardless, only serving to ruin their relationships with the players they traded and likely piss off ones who are still on their list and friends with the ones who left

Scumbag, entitled organisation.

They decided to pay people more than they could afford.

They decided to push best 22 players out the door.

They decided not to engage with these players in an honest manner before doing so.

I reckon its likely there is something dirty behind this, like a strategy/thought process that they could work the cap with side deals so could throw cash wherever, only it back fired. There has to be. No professional organisation operates like this. They are either corrupt (or attempting to be) and covering up for it or utterly incompetent. Or both of course.
hard not to agree with a lot of this post,
say what you will about the way we dealt with BBB but at least on all accounts we were honest and respectful to ben through the process. Thats a hell of a lot more than you can say for how collingwood dealt with stevo and trelour. and the continuance of the line that if his missus hadnt have taken the offer with brisbane he would still be there is snake shit lowness.

Oh yeah, the working class battlers of Collingwood, Abbotsford and Clifton Hill.

Does this look like the board of BHP-Billiton to you?

1605220073153.png

Walsh refuted Stephenson’s version of events, saying the club had communicated with him in the days after their season concluded.

“I really can’t let Jaidyn’s comments be etched in history as the version of what (happened),” he said on Triple M.

“I’m not say he’s been mischievous or anything, but certainly throughout the year on a number of occasions, Jaidyn was spoken to by teammates and coaches on what he needed to do to get back to being the footballer that he briefly displayed in his first year.

“That was reinforced to him on a number of occasions and then in the exit interview in the day or two after we left the hub – those points were all reinforced in terms of where we saw his career at that particular moment and predicted we it may ebb and flow depending on a response from him.

“I can’t let that particular comment go and remained unanswered.”

Stephenson and Bosenavulagi weren’t the only Collingwood players traded on Thursday, with Adam Treloar heading to Western Bulldogs and Tom Phillips making the move to Hawthorn on a dramatic day.

You don't do it in public either.
yep......can only imagine the meeting between the club exec and their marketing team......
So well paid marketing team how do we turn this into a positive??
We recommend you admit you made a mistake and apologise profusely.......get someone with credibility to make the announcement
Crickets
Ok....lets run with blaming the player

Does this look like the board of BHP-Billiton to you?

View attachment 1010618

They don't live in Clifton Hill and Abbotsford, I guarantee you that.

14% of the entire MCC is Collingwood nominated members.

Only 2% behind Melbourne.

What do you think of the run of the mill MCC member? Working class battlers like the above?

hard not to agree with a lot of this post,
say what you will about the way we dealt with BBB but at least on all accounts we were honest and respectful to ben through the process. Thats a hell of a lot more than you can say for how collingwood dealt with stevo and trelour. and the continuance of the line that if his missus hadnt have taken the offer with brisbane he would still be there is snake sh*t lowness.
Good point. I'm still not convinced there were non-football issues involved but if there were they're not playing out in public vitriol but limited to discussion among a bunch of middle-aged virgins (literal or born-again) in a small corner of the internet.

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III