List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part III

The real question with Higgins is how much will the brain injury impact his playing future?
Im all for a fair trade. If there is no lingering issues then our 1st and future 2nd for Higgins and their first
Sorry to intrude guys and girls. That seems fair to both sides as he’s certainly worth more than a future second, given he’s contracted and shown a bit since drafted.
Your guys have obviously approached him or his manager and given he’s contracted, a fair offer is required. Blair Hartley, our List Manager, in the past has been fair and reasonable to deal with, never anything outlandish like a Dodoro for instance, but it’s gotta be a balanced offer for both teams? Future second?? I don’t think that’s fair but I’m not the decision maker😂

Remember Brent Prismall? He was going to be one of the best mids in the comp but couldn't get into that Geelong side in 07-08.

Went to Essendon, played another 36 games, found a little bit of the footy but ultimately wasn't good enough.

How about Corey Ellis? Couldn't get into the Tiges side, they gave him to Gold Coast, he could only get 4 games at the bottom side, then delisted.

Probably heaps more in similar positions - sometimes they can't get a game because they aren't that good.
Corey Ellis was a spud given to GC for nothing.
Higgins is a 21 year old who has played 40 games and after injury/no preseason is just moving into his prime. Happy for Richmond to tell the saints TGFO.

Breaking news .....Ben King nominates St Kilda .

Ok so he hasn’t yet but I’ve never broken a story on here so far so I’m getting in early for next year just in case it happens lol.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hi DID nominate St Kilda.
The question was, who did you barrack for as a kid.

Narr screw Treloar now.
Stick with the plan and ignore the shiny thing by the side of the road.

Next year we have Robbo, Seb, Dunny and a host of lesser lights OOC including an over paid Kent.
There will be better players available and many FAs. We're good with Crouch, Higgo, that Essington kent, and a good draft pick.

The Saints are ready to rumble in 2021..

Treloar is the type of player we need. Gets it on the inside but bursts away and breaks the line.

If he’s there and it’s possible then we go for it. But it seems very unlikely now.

#17 and a future 2nd, for Higgins and #21

#21, #65 and Lonie, to the dogs for #15 (values Lonie at 61)
Would they do that deal?

Sorry to intrude guys and girls. That seems fair to both sides as he’s certainly worth more than a future second, given he’s contracted and shown a bit since drafted.
Your guys have obviously approached him or his manager and given he’s contracted, a fair offer is required. Blair Hartley, our List Manager, in the past has been fair and reasonable to deal with, never anything outlandish like a Dodoro for instance, but it’s gotta be a balanced offer for both teams? Future second?? I don’t think that’s fair but I’m not the decision maker😂

tigerfan, was Higgins' brain injury from a knock to the head or just sh!t luck? He has a champion spirit.

Smacks of a negotiation starting point TBH (I’d expect the Tigers starting point to be somewhere around a late first also).

I’d also be happy swapping firsts and trading a future second. Seems a happy medium.

Means we can still use our first rounder this year in the draft (sounds like we want to trade next years first and we can’t if we don’t use one this year).

and won a Morrish medal. The last player we had who had one was L. Hayes.
It's honestly a terrible guide for determining who becomes a gun AFL player… as most Morris Medal winners don't register 100 AFL games, half of them don't even register one game at the top level.

I posted my suggestion earlier on the Richmond board to get their opinion, and they all seem extremely against it.

Saints receive: Higgins, 21, Richmond future 4th

Richmond receive: 17, future 2nd & 3rd

I feel like I had us giving slightly more than we should, but still a fair deal that allows us to keep a first. If they want more than this, they're going to be disappointed when a trade is done.

Would they do that deal?

Reports being that they wanting to sell their first so that their academy #1 prospect in Jamarra Ugle Hagan, goes late bid instead of "bye bye first round", so more picks for points.

The tigers will play much harder ball than they did last year for butler, so I'm not expecting him to come terribly cheap.

They were probably fairly happy to let butler go to a team they didn't expect to bother them in finals.

No such luck this year though- they will want good value for higgins, all the more so given it will strengthen... dare I say it?

A fellow flag contender?
How about we give our first rounder to Richmond for Higgins,

then give Lonie and our late picks to the Bulldogs for their first rounder, who need to get rid of their first rounder to avoid using it on that NGA dude?

Probably need to find a juicy second or third rounder from a player sale I guess.

I'd do that, I rate Higgins.

Remember Brent Prismall? He was going to be one of the best mids in the comp but couldn't get into that Geelong side in 07-08.

Went to Essendon, played another 36 games, found a little bit of the footy but ultimately wasn't good enough.

How about Corey Ellis? Couldn't get into the Tiges side, they gave him to Gold Coast, he could only get 4 games at the bottom side, then delisted.

Probably heaps more in similar positions - sometimes they can't get a game because they aren't that good.

might be wrong but I think prismall did like 4 knees which didn’t help his cause.

agree with your point in principle though. I think Higgins age works for him though. He’s the same age as coff hunter and Paton and at the start of the year had shown more than all of them pretty much.

We need to keep it in our pants here... Higgins is wanting to move for the opportunity to play AFL football, you don’t bring your first rounder into that scenario.

Future second is plenty, if went through next year and doesn’t crack into the seniors then he’ll be worth a 3rd rounder.

Happy to sit it out if a future second doesn’t get it done. He’ll be cheaper in a year and we’re not desperate for a small fwd/mid who doesn’t rack up much footy or kick many goals.

What would Josh Schache be worth on the trade market these days?

Absolute gun in the juniors, taken at pick 2, traded for 25 & 40 a few years later... will be lucky to play 100 AFL games now.