Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Don't be fussed by people on here having no idea. A significant proportion base their knowledge on Supercoach and PlayStation.Why should we let it go. I think his talents are wasted down back. Alex Rance was the best defender in the last 20 years, hoping that Balta will turn into the next Rance is very optimistic. So half Balta's time will be spent locking down a forward, with a bit of luck he will win his share of contests like Astbury or even Harris Andrews at best. Besides Rance name another attackiing weapon from the backline playing. I can think of none.
At CHF considered the most important position of the ground he has the full scope to use his assets creatively. Poswerful runner, very good in the air, great at ground level and can kick goals from 60 metres. There is a bit of Richo about him. He turns games when he plays ruck and can do things no other ruckman can do. He is a potential weapon that is learning the game, so backline has been good for him. Who knows what he can become.
Stack to me would be wasted up forward because he has the potential to be anything. Midfielder gun in waiting. If he is not fit enough just yet, then ease him into it, which may mean resting forward or playing the swingman like against the Hawks.
I think you're hitting unwarranted panic stations here with our key forward situation. So say Jack is done by the end of next season, which is a fair call. Lynch still has a few years, Ryan will be 22, and a developing Colina (never seen him play of course, but I assume as a basketballer, he is mobile).Someone like amiss could learn from Riewoldt next year and get valuable confidence in the Magoo's with expectations being only required to play when ready and required. The alternative is to spend one of the picks in the 26 region on a KPF and watch him have a Cleve Hughes type career then. Or even better wait til 2022 to get a quality KPF and send him to the wolves like a Jack Watts as Riewoldt will be gone. News flash Riewoldt is 33 in 2 days which means if by some miracle or sheer desparation he plays on in 2023 he'd be ancient and what KPF's output is any good at that age. Drafting amiss solves the massive dilemma we're gonna have as by 2023 he'd have a years experience and would be 2nd banana to Lynch. We're not desparate for mids, these kids playing 5 games in 2 years will only end up having some teams getting lucky as their pick 20 or 30 plays 200 games while half the kids taken in top 10 scrape to 40 games across 2 or 3 club's.
Josh Kennedy is 34 and kicked 41 goals this seasonSomeone like amiss could learn from Riewoldt next year and get valuable confidence in the Magoo's with expectations being only required to play when ready and required. The alternative is to spend one of the picks in the 26 region on a KPF and watch him have a Cleve Hughes type career then. Or even better wait til 2022 to get a quality KPF and send him to the wolves like a Jack Watts as Riewoldt will be gone. News flash Riewoldt is 33 in 2 days which means if by some miracle or sheer desparation he plays on in 2023 he'd be ancient and what KPF's output is any good at that age. Drafting amiss solves the massive dilemma we're gonna have as by 2023 he'd have a years experience and would be 2nd banana to Lynch. We're not desparate for mids, these kids playing 5 games in 2 years will only end up having some teams getting lucky as their pick 20 or 30 plays 200 games while half the kids taken in top 10 scrape to 40 games across 2 or 3 club's.
There aren't any.A high end key fwd this draft
A lot better choices next year.There aren't any.
There aren't any.
A lot better choices next year.
Melbourne won a flag this year without a kpf of note. They had a very good balance of small/medium/3rd talls.I think you're hitting unwarranted panic stations here with our key forward situation. So say Jack is done by the end of next season, which is a fair call. Lynch still has a few years, Ryan will be 22, and a developing Colina (never seen him play of course, but I assume as a basketballer, he is mobile).
They don't play like Jack, but Lynch and Ryan could a a good dual tall set up, with another mid-sized forward we pick up in this draft and will have 12 months development by next season start.
Jack has lost his key asset, the spring and a bit of his power on-on one. That is age. He is still very crafty however and most of his goals this year came from reading the play. Hawkins was absolutely pansed by a 22 year old Sam Taylor like I have never seen him beaten. But when you are the focal point you still get good service. Kennedy was much the same. Buddy had his first good year in a while, but Buddy is like Richo, a supreme athlete so can keep it going longer.Josh Kennedy is 34 and kicked 41 goals this season
Buddy is 35 in January and kicked 51 goals this season
Hawkins is 33 and kicked 62 this season.
Jack kicked 51 this season and you're suggesting his on his last legs in 2022.
True, but Melbourne got a lot of their goals by doing what we did when we won our flags, by transferring the play quickly from the back half to forward line. I think they were no.1 in the comp from goals from that. They also dominated the centre square by virtue of Gawn and Oliver and Petracca, you and I could have kicked a bag playing forward in the last half of the grand final.Melbourne won a flag this year without a kpf of note. They had a very good balance of small/medium/3rd talls.
