List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

Once I heard Cal toomey and Nat edwards say he would be a great pick for Richmond I instantly crossed him off the list
Very much like a mate of mine. Horrible punter. To humour him we ask who he likes in the next race, once he tells us his special we instantly cross it off the form guide like its been scratched.

This draft is extremely light on for KP and ruck prospects. I’m wondering if there will be a lot of Vic KP kids that just haven’t had any opportunity to show anything.

Quite possibly. But then who knows?

With Brander today being taken as a DFA by the Giants, who see him as a defender, will that make them less likely to take either Andrew or Gibcus with their first pick ? Will that mean they're more likely to take Callaghan ?

Probably doesn't alter their plans, Brander is still a question mark and signed on hope/potential, but in reality is just insurance at this point I'd imagine.

No one replied to my post a bit earlier, just checking again on people's thoughts on Marty Hore?

Really looked like he could play I felt, then had an ACL. Melbourne have enough cover in that position and delisted him...

190cm-ish defender could be best 22 or at least very good insurance for Vlas/Broad...

No one replied to my post a bit earlier, just checking again on people's thoughts on Marty Hore?

Really looked like he could play I felt, then had an ACL. Melbourne have enough cover in that position and delisted him...

190cm-ish defender could be best 22 or at least very good insurance for Vlas/Broad...
Why would Richmond draft a player who is very unlikely to play.

The furore over a Rookie player has been immense and you are suggesting to draft a list clogger.

Very much like a mate of mine. Horrible punter. To humour him we ask who he likes in the next race, once he tells us his special we instantly cross it off the form guide like its been scratched.
Haha standard, there’s always one amongst a circle of mates

He’s also that guy u lock outside in a tight game in the last quarter
Bloody mocks

Why would Richmond draft a player who is very unlikely to play.

The furore over a Rookie player has been immense and you are suggesting to draft a list clogger.
Why would he be unlikely to play? We have little to no defensive cover over 190cm especially now that Garth is gone (not that he was much cover anyway sadly).

Hore looked really good in 2019 in a just-average Melbourne side and then did his ACL leading into 2020 (can't quite remember the timing of his ACL). Obviously couldn't crack back into Melbourne's team this season.

I'm just saying, for free, he might be a handy pickup. Possibly even best 22 but at worst is next in line if one of Broad or Vlastuin goes down. Ready to go at 25 years of age...

Why would he be unlikely to play? We have little to no defensive cover over 190cm especially now that Garth is gone (not that he was much cover anyway sadly).

Hore looked really good in 2019 in a just-average Melbourne side and then did his ACL leading into 2020 (can't quite remember the timing of his ACL). Obviously couldn't crack back into Melbourne's team this season.

I'm just saying, for free, he might be a handy pickup. Possibly even best 22 but at worst is next in line if one of Broad or Vlastuin goes down. Ready to go at 25 years of age...

Biggie? (To be re drafted apparently )

Miller?

Maybe lacking mid size defenders

Biggie? (To be re drafted apparently )

Miller?

Maybe lacking mid size defenders
Biggie has not played AFL, is very young and very much a project player, not even close to senior footy.

Miller came in as a token gesture for 1 game and looked just OK. Probably only been kept around as cover as we have basically nothing else and because Astbury retired.

That's it, slim pickings.

If we're trying to challenge - and it looks like we are given the recruitment of Tarrant - we need cover at or over 190cm. I'm not overstating things when I say Hore looked like a solid young defender for the Dees until his ACL, so as a complete freebie I don't see the issue. Outside of the 5 draftees I'm pretty sure we still have the list spot or spots available?

Richmond has space for 5 places and 2 rookies.

2 of the delisted player's have been guaranteed Rookie spots

We have 5 selections under 30 and you want to draft Hoare?

You must be related to suggest that cocamamie idea.
Yeah, 5 selections on brand new kids that may not even be ready for senior AFL.

If we don't have the spots then fair enough, thought we did.

But if we do have a spot, I'd be willing to give it to Hore personally. What's wrong with a decent 190cm defender taking a spot, where we have basically no coverage and want to challenge for a flag? It's either he or maybe Constable as a midfield option.

But again, if we don't have a spot, fair enough.

Richmond has space for 5 places and 2 rookies.

