List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread.....

Charlie Constable (Geelong)

After seven AFL games to start 2019, followed by strong VFL form, Constable opted to stay at the Cats to fight for his position after registering some interest from rival clubs at season's end.

But with state leagues banned for AFL players due to COVID-19, the 21-year-old will need to rely on scratch matches in the form of 14v14 and 16v16 games to break into the Cats' midfield.

Eyebrows were raised when Quinton Narkle was forced to man Patrick Cripps at some stoppages in the Blues' round three win at GMHBA Stadium. With 13cm and 10kg on Narkle, Cripps went on to pick up 12 clearances in a match-winning performance.

And with an underdone Jack Steven getting the nod and the Cats committed to Brandan Parfitt and Sam Menegola in the midfield, Constable would have every right to ask, 'Will I ever get a spot'?

Patrick Dangerfield and Joel Selwood aren't going anywhere in the next 18 months, and the Cats have first-round pick Cooper Stephens waiting in the wings who will eventually move from the half-back role he's playing in scratch matches to the midfield.

The Cats are aware of Constable's explosiveness from stoppages and versatility to play other roles, but as one Geelong premiership star asked this week, "Why not give him an extended run to see what he's capable of?"

With a contract until 2021, the 191cm inside midfielder is expected to explore his options at season's end and will receive calls from clubs needing a big body with clean hands at stoppages.

Brayden Fiorini (Gold Coast)

Finished fifth in the Suns' best and fairest last year and led the club for average disposals. Plus, earned a new contract until the end of 2023 in March. But after 21 touches in round two, was dropped for round three and didn't get his spot back for last week's win over Fremantle. One of the victims of the Suns' new-found midfield depth led by Matt Rowell, Noah Anderson, Brandon Ellis and Hugh Greenwood.

Alex Witherden (Brisbane)

A mainstay in the Lions' back six for across 2018-2019, the 21-year-old hasn't been picked since the post-shutdown return. Chris Fagan has opted for Callum Ah Chee, Ryan Lester and Brandon Starcevich ahead of him, and while Grant Birchall is only a short-term fix, the ex-Hawk has played the last three games at half-back. Witherden is contracted until the end of 2022, is it time for other clubs to pick up the phone?

Benj7

NMK🦘4 x 🏆
Sep 20, 2014
Get me Balta full *ing stop. This man can play watched VFL last year was shocked why he hasn’t been in the team this year.

Dec 31, 2015
Santiago, Chile
This is a bit too technical for the blandest administration in football.

If they can't counter Clarkson's incredibly obvious brinkmanship, then this is well & truly beyond them.

They're far too pre-occupied with coming across as "model citizens". We're not going to win a flag until this crap is rinsed out of the place.

Mate... there is a time and a place to be a campaigner. If you adopt it as your whole of life mantra you will end up very squarely alone.

Thndr

Sep 25, 2015
Mick Martin school of bad looks.
Best friends with Marley Williams, met our leadership group a couple of times, his dad played 60 odd games for North and was coached by Cameron Joyce at school.

But does he have a dog that likes long walks in the park ????

giphy (6).gif

Feb 11, 2013

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
Not sure if this has been posted, " change of circumstances " ........

Having lived in Coogee for a few years, I can't believe he would commute to GWS training grounds at Olympic Park.

It's about a 60min commute every morning in the shittest traffic in Australia....

Pittard and Atley won’t be apart of our next premiership side. They just are too wayward by foot and need to be upgraded. If we can promote Perez from within and bring across Zac Williams it would be ideal.

McDonald and Marley are poor enough by foot we have no choice but to play them as lockdown defenders so they don’t turn it over ten times a game.

Hall isn’t the pickup we thought we needed. We got lucky with Higgins but Hall isn’t the quality we were looking for.

Ziebell and Macmillan could be gone by 2021.

Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Ahern, Murphy, Hosie, Tyson, Durdin all may not see another preseason let alone another game.

We have so much deadwood and we have severely overrated our list.

I know 22 get it done on grand final day but you take away Daw, you take away Larkey and you take away Cunnington and average sides like St.Kilda, Sydney and Hawthorn are putting 5 goals on us.

Mar 23, 2001
Forever Death riding *
Wildcats/Pacers/Chelsea/Scorchers
I know 22 get it done on grand final day but you take away Daw, you take away Larkey and you take away Cunnington and average sides like St.Kilda, Sydney and Hawthorn are putting 5 goals on us.
Whoa, whoa, whoa there Taz..

The Sainters just did a number on last weeks flag favourites the BLWS, and according to the AFL doyens BeeTee and Bwuce, now they’re a massive chance to take home the big one.. didn’t you hear BT fap on how “deep their list is!” about a hundred times after “Longy took mark of the year/century!!”...

Asifhe Givashe

Jan 14, 2020
Pittard and Atley won’t be apart of our ends premiership side. They just are too wayward by foot and need to be upgraded. If we can promote Perez from within and bring across Zac Williams it would be ideal.
McDonald and Marley are poor enough by foot to play as lockdown defenders and not turn it over ten times a game.

Hall isn’t the pickup we thought we needed. We got lucky with Higgins but Hall isn’t the quality we were looking for.

Ziebell and Macmillan could be gone by 2021.

Jacobs, Garner, Wood, Ahern, Murphy, Hosie, Tyson, Durdin all may not see another preseason let alone another game.

We have so much deadwood and we have severely overrated our list.

It’s as much about removing the spuds off the list and creating the space for Scott, Perez, Comben, WWalker and the 3 Top 30 picks to come through as it is getting in new players.

Dumont, Atley, Macmillan, Turner, Pittard, Williams, Wood & Ziebell are taking us nowhere. All have to go.

And if Brown opts out of playing... then he must go too.

It’s as much about removing the spuds off the list and creating the space for Scott, Perez, Comben, WWalker and the 3 Top 30 picks to come through as it is getting in new players.

Dumont, Atley, Macmillan, Turner, Pittard, Williams, Wood & Ziebell are taking us nowhere. All have to go.

Agree on all except Dumont. Offers something. Brown is just hating his footy at the moment. Cant use his assets to impact game which is his endurance.

Asifhe Givashe

Jan 14, 2020
Agree on all except Dumont. Offers something. Brown is just hating his footy at the moment. Cant use his assets to impact game which is his endurance.

Yeah it’s harsh on Trent, but what more is there for him? I reckon he’s peaked. The game is about speed.

Apr 17, 2007
melb home of the kangas
hellas,liverpool,storm,au

You’d be an arsenal fan - look good but win * all.
You need role players / foot soldiers