List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

Normally the price for that kind of deal is 2 firsts with a 2nd coming back.

We'd then have to get back into.the first round next year going by the rules, but with two 2nd round picks it shouldn't be too hard to trade up.

Unfortunately firsts this year might not hold the value of what they normally would, especially since ours might end up about 15 or 16 even before academy picks.

The AFL have special discretion to waive this rule if it's determined that the value of incoming players is equivalent to the additional first round pick.

I would think that, given the age and exposed form of the player in question, us getting TT and the Giants 2021 2nd round pick would meet this mark.

Where did you get the 700k figure from?

We offered him 3 mil over 5 years to leave.

Why would he stay if not for a better deal than that?

It seems logical that GWS can offer Caldwell a juicy contract (despite needing to find $1m in savings from their salary cap) if a highly paid player like Taranto is leaving. In the media there have been snippets about Toranto being unsettled for a while but never did I think it conceivable that he could leave.

GWS also need to find the money to pay for Jeremy Cameron’s contract. They are under pressure, logically something has to give with players like Cognilio, Greene and Kelly on huge long term deals. In the next year or two they also need to lock away players like Hopper and Green with a reduced salary cap. The reduced cap maybe the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

I don’t know what their academy talent is like this year and next year but maybe GWS have decided they need more early picks and it’s time to bite the bullet and make the best of a difficult situation. I heard on the radio that they don’t have a 1st RDP this year, if true it could be a major consideration for them. I’d imagine Toranto would be two first rounders with a pick coming back. I’d pay it (assuming he passes a medical).
They dont have a first round draft pick right now, but will get a 1st as compo for Williams.

And because North are overpaying for Corr they are a chance for an end of first rd compo or 2nd rd for Corr.

Plus the picks they get for Hatley and O'halloran will likely be in the 20s. So they would have the picks to package up and trade with one of the clubs with an academy player.

The AFL have special discretion to waive this rule if it's determined that the value of incoming players is equivalent to the additional first round pick.

I would think that, given the age and exposed form of the player in questions, us getting TT and the Giants 2021 2nd round pick would meet this mark.

Yeah we're trading a first round pick for a first round pick from 4 years ago. Seems ok to me. I think it was to stop the Hawks and cats topping up with 30yos for continued flag chasing and eventual heavy drop off. Getting 3 picks for Kelly probably fixed all that anyway...
Also late first rounders (hopefully both) for a former pick 2

Lloyd just said on Footy Classified that Taranto is number 1 on our board right now. We are going very hard.

Caro backed it up.

Probably just read my post from 8.30. Seriously though, this is old news, SEN had one of the trade rumours guys come on in the afternoon and said he'd heard we were into Taranto.

It would look strange on paper to let Taranto go, but you are well stocked in the midfield that if you can leverage one of them to boost a weakness, then you can still come out ahead.

Unfortunately, we don't have any players of value to involve in the trade to help you guys instantly so it would just be draft picks.

Aside from the ruck (because Marshall is off limits) what areas are you desperate for players in?

Mikka suggested GWS had a hard on for Gresham and that the club didn't love him as much as the fans did. Putting 2 and 2 together maybe Gresham and a pick? I'd hate to lose Gresham but it's like a guaranteed gun for a potential gun. It's not ridiculous. They could use him as a forward predominantly and along side Greene would be pretty formidable.

Normally the price for that kind of deal is 2 firsts with a 2nd coming back.

We'd then have to get back into.the first round next year going by the rules, but with two 2nd round picks it shouldn't be too hard to trade up.

Unfortunately firsts this year might not hold the value of what they normally would, especially since ours might end up about 15 or 16 even before academy picks.

If the Giants are entertaining it I think we have probably got in his ear and he's asked to get out of his contract. I doubt the Giants would shop him around. I think player trade values are starting to drop as list sizes shrink and FA means that players are much more keen to move around for cash.

You can take one of Ben King or Taranto right now, who do you take?

Taranto is way more for needs. King is like the romantic choice and long term might be a better player even but Taranto is exactly the right player for us now, gun midfielders are our achilles heal. It takes us from a pretender to contender.

Im just stumped as to how you would know what we offered

Going off the ITK post earlier in the thread.

We reportedly offered him 3 mil over 5 years.

If the Giants had to change his mind then MORE cash is the only really obvious way.

This was always the plan...

Love ya Caldwell but with the Giants now paying you 700k a year to stay, the room for TT's "Mega Deal" is gone.

Artists depiction of Simon Lethlean's reaction to this development:

View attachment 974378

Lethlean comes in, offers a fringe mid 5 years and a truckload of cash. Giants rush to match it then he goes after his real target knowing that GWS has just signed a huge chunk of cap space into the fringe mid. Has Giants list manager backed into a corner. Nice Satan.

Mikka suggested GWS had a hard on for Gresham and that the club didn't love him as much as the fans did. Putting 2 and 2 together maybe Gresham and a pick? I'd hate to lose Gresham but it's like a guaranteed gun for a potential gun. It's not ridiculous. They could use him as a forward predominantly and along side Greene would be pretty formidable.
Mikka suggested that last year then Gresham signed a 4 year deal. Suggests the club does indeed rate him and wants him around long term.

Plus GWS dont have much cap space so probably couldn't take on a player with Gresham's contract.

That would be so bitter sweet. I’d be very surprised if it that happened. If he wanted to come, and they were open to discussions of a trade, I reckon it would get done for picks.

Going off the ITK post earlier in the thread.

We reportedly offered him 3 mil over 5 years.

If the Giants had to change his mind then MORE cash is the only really obvious way.
Fair enough mate , im not sure how these ITK's get their so called info from , id be going down the road of a guess based on market value

Mikka suggested that last year then Gresham signed a 4 year deal. Suggests the club does indeed rate him and wants him around long term.

Plus GWS dont have much cap space so probably couldn't take on a player with Gresham's contract.
And why would we trade one of our best players ,

I’m taking what that guy said with a grain of salt. Guy literally made his account last week.
Then you pretty much have to take everyone else’s the same. In reality unless you known the poster personally and where they get their info from. Account date is largely irrelevant

Yeah I do. There would be so little people known of Jyes decision, I doubt a big footy poster would be one of them.

I’m not mad about trading Gresham more the reality that sometimes you need to trade quality players to get the pieces you need.

The AFL seems to generally be resistant to this concept whereas in other sports it’s just a common place part of business. This approach does have its own challenges though when you have salary cap obviously you need to hit the draft as well.

There are a couple of players on our list I’d be reluctant to trade based on the cost and availability of a replacement but that’s about it.