Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Had this arguement a few pages back.
I'd prefer next years crop over this years.
Rather be selecting on the years performance not from 2yrs back with this crop.
Rather just go with 4 picks this year and 5+ next year.
The problem is the big unknown of where to that 1st rounder pick comes in next year. The reverse of the Pies could happen. Not sure you are suggesting pick 7 as well, but 15 would put the risk on the other team I guess. Say Freo with the expectation they finish mid table, but they end up making the 4.Had this arguement a few pages back.
Eh, last year people knew "seemingly" very little and yet most of the top picks ended up reflecting where they were drafted, eg. the Bombers' draftees.Outside the box and I know the club wouldn't do it because we already on traded our first round pick last year but I'd be tempted to on trade both our 1st rounders to other clubs for next year 1st rounders. I'd then ask the bombers if they want picks 26 & 27 for their pick 11.
It would leave us with 3 first rounders next year, pick 11 and 28 this year plus our pick 83 would push up quite a far way after all the father sons and passes. Who knows we could end up with a slider. It would also give us 2 list spots free for any free agents if needed.
Seems like there is a lot of guess work being done on a lot of players past the early stages and I'm losing confidence due to lack of vision and matches. We could still grab a few kids this season and then have 3 1st rounders next year and 2 second rounders.
Had this arguement a few pages back.
Have to Agee with you. Why wait? I’d even trade our F1 to help get GWS or GCS early pick. Our F1 is currently viewed as a pick at approximate value of ten. If we make finals it’s value will be 12+. Use it now to get the best available. Start developing these kids now. I’d rather 3 gun picks than 5. Trade second rounders into next year or use them to upgrade this year. Should a tall we like falls through then use a second, else three best midsEh, last year people knew "seemingly" very little and yet most of the top picks ended up reflecting where they were drafted, eg. the Bombers' draftees.
We have a window open now but we also need to start the mini rebuild now, it's a good spot to be in.
Take the punt, use our best pick to hopefully add some icing to our best 22 and the rest will be part of our next push, if not also trying to break into the best 22 now/soon. There's enough exposure to get some guns, no worries.
Outside the box and I know the club wouldn't do it because we already on traded our first round pick last year but I'd be tempted to on trade both our 1st rounders to other clubs for next year 1st rounders. I'd then ask the bombers if they want picks 26 & 27 for their pick 11.
It would leave us with 3 first rounders next year, pick 11 and 28 this year plus our pick 83 would push up quite a far way after all the father sons and passes. Who knows we could end up with a slider. It would also give us 2 list spots free for any free agents if needed.
Seems like there is a lot of guess work being done on a lot of players past the early stages and I'm losing confidence due to lack of vision and matches. We could still grab a few kids this season and then have 3 1st rounders next year and 2 second rounders.
Exactly.I agree.
I actually would be ok with trading our second 1st rounder (15) for next year's first from someone like the Bummers, Carlton or Saints. They all have sh*t draft hands and would have to pay overs if they really want it. I think live trading really sets us up to position ourselves well for the 2022 draft.
I might be wrong but I see this year as the year where a gun could be picked late simply through not getting a chance to show their wares. Next year won't have covid restrictions and you'd think the recruiters will have an accurate dial on the players. If that's the case a flush draft hand next year is even better than a flush draft hand this year.
Exactly.
In a way i'd rather trade out both our 1sts for future picks and just go with picks 26/27 & 28 this year.
Trading into next years first round is a great idea - if we can get the right deal. Trade pick 15 to a team that will miss the 8 - yes please sign me up. Can get a top end KPF next year (if the pundits are right)
But without that win for us then no way.
This year, if we pick 5 mids and 3 become B+/A grade then we have the core of a top line midfield for a decade. Add to the younger guys we already have and we fill in around them for another period of contention. Our position this year is so strong we should only move for a sack full of gold. Hopefully that comes and we get a top 10 pick next year and walk away 2021 & 2022 with a complete rebuild of quality for a decade. But we'll see. Is anyone that desperate?
I would have thought trading into next years draft is inherently risky (more-so than normal). They haven't played many games at all to allow us to see how the group is tracking when compared to previous players at a similar age (pretty sure that sort of data analysis is the bedrock of current drafting). Sure next year they should get to play more games than this years cohort but that's no guarantee that as a group they will be better than this years.
There is less of an ability to compare next years crop to previous draft classes to see if on the whole the depth is strong or the quality of the top end talent is there.
Oh yeah a team that "won't make the 8" will trade their future first easy for 15 ... That would be the dumbest move a club could make considering that they are rebuilding as well. Tigers would need to trade it to a team that thinks that their abouts next year for finals. GWS got super LUCKY with the pies and no one would have thought the drop of would be that huge. Its a gamble at best as Crows, North, Pies, Hawks, Freo, Blues, GC would not trade a future first for 15 and they are the clubs who would most likely finish low in the season.
Journo's say that clubs don't want to trade into next year due to the 'unkown' factor and will only trade if they have to to make the right deal.
I reckon that sucks. Why not just leave it ? That extra year, which in this case has occurred out of necessity, is a blessing in disguise. Remember all the studies and talk about the benefit to draftees with an extra year of physical/mental/football development by entering the league at 19. Particularly for some, the chance to play against bigger bodies in their final year. So many kids come on in that year between 18-19. Better prepared for the rigours and intensity of an AFL lifestyle.So for those thinking about moving into the 2022 draft. The TAC Cup and National Champs will revert back to U16s & U18's next year rather than the U17 & U19 format use this year.
Bit like all those years ago the AFL had the chance to make the Anzac day game the GF replay.I reckon that sucks. Why not just leave it ? That extra year, which in this case has occurred out of necessity, is a blessing in disguise. Remember all the studies and talk about the benefit to draftees with an extra year of physical/mental/football development by entering the league at 19. Particularly for some, the chance to play against bigger bodies in their final year. So many kids come on in that year between 18-19. Better prepared for the rigours and intensity of an AFL lifestyle.
Thirds always used to be U/19s
Knightmare Would it be wise to trade into next years draft given the covid years?
Some here are saying trade both 7 and 15 for future picks
Exactly.
In a way i'd rather trade out both our 1sts for future picks and just go with picks 26/27 & 28 this year.
Sounds like we should trade 7,15,26,27,28 for 45, 47, 56, 57 and 58.Agree, it’s a crap year to have 5 picks in top 30 because of the lack of exposed form.
There will be big bargains in the 40’s and 50’s and more busts than usual in top 30 picked.
That is why we have tried to trade up into top 5 or so.
I just hope they never suscribe to Big Footy...Whoever we draft, I just hope they dont have the loyalty qualities of CCJ.
Freo would be keen.I would actually be open to trading both #7 & #15 this year and just go to the draft with 26/27/28
If Pies see a player they want at pick #7 and are hppy to hand over their F1 - Just do it same goes for Hawks /Crows/Freo