2 of the delisted player's have been guaranteed Rookie spots

We have 5 selections under 30 and you want to draft Hoare?

You must be related to suggest that cocamamie idea.

If we trade 7&15 for 2 then we’d have our 5th pick at the end of the draft. Would be a good spot to hold for the preseason or mid season draft.

In that case Hore could be asked to train.

If we trade 7&15 for 2 then we’d have our 5th pick at the end of the draft. Would be a good spot to hold for the preseason or mid season draft.

In that case Hore could be asked to train.
1635915663348.png

Greater Western Sydney recruiting boss Adrian Caruso says the Giants are likely to reject rival offers for its coveted pick two as clubs clamour to move up the board.

Caruso confirmed the club has had advances from rival clubs for the prized selection but, while there is still plenty to play out, said they have not been appealing enough to consider a trade.

He said offers would need to be “compelling” for them to give up the pick tied to Collingwood, which the Giants secured in a live trade on draft night last year.

The Giants are yet to make a call on whether it will place bids on father-son prodigies Nick Daicos and Sam Darcy, tied to Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs respectively, with Caruso saying the decision may be left until the week of the AFL Draft later this month.

Caruso told the Herald Sun Footy Podcast the club has four top-line players in its sights for the second pick of the draft.

News Corp understands this draft quartet is game-breaking midfielder Finn Callaghan, athletic ruckman Mac Andrew, dynamic forward-midfielder Josh Rachele and intercept defender Josh Gibcus.

“There definitely have been clubs behind us that have asked the question,” Caruso said.

“Even though those clubs are keen to get up (the order), those clubs don’t seem like they are throwing up anything that is really taking our fancy.

“It is also hard to get your head around trading a pick that is in such a good spot. It would want to be a pretty compelling offer.

“While there are clubs that are interested sitting behind us, it is good for us to have flexibility and to be in a position where we’ve got options.

“The most likely scenario is probably that we take the pick… but it is hard to get a read on anything until closer to the date when we’ve finalised our order and what our strategy is.”

Caruso said the Giants’ priority will be working out their draft order before contemplating whether to bid on Daicos and Darcy, who are expected to be matched by Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs at any stage of the draft,

“That will probably play out the week of the draft, I can’t imagine us making a decision before we know what our plans are with our picks,” he said.

“Obviously Darcy and Daicos are great players and they are going to be great players for the clubs that they go to, but because they’re ultimately not going to end up with us.

“We feel like we want to nail our picks first, and that is pick two and 13.

“Ultimately we might bid, but we might not bid. It is just a really hard one to make a call on at the moment before having done all the work on the boys in the frame for us.

Asked about whether the club will draft on needs, Caruso pointed to players who have left the Giants in recent years due to a lack of opportunity, stressing the importance of drafting players who will fill a spot in their best 22.

Former Giants midfielders Jackson Hately and Jye Caldwell, both taken inside as first-round selections in the 2018 draft, left the club last year after being stuck behind the queue in a talent-rich GWS midfield group.

“Our rule has always been that we don’t believe in continually drafting good players if they don’t fit into our best 22,” Caruso said.

“We’ve had some players leave who couldn’t get in, and we don’t want that to happen again if we were to draft someone in an area of the ground that we are well stocked in and they don’t get in, and they leave for opportunity in two-three years.

“But we also want to make sure that we are bringing in players that we believe are capable, and we are not reaching out for a need just for the sake of addressing a spot on your depth chart.”

So, with Victoria now out of lockdown is there any reason a Vic Metro v Vic Country trial game or games couldn't be played between now and the draft (still three weeks away) ?

I see training and evaluation sessions are being arranged but why not play ? The WA and SA kids have had a real advantage this year being able to play.

Kids are in VCE exams

I reckon the top 10 will be like this,,hawthorn and Giants swap picks
Hawks give up pick 5 and 21 to Giants for pick 2,, 53 and 54
1- North Melbourne-- Horne Francis
2- Collingwood match bid -- nic daicos
3- Western bulldogs match bid-- sam darcy
4-- hawthorn--- finn Callaghan
5-- suns --- Josh gibcus
6- crows-- wanganeen millera
7--giants-- mac Andrew
8-- dockers- Neil Erasmus
9- Richmond--- Hobbs or Ward