List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part III

He was a first round draft pick a couple of years ago, was best 22 in the best team in the comp as an 18 year old before he had a traumatic brain injury out of nowhere, a pure footballer with big upside IMO. Richmond, as in the team that just won their 3rd flag in four years aren't happy about losing him, says enough.

There’s a lot of similarities between Higgins & Greshy. Dominant junior careers as small mids, early AFL career spent cutting their teeth as small forwards.

The major difference between the two has been the opportunities that Gresh has got thanks to being in a developing/ordinary team. Higgins has only been given the occasional run or played cameos when the Tigers had a few injuries.

Higgins is a ripper... will be a fantastic addition should this trade get done.

I guess I haven't watched enough Higgins, not that excited by him. From what I've seen he's a younger and slightly better Lonie, but only slightly better - just as short and not particularly fast. Or am I wrong?
They have a lot of similarities but Higgins is better and has a lot more upside.
He’s stronger in the contest and can mark overhead. Can play as a small forward and rotate thru the middle. i think we have seen the best of Lonie and that’s his ceiling.
Lonie has a lot of good attributes but ultimately is limited to one position, is not physically strong enough and struggles to mark overhead. He does bring energy, determination and has a good footy iq.

SYDNEY has held discussions with former No.1 pick Paddy McCartin about reviving the ex-Saint's stalled career after a year out of the game with concussion.

However, Swans CEO Tom Harley said ongoing uncertainty about list sizes going into 2021 made it difficult to make a firm call on the strong-marking tall forward.

go paddy!!! [emoji1694][emoji1694][emoji1694]
Paddy for Heeney! Nice

Saints receive: Higgins, 21, Future 1st
Tigers receive: 17, Future 1st, Future 2nd

Let's back ourselves in to do better than the best. Richmond get a definite pick upgrade and a probable pick upgrade, but we send a message that we're not here just to make up the numbers. It's a massive gamble, but it's also a sign of faith in our side that the members, the media and the players themselves can tangibly see.

I didn't compare him to Milne did I, I said he's an upgrade on Kent and Sinclair, which he absolutely is on potential alone. Our club clearly sees this as well, and I'd back them in given their track record over the last couple of years.
On potential perhaps, but the hype on Higgins at present exceeds how I rate him.

I see longy is your avatar and while I like him and he shows flashes he’s another imo where the hype exceeds what he’s actually delivered. I was looking at something else and saw this today, would you believe that 45 games in he averages 10.9 possessions.

Pick 25 Ben Long: A surprise selection this early, only averaging nine disposals per game over his two Division One Under-18 Championships games and nine disposals per game during his seven VFL outings. The top-ager did however shut down opposition forwards effectively during the Under-18 Championships and did kick 13 goals from his seven VFL games which is what he got drafted off the back of.

Anyway the club had a very good trade period last year so yes I’m backing them in. They seem to have a plan and it’s working so if they want Higgins then I hope we land him but there are others I’d prefer if we’re giving up a first. Maybe I’ll be surprised and we’ll get another bargain and Higgins who I like will exceed my expectations.

Saints receive: Higgins, 21, Future 1st
Tigers receive: 17, Future 1st, Future 2nd

Let's back ourselves in to do better than the best. Richmond get a definite pick upgrade and a probable pick upgrade, but we send a message that we're not here just to make up the numbers. It's a massive gamble, but it's also a sign of faith in our side that the members, the media and the players themselves can tangibly see.

I spoke to my Tigers mate, he said a second round pick will get it done. I think Tigers are trying it on but will fold. Probably want of 17 swapped with their first this year and a future second but will take a straight future second if need be. He said he think his long term best position is on ball and said he's a bit slow to be a permanent small forward. Rates his natural footy ability though. He patronisingly thinks he'll be a great fit at the Saints but not in their best 22 any more, said he's really clean with his ball use and good in traffic. I presume that he thinks we lack that.

On potential perhaps, but the hype on Higgins at present exceeds how I rate him.

I see longy is your avatar and while I like him and he shows flashes he’s another imo where the hype exceeds what he’s actually delivered. I was looking at something else and saw this today, would you believe that 45 games in he averages 10.9 possessions.

Pick 25 Ben Long: A surprise selection this early, only averaging nine disposals per game over his two Division One Under-18 Championships games and nine disposals per game during his seven VFL outings. The top-ager did however shut down opposition forwards effectively during the Under-18 Championships and did kick 13 goals from his seven VFL games which is what he got drafted off the back of.

Anyway the club had a very good trade period last year so yes I’m backing them in. They seem to have a plan and it’s working so if they want Higgins then I hope we land him but there are others I’d prefer if we’re giving up a first. Maybe I’ll be surprised and we’ll get another bargain and Higgins who I like will exceed my expectations.

I don't think he'd get a game at Richmond to be honest.

tbh i hope the pieces at collingwood stay on the table and they remain in salary cap hell for the next 3 seasons

Hand over the cheque Eddie & we’ll make Treloar disappear ....... off your books.

3BB1B930-3803-40BE-BE45-063CFFBF010D.jpeg

My hunch on how this trade will play out:

Saints receive: Higgins, 21 (first rounder, so still allows us to go after Bing next year), Richmond future 4th

Richmond receive: 17, future 2nd & 3rd
My richmond mate who’s switched on and sensible with trade and footy stuff didn’t wanted the 2nd some but suggested the future second with 17 for Higgins and 21. Seems fair.

FB: Paton Howard Wilkie
HB: Coffield Carlisle Clark
C: Hill Ross Jones
HF: Gresham Marshall Billings
FF: Membrey King Butler
R: Ryder Steele Crouch
I/C: Battle Long Hannebery Higgins

Not as exciting when they take a spot in the I/C :p

Legend. I was far too lazy to do it myself and needed it desperately to rub in the faces of some of my mates on the group chat.

Carn m8, there's only one man winning that medal if/when Richmond win further flags, and you know it
10.2 in grand finals - 18.2 in ALL finals in the last two years... guy is a freak.

Legend. I was far too lazy to do it myself and needed it desperately to rub in the faces of some of my mates on the group chat.
I hope there were some bomber supporters in there?!

I guess I haven't watched enough Higgins, not that excited by him. From what I've seen he's a younger and slightly better Lonie, but only slightly better - just as short and not particularly fast. Or am I wrong?
Best player in his draft year, won every award.
He slipped in the draft order because of his size and recruiters questioned his ceiling due to having quit school to focus on footy full time.

He's a better player than Lonie and can go through the midfield with good effect.

If he can get fully back on track from his operation, he would be a very significant acquisition.

I don't think he'd get a game at Richmond to be honest.
Love the enthusiasm for some of these trades but I’m wary of fringe players at premiership clubs being overrated.

Longy shows flashes and I think hey they were right the kids going to be a gun but you’re right he wouldn’t get a game at richmond on what he’s produced for us imo.