List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

If pies had pick 2, Daicos would have been bid on at pick 1
even if daicos would have been bid on pick 1 they could have traded that pick for a much greater return than they received last year. From memory they traded it as a future first for a couple second rounders, now that pick's worth a couple good first rounders (e.g. adelaide may have offered their own and melbourne's first rounders for next year). They couldn't have known how badly they were going to be this year but just shows the risks (+ reward from gws perspective) of trading for future picks

Yeh agree they could've got a better package, but if they took pick 2 to the draft i very much doubt north would let them get daicos for free

Van Rooyen worries me. I keep reading that the only reason that he is a first round draft candidate is that there is such a dearth of talent in key forwards this year. That in any other draft he'd be a second rounder. To be honest I wouldn't mind if we just go for mids this draft, even if it means trading out a pick and going hard next year with four selections in the top 30 in a draft supposedly overflowing with tall talent. Just concerned going for Van Rooyen has a touch of the Cleve Hughes about it.
The problem here is "supposedly overflowing with tall talent." Can you guarantee that with our 2022 picks (unknown) we can get someone better than JVR? Not sure he is as bad as your sources allude. Speculate now or gamble in 2022?

Van Rooyen worries me. I keep reading that the only reason that he is a first round draft candidate is that there is such a dearth of talent in key forwards this year. That in any other draft he'd be a second rounder. To be honest I wouldn't mind if we just go for mids this draft, even if it means trading out a pick and going hard next year with four selections in the top 30 in a draft supposedly overflowing with tall talent. Just concerned going for Van Rooyen has a touch of the Cleve Hughes about it.
I do understand what you are saying ...however I remember Jack went at 13 and he turned out okay😁...I just think Van Rooyen has traits the club can work with and there is nothing to say we can't take another KPF next year too...also apparently the player he idolizes most in the AFL is Jack ..pretty clear he models his own game on him ..so as far as like for like replacement he couldn't learn how to play like jack any better than off jack himself before he retires

The problem here is "supposedly overflowing with tall talent." Can you guarantee that with our 2022 picks (unknown) we can get someone better than JVR? Not sure he is as bad as your sources allude. Speculate now or gamble in 2022?

That's got to be part of the judgement.

If we can get mid we reckon has got B+/A grade traits vs a KP we think might be B grade. Do we fill the list need to go for the quality? Serious question. CCJ filled that hole and we now have to rely on Sampson coming on. Or Miller coming on and freeing Balta up to go forward. Interesting, partly because we don't know the whole picture. The club might be looking at Miller and Sampson and thinking 'we've got some serious talent here to fill KP holes going forward'. Or maybe not and thinking 'we've got a huge hole here, in fact a few. We have to fill them now.'

But I tend to think that they should target quality and not reach just because the player is tall/fast etc. A B grader is a B grader.

Then why did we try a deal that would get us Horne and giveaway picks 7/15 & 26 as well as CCJ along with Blair stating we're looking to get into next years draft?
Fair dinkum mate if that doesn't tell you that even our boys are nervous about this year then i have no idea what is.

Blair also said that the deal they offered to try and get Horne was a bit of fun on their behalf knowing full well that it wasn't going to get accepted. Of course we stated we were looking at getting into next years draft otherwise you just back yourself into a corner in terms of negotiating deals. If the fact that we have been trying and succeeded in trading up into the higher picks of this draft doesn't tell you that we're comfortable in what is on offer then I have no idea what will.

Blair is on record in a recent SEN interview that:

- The play for Horne was really not expected to be accepted but they felt they had to make it
- they traded out of last years draft because they felt there were a lot of unknowns due to Covid interruptions. He said it's unfortunate it's happened again this year. They won't trade out again so they'll play the card they've been dealt.

No I can't guarantee that someone better will be available at our draft picks in 2022 anymore than you can guarantee that he won't be a dud as a first round pick. You play the odds, and you go with whatever scenario offers the best return. This is a midfielders draft, the next apparently one rich with talls. So yeah I'd be surprised if we couldn't do at least as good in 2022.

And the fact that in nearly everyone's draft scenario it appears to be Van Rooyen or bust for talls in the late first round seems to suggest either he is a special talent (but ironically not special enough to be a top ten) or this draft is mighty thin on tall talent and he is simply the best of a very sparse field.

