2021 Bathurst 1000 ( starts 12.15pm Sunday )

WHO WILL THE MOUNTAIN CHOOSE ?

G'day i'm NSWCROW and this is the annual bathurst thread.
( You might remember me from such threads like " Scott morrison is a #### " and " Port fans are a bunch of ##### " )

For the once-a-year readers, here's a quick rundown of the drivers to watch -

SHANE VAN GISBERGEN / Garth Tander - #97 Red Bull Commodore
Defending Bathurst winner and 2-time series champion ( including this year )

At the peak of his powers atm, unbackable odds

JAMIE WHINCUP / Craig Lowndes - #88 Red Bull Commodore
The King, the GOAT...choose your own superlative , blokes done it all.
7 time series champion + 4 time Bathurst winner ( and arguably has left 4 wins out there too )

His final race, was never embraced as a " hero " by Ford OR Holden fans due to his " * YOU, I WON AND I DID IT MY WAY " mentality which is sad.
My sentimental favorite to win this weekend.

CHAZ MOSTERT / Lee Holdsworth - #25 Walkinshaw/Andretti Commodore
The rockstar, winner of arguably the greatest motor race of all time, the 2014 Bathurst 1000.
Always fast here and can't be counted out entirely.

CAM WATERS / James Moffat - #6 Monster Energy Mustang
Finished 2nd to SVG in last years race, was touted as the great white hope for Ford this season and while he started the season looking every part it, the covid break had a negative effect on his driving.
Too much Pornhub, not enough iracing, amirite lads ???

ANTON DE PASQUALE / Tony D'alberto - #11 Dick Johnson Racing Mustang
" The spaghetti brothers " Has come on in leaps and bounds this year, definite future champion.

WILL DAVISON / Alex Davison - #17 Dick Johnson Racing Mustang
Australian motorsport royalty , a 2-time winner of this race.
Cannot be discounted come late on sunday.

DAVID REYNOLDS / Luke Youlden - #26 Penrite Mustang
The class clown, The 1 guy the anti-vax crew will be cheering on.
A former winner here in 2017 and arguably should've backed it up in '18 but thought hydration was for f##s and physically imploded with victory in his grasp.
Easily wins the " Hottest missus " award

Well there you go, it ain't " YA DADS " Bathurst anymore but it's still real to me dammit !!

So tell the kids to go see a " Star Wars ", accept that the missus will inevitably decide that lap 1 is the perfect time to vaccum, fill the fridge full o' piss and strap into that favorite armchair of yours for the next 2 days kents 'cos we're bRinGin tHe bAthUrst !!!!!

BONUS CONTENT

Twin broadcasters means 2 intros

FOX ( Narrated by Matt Nable, the *en man ! - suss him in MR INBETWEEN for the " Quentin " scene alone )

And for those unfortunate enough to only have FTA....

7 ( Narrated by the incomparable Bruce Mcavaney )

Last edited by a moderator:
Friday qualifying

Fastest lap...
Will Brown ... Who?

Whincup 11th ... Misses the shootout in last seconds as Slade jumps from 12th and pinches 4th

Love the intro.

While you gave a good write up for Whincup, you could have mentioned that his co-driver's record at the Mountain is nothing to sneeze at. Lowndes is tied (with Jim Richards) for 2nd on the all-time winners list, both with 7 wins. Only Peter Perfect, the King of the Mountain, has more - with 9 wins.

What time does this f***er start. I'm seeing different times all over the joint
1215 Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Hobart time
1145 Adelaide time
0915 Perth time

As for those living in dumb s**t states without don't have Daylight Wastings - they can figure it out for themselves.

Howler in the S5000 race.

The chase has to be altered one day.
Of all the spots you DON'T wanna tangle in a S5000, they picked the worst.

You all know it's gonna hose down tomorrow, right ???
The ONE day of the 6 that was forecast NOT to rain.......................

* me meteorology is a *en rort

Quick update with practice 6 highlights, check out some of these times!

Should be a ripper Top Ten shoot-out later today...!

Broc Feeney's voice yet to break ??

Happiest B grade winner of all time.