Strapping Young Lad
- Apr 19, 2006
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #1,719

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I wonder if Sam asked Ward about Ned Long... They trained all year togetherInteresting...
Always exceptions to the rules, chances are if you sub 180 you will not make at AFL level as a mid.Lachie Neale
Oh VFL? Why would that matter174cm Morrish Medalist, Flynn Lakey, reported to be headed to Box Hill.![]()
NOW - here's a thing - just imagine those young guys - Especially Finn Maginness, Josh Ward, Jai Newcombe and Conor McDonald - getting schooled by how to be an inside mid from both Sam Mitchell and Robert Harvey. Dang it, its going to be a good journey I can feel it
We Harvey on board maybe this is a reason why all our bar one has endurance as a key plank in there draft profile as along with Crawford, Harvey was a freak gut runner could go all game at peak.
We don't have a genuine FWD/RUCK so it also (hopefully) allows us to play 2x Ruckmen, resting the 2nd on the bench for longer periods instead of having to clog up the forwardline with another tall just to save interchange rotations.Whether it is MM, Sam or Harvey (or anyone else for that matter) providing the impetus, there has been a very clear focus on endurance in our recent drafting which I see as only a good thing in a world were the AFL is doing everything it can to make players more tired (reduced interchange, rotation caps etc) and keep more space - i can see a team that includes Bramble, Ward, CJ, Moore, Finn, Downie, McDonald etc really coming over the top of teams late in quarters / games as the opposition tires.
Mitchell Lewis is our forward ruck...We don't have a genuine FWD/RUCK so it also (hopefully) allows us to play 2x Ruckmen, resting the 2nd on the bench for longer periods instead of having to clog up the forwardline with another tall just to save interchange rotations.
I'm hoping that ruck competitiveness (if not dominance) at the stoppage, as well as playing even numbers at the stoppage, will be a feature of a more attacking game style in the next few years.
Lynch?Mitchell Lewis is our forward ruck...
...And we have David Hale to teach him
See Lynch more of a pure Ruck. I think Mitch is our forward ruck and needs to be to hold hos place in the team as both Jeka and Callow provide more as Key forwards to partner Kosi (though I can see both Kosi and Callow trialled as key defenders this year too)Lynch?
Callow offers more than Lewis as a key forward?See Lynch more of a pure Ruck. I think Mitch is our forward ruck and needs to be to hold hos place in the team as both Jeka and Callow provide more as Key forwards to partner Kosi (though I can see both Kosi and Callow trialled as key defenders this year too)
Yeah, but you/I simply nominating him because we want it doesn't mean he's anywhere near competent at it.Mitchell Lewis is our forward ruck...
...And we have David Hale to teach him
...yetYeah, but you/I simply nominating him because we want it doesn't mean he's anywhere near competent at it.
It's the ruck part that he doesn't seem to naturally enjoy & I reckon that's a Monkhurst gig....yet
Thats why we got Hale - to teach him
Callow offers more than Lewis as a key forward?
I can’t see Kosi playing back after making such a fist of it as a forward.
Credible info has it that the Bombers have offered Ronald Fejo Jr a pre-season training spot. I‘m hoping we cut their lunch!
Whatever happens, it will be “good for footy” to see Ronnie running around in the AFL.
Tbh would should setup a thread that you can only post that memeIf we cut their lunch then this whole board should do a video of everyone collectively fist pumping
When is the earliest we could get him? Can it happen anytime? Anyone knows whether the club showed any interest in him. I for one love the kid.Credible info has it that the Bombers have offered Ronald Fejo Jr a pre-season training spot. I‘m hoping we cut their lunch!
Whatever happens, it will be “good for footy” to see Ronnie running around in the AFL.
You mean Channel 7 news, last night?Credible info has it that the Bombers have offered Ronald Fejo Jr a pre-season training spot. I‘m hoping we cut their lunch!

Really!You mean Channel 7 news, last night?![]()
I did not know Ch7 announced that. I haven’t watched TV news for some time. And a search of the net turns up: https://www.zerohanger.com/bombers-eyeing-west-adelaide-midfielder-for-2022-95087/
I’m happy to lock in somewhere with SYL so we can cry together.Has anyone checked on Strapping Young Lad to see if he’s handling the news about Ronald Fejo Jnr okay?
Mate, if you’ve been around here long enough you’ll know that I’m all in on draftees before they get a home, but as soon as they miss their chance to wear our jumper they’re dead to me.Has anyone checked on Strapping Young Lad to see if he’s handling the news about Ronald Fejo Jnr okay?