Anyhow if he lasted as long as one our picks in the 20s like Jack Darling did for the WCE years ago then fair enough. But as a first rounder? No I got serious concerns about that. Hope we go for the best mid instead.

No I can't guarantee that someone better will be available at our draft picks in 2022 anymore than you can guarantee that he won't be a dud as a first round pick. You play the odds, and you go with whatever scenario offers the best return. This is a midfielders draft, the next apparently one rich with talls. So yeah I'd be surprised if we couldn't do at least as good in 2002.

And the fact that in nearly everyone's draft scenario it appears to be Van Rooyen or bust for talls in the late first round seems to suggest either he is a special talent (but ironically not special enough to be a top ten) or this draft is mighty thin on tall talent and he is simply the best of a very sparse field.

Anyhow if he lasted as long as one our picks in the 20s like Jack Darling did for the WCE years ago then fair enough. But as a first rounder? No I got serious concerns about that. Hope we go for the best mid instead.
Well reasoned...👍

No I can't guarantee that someone better will be available at our draft picks in 2022 anymore than you can guarantee that he won't be a dud as a first round pick. You play the odds, and you go with whatever scenario offers the best return. This is a midfielders draft, the next apparently one rich with talls. So yeah I'd be surprised if we couldn't do at least as good in 2002.

If the recruiters think he is worth our pick 15 (17) then they should pick him. It might be that we get the best mid we can with 7 (9) and that we already have some great developing mids at the club.... what we don't have is much in the way of developing talls. I saw someone's suggestion we draft 5 mids with our 5 picks - seems a bit silly to me.

The problem I find with reading draft profiles is that it makes every player sound like a future brownlow medalist. It's really hard to tell which players are going to make it.
Wait until Draft Night, Shifter Sheehan manages to profile 70 odd players which do not have a single weakness in their game.

True. But I don't think Gallaghan is too far behind him. Maybe 7 and out future 1st gets it done. I feel they will definitely be asking for 15 or Norf's 2nd.

Ha ha, 7 and a future first by itself is too much. Must have 13 for 15.

And then 7 and 15 is far too much for 2

Wait until Draft Night, Shifter Sheehan manages to profile 70 odd players which do not have a single weakness in their game.
All kids have talent, its up to the clubs to nurture & develop.
Deledio, Tambling, Polo, Shulz, Hughes plus more all had talent and showed it with BOG performances but back then we had no education system of process for these players to play to.
Now look at all the rookied, recycled, list clogger that are now double/triple Premiership players, all due to what is in place at RFC now.

We are no chance to get Calaghan unless its 3 - 4 years later and he wants to come to Richmond

The assets required to move upto #2 is just about impossible to attain , Just bulid the rest of the ship and bring in a few later on when they want to move clubs.

I think this is correct.

Right now, as it stands both Gold Coast and GWS really have any need for extra picks this year:

Gold Coast are only taking one pick this year. GWS already have 2, 13 and will match Fahey you would suspect. There’s nothing in Richmonds draft hand this year that I can see would entice GWS or GCS to trade the pick as it currently stands.

We could throw in a future first next year. That would only be on the basis that GWS or GCS want a player who would still be available at the pick they trade back to (Andrew or Gibcus) and so they do it to get the guy they want plus additional assets. if the core of the deal is this years first + next years first, the Hawks, Adelaide and maybe the Dockers can trump Richmond using higher picks this year, and potentially assumed higher picks next year.

Think the chances of us trading up and beating out other teams is remote unless we give up a lot of draft capital for next years draft.

We are no chance to get Calaghan unless its 3 - 4 years later and he wants to come to Richmond

The assets required to move upto #2 is just about impossible to attain , Just bulid the rest of the ship and bring in a few later on when they want to move clubs.

Looking at GWS board they are anticipating Hawks 5 plus a 2022 future 1st or Hawks 5 plus both their second rounders this year. Hawks would never do that. GWS posters will be disappointed in a trade for what they want.

Its okay for us to stick with 7 and 15 and the rest.

There is no way we should be bent over just to get Callaghan. He is just one player and there is some risk attached

List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.