I think that’s important to have a variety of goal kicking options
And not downplaying the need to look at replacements for JR and Lynch in the coming years but as you say let’s not get to carried away with that.
I think you're hitting unwarranted panic stations here with our key forward situation. So say Jack is done by the end of next season, which is a fair call. Lynch still has a few years, Ryan will be 22, and a developing Colina (never seen him play of course, but I assume as a basketballer, he is mobile).
They don't play like Jack, but Lynch and Ryan could a a good dual tall set up, with another mid-sized forward we pick up in this draft and will have 12 months development by next season start.
But they were both young. Where are our young forwards?I agree with this. Look at Melbourne’s forward line 2-years ago. Ben Brown wasn’t there. Weidemann a disappointment. Fritsch a flaky half forward. Pickett and Jackson not there. McDonald was being shopped around and no-one wanted him…. where on earth were their scores going to come from …???
And the Dogs 3-years ago. Naughton not yet drafted and a CHB. Bruce at the Saints. Weightman not yet drafted. English a string bean ruck/fwd. Ugle-Hagan and Darcy not yet drafted.
Those are the Grand Finalists ….. their respective forward lines looked in real trouble just a couple of years back.
We have Biggie who has similar traits.i respect your opinion mate - do you think Andrew could develop into an elite key fwd? I love the skill set he has, agility, spring, contested mark, can take it out in front on the lead. He hasn’t kicked many goals but everything he does screams key fwd potential to me
We won in 17 without a 2nd KP or Ruck.Melbourne won a flag this year without a kpf of note. They had a very good balance of small/medium/3rd talls.
I think that’s important to have a variety of goal kicking options
And not downplaying the need to look at replacements for JR and Lynch in the coming years but as you say let’s not get to carried away with that.
Solve our forward problems with one retro rookie pick ! Lolget townsend
To carry on from and back up your point, I think Ben Brown is underrated too, so to say he is not a KPF of note is underselling him and making Melbourne as a whole seem better than they actually are. He was pretty darn good in an average North and then a shit North, so it only makes sense he played a decent role in a good side (Dees). Tom McDonald didn't play great on GF day but had a fantastic season, was never a bad player either, just had a down patch. Was amazed he was being let go and they lucked out massively that no one wanted him. Wish we'd grabbed him, would solve some issues as a fill in for Jack till the next "big thing" comes along, and Dees prob wouldn't have won the flag without him as they'd prob never have gotten there, given he was largely the only fit KPF they had for periods of the season.We won in 17 without a 2nd KP or Ruck.
Better feat than the Dees.
A high end key fwd this draft will be more advanced than Ryan within 12 months. I don’t think people understand how hard it is to find quality key fwds. Ryan is no certainty to forge out an AFL career yet. That’s why people won’t let the Balta thing go and are warming to the idea of taking a key fwd with our first pick. Andrew has a freaky skill set and will be playing afl footy regularly in year 2. I’m not sold on Amiss or any other tall for our first pick personally but Andrew definitely, although it’s probably a moot point as he’ll likely be gone by our pick anyhow.
We can’t wait another year imo, we won’t have another top 10 pick either - the time is now if he’s available..
Once I heard Cal toomey and Nat edwards say he would be a great pick for Richmond I instantly crossed him off the listI got a feeling Jay Amiss might be available at 7 do we pull the trigger.
Andrew has the most potential, definitely. He does show some capability up forward but as you say not many runs on the board. And will go before our pick.i respect your opinion mate - do you think Andrew could develop into an elite key fwd? I love the skill set he has, agility, spring, contested mark, can take it out in front on the lead. He hasn’t kicked many goals but everything he does screams key fwd potential to me
No.We have Biggie who has similar traits.
Balta is more like Rance than Sinn.Balta is not Rance for the simple reason the have different bodies and move differently. Balta can be a great player but he is Balta, he is not Rance. TO get the best out of himself Balta needs to be Balta not Rance, whatever Balta lets Balta do that is what he should do
get townsend
His retirement was already 100% decided at the end of this season. The announcement is a formality. So no change in their situation at all from it, but still means they may be interested in trading their pick 2. I am sure we have an offer waiting ... And they are taking offers for it.Shane Mumford just confirmed he's retired, so you reckon GWS might be more open to drafting Andrew and potentially moving back a few picks?