List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

I did say MIGHT. I don’t think either of them are worth a first and we have some good will with Geelong but they are both contracted and in their instance it’s a sellers market.

My point was more we don’t really have a need for any of the

Coff turned into a quicker Sammy Fish this year, reads the play beautifully and is a wonderful decision maker and distributor coming off half back. I’d rather him play 10 years there than try to turn him into another mid.

I reckon that Narkle would cost a 3rd rounder. He's a fringe player who was a late pick and has only played around 5 games a year on average. If Jones was worth pick 36 with a swap of third and fourth round picks, he's worth a pick in the 50s at best on that comparison. Bruce was an established KPF got us 32 and 51. I'd give up a future third for Lipinski but they rate him. I see him as a player around the level of Sinclair. Rated highly internally but never going to be a star. There is some hope that in a lesser midfield he might do what Greenwood has done at GC though. We tend to overrate the value of players at other clubs IMO.

That would mean we'd have to trade our first, ruling out using the it on Crouch

I wonder how much clubs are valuing a pick 14 this year? Lots of academy and F/S in this draft plus not much exposed form. Feels like clubs with these late 1st round picks will be happy to move them on for established players or to trade into next years draft.

Ben Brown? I wouldn't be surprised by a forward like Mihocek or Brown but also a KPB for Carlisles replacement.

Gary Lyon suggesting we have upped our offer to Crouch and will trade Dunstan and Webster to the Crows.

Can't see it happening tbh but it would work well for both, especially if we get something decent for the pair.
I doubt it.

Also, the only thing Adelaide has is decent half backs. They dont even have a need for Webster.

Mate, there's is zero chance the Saints give up their first round, that's just not an option. I'm not being dramatic, believe me, ZERO chance and zero sense. I'm not even sure we are allowed to trade it this year, but regardless, zero chance. Pick, not here. Here, no pick.

Crows never wanted Crouch on big bucks for five years, and that was when he wanted to be there! If they want to call the Saints bluff and match the offer, I fear that the Crows will be stuck with a disgruntled Crouch for five years, or the Saints might cough up a third round pick to trade.

In all honesty, if I were the Crows I'd just take the pick 19 compo, and not get caught draft tampering AGAIN. If the Saints up their offer, there are no guarantees the AFL will up the band or that the Crows will repay us with a suitable trade.
In the scenario that we do match, do you see St.Kilda walking away from the trade table completely then?

I still personally believe the offer will be enough to net us band one compo as it means you're not having to give up any assets and we wouldn't think about matching.

Still prefer we keep him if it's not a top 10 pick (given it will move down a handful of selections with academy/fs picks) as he's still one of our best players and it doesn't make much sense to give him away for a pick 20 odd in my opinion. Sticky point for us would likely be 4 v 5 years, you could hit that sweet spot where it lands us end of first round where we don't match.

Time will tell, we matched with Danger and did pretty poorly out of that trade so maybe I'll just end up as a disgruntled Crows supporter again.

For the poster who said there would be no guarantees of us taking a couple of the guys you might want to move to free up salary space, there is a 2 day overlap from the end of free agency and the start of the trade week so that scenario is possible regardless of how likely/unlikely we believe it to be.

Anyways, hope he plays some good footy for the Saints in the coming years.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I reckon that Narkle would cost a 3rd rounder. He's a fringe player who was a late pick and has only played around 5 games a year on average.

I think he's potentially much better than a fringe player. It is really a surprise that he has only played 19 games. But he is still only 22 and the games he has played, his stats are pretty good. Be very happy to get him cheap.

There was a rumour a week or so back that Corr is reconsidering his decision to go to Norf. Could be on the radar?

I don’t rate Corr that highly but he’d be a perfect stop gap if we trade JC.

Only issue is he’s more of a full back and Doug is pretty sweet in that possie

In the scenario that we do match, do you see St.Kilda walking away from the trade table completely then?

I still personally believe the offer will be enough to net us band one compo as it means you're not having to give up any assets and we wouldn't think about matching.

Still prefer we keep him if it's not a top 10 pick (given it will move down a handful of selections with academy/fs picks) as he's still one of our best players and it doesn't make much sense to give him away for a pick 20 odd in my opinion. Sticky point for us would likely be 4 v 5 years, you could hit that sweet spot where it lands us end of first round where we don't match.

Time will tell, we matched with Danger and did pretty poorly out of that trade so maybe I'll just end up as a disgruntled Crows supporter again.

For the poster who said there would be no guarantees of us taking a couple of the guys you might want to move to free up salary space, there is a 2 day overlap from the end of free agency and the start of the trade week so that scenario is possible regardless of how likely/unlikely we believe it to be.

I'm sure our clubs will work something out, they have plenty of time to do so. Sorry to say I don't really see you guys getting pick 2 for him, but who tf really knows where the AFL will go when it comes to compensation.

I just don't see why Adelaide would bother cracking it and playing hardball for a pick 4 spots earlier than the compo they will be given. It's not like they are going to get anything of value out of us because we have nothing to give.

I know Mark Ricciuto is running the joint so we can't expect any professionalism in the way they go about it but any well run, professional club would take the compo, bank a favour from us and then spend the time and energy finding someone who wants to be there.

I’d be very surprised if we walked away if Adelaide match. I imagine we’ll try and see it through. I think most saints fans would say they don’t want to give up our first rounder but we wouldn’t know really. I’d have thought that if Adelaide does match the offer, our pick 15 is a possibility, despite the probability of both fan bases not liking it.

There was a rumour a week or so back that Corr is reconsidering his decision to go to Norf. Could be on the radar?

he's a GOP who is injury prone. I hope we don't chase him. I'd rather chase Tarrant for a year or two and look for a kid or hope that Clav comes on.

I’d be very surprised if we walked away if Adelaide match. I imagine we’ll try and see it through. I think most saints fans would say they don’t want to give up our first rounder but we wouldn’t know really. I’d have thought that if Adelaide does match the offer, our pick 15 is a possibility, despite the probability of both fan bases not liking it.

No, 15 is slated for other trades. The scenario is that Adelaide would have been told that 15 is not on if they match. If they go ahead, Saints do their other trades and then go back to Adelaide with anything we have left.

That is the risk Adelaide will be taking if they want to play hardball. take the compo and feel a bit ripped off, or maybe settle for scraps after the Saints do their other trades, or end up keeping Crouch for 650k x 5 years.

Worst case screnario we offer 15 but can't see it happening.

You didn’t match with Danger at all. Geelong did the trade in good faith as they saw how terrible it would look to take your best player for nothing after Phil Walsh’s death.

Crows supporters need to understand that Crouch’s value in both contract & therefore compensation terms took a hit after the coke episode. He’s simply not worth the $700-750k + that would get you a band 1 pick.

If you were to be trading him on the open market a mid to late 1st would be all you’d get.

Its probably about the same value that Carlisle would have fallen to had the dopers not hidden his drug escapade video from us.

I think he's potentially much better than a fringe player. It is really a surprise that he has only played 19 games. But he is still only 22 and the games he has played, his stats are pretty good. Be very happy to get him cheap.

I'd like to pick him up too but his trade value isn't a FRDP. He's probably around Ben Long level but less developed. If you could pick him up with a future 3rd you'd be pretty happy.