List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

gibcus looks great IMO but Hobbs or Ward look great too. Not too fussed just back the recruiters in. We have about 4% of the information and expertise they have no matter how highly one might rate their own eye for quality.

In modern footy Defenders / defensive structures win flags. I’m really hoping for Gibcus. Balta/Gibcus sets our defence up for a decade. Whilst being slightly different styles I can see long-term any of Erasmus, Sonsie, Johnson, Sinn being as good if not better than Hobbs, so given we’d be a reasonable chance to get one of them at pick-17 if given the choice I’d take Gibcus over Hobbs.

The idea of Hobbs, a midfield bull excites me more than Gibcus for some reason.
Midfield bulls in kids footy doesn't always transfer to AFL. If they are quick they are more likely, but Hobbs is not. Most of the great midfielders are not the inside bulls, I can't think of to many in the top 30 best mids of the last 10 years. Different if they are 188cm like Kennedy or 193cm like Fyfe, but 183cm mid paced inside mids unless they have attributes like Hawks Mitchell, and he is pretty unique, are not that exciting. Prestia as a small inside is one of the best going round.

Josh Ward is a similar type but with a 2km time trial of 5:57 at least makes him a very good runner, that time is elite at AFL level.

Was going to intrude on the Bombers board but since you are here already, If Hobbs really does slip to 13 like Twomey has predicted, do you think the Bombers would still be looking to split 13?

I was hoping for either Hobbs/Ward or Gibcus at 9, would be ecstatic if we could get both.
Id almost put money on it, your club wouldn’t be alone in wanting to do a deal aswell.

Indeed they will.
We are well stocked to make an offer at least.

lol at Erasmus at 17..... no chance.

1. North Melbourne - Jason Horne-Francis (South Adelaide)
2. Western Bulldogs - Sam Darcy (Oakleigh Chargers)
3. GWS - Finn Callaghan (Sandringham Dragons)
4. Collingwood - Nick Daicos (Oakleigh Chargers)
5. Gold Coast - Mac Andrew (Dandenong Stingrays)
6. Adelaide - Josh Rachele (Murray Bushrangers)
7. Hawthorn - Josh Ward (Northern Knights)
8. Fremantle - Ben Hobbs (GWV Rebels)
9. Richmond - Jye Amiss (East Perth)
10. Fremantle - Matt Johnson (Subiaco)
11. St Kilda - Josh Gibcus (GWV Rebels)
12. West Coast - Neil Erasmus (Subacio/WA)
13. Essendon - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (Glenelg)
14. Port Adelaide - Josh Sinn (Sandringham Dragons)
15. Richmond - Tyler Sonsie (Eastern Ranges) *Richmond trade pick 30 at the time and 2022 second rounder for GWS pick 13(15)
16. Brisbane - Darcy Wilmot (Northern Knights)
17. Richmond - Josh Goater (Calder Cannons)
18. Sydney - Sam Butler (GWV Rebels)
19. Melbourne - Blake Howes (Sandringham Dragons)
20. Brisbane - Tom Brown (Murray Bushrangers)
21. Fremantle - Jacob van Rooyen (Claremont)
22. North Melbourne - Jesse Motlop (South Fremantle)
23. Hawthorn - Toby Conway (Geelong Falcons)
24. Geelong - Mitch Knevitt (Geelong Falcons)
25. Hawthorn - Campbell Chesser (Sandringham)
26. GWS - Josh Fahey (GWS Academy)
27. Carlton - Connor MacDonald (Dandenong Stingrays)
28. St Kilda - Mitchito Owens (Sandringham Dragons) *Saints match Richmond's bid
29. Richmond - Jake Soligo (Eastern Ranges)
30. Richmond - Arlo Draper (South Adelaide)

No point holding the draft, this is how it will unfold.

Trading up 38 and 40 gives us more flexibility, especially we wouldn't have used pick 40

Can trade up in first round pick 15 + pick 26/27/28 to get a player like Hobbs
Trade down if we think we can someone lower that we rate and get a future 2nd.

Won't be much of a hit pointwise.

Apparently keen on Draper in the 2nd round.
Dont think he gets to our pick personally, Im thinking Crows/Pears would be trading up to get him once he gets to #24/#25
But it would be nice

Midfield bulls in kids footy doesn't always transfer to AFL. If they are quick they are more likely, but Hobbs is not. Most of the great midfielders are not the inside bulls, I can't think of to many in the top 30 best mids of the last 10 years. Different if they are 188cm like Kennedy or 193cm like Fyfe, but 183cm mid paced inside mids unless they have attributes like Hawks Mitchell, and he is pretty unique, are not that exciting. Prestia as a small inside is one of the best going round.

Josh Ward is a similar type but with a 2km time trial of 5:57 at least makes him a very good runner, that time is elite at AFL level.
So more a Tom Scully type then?

The idea of Hobbs, a midfield bull excites me more than Gibcus for some reason.
Me too. I think it's because he fits a more immediate need.

Gibcus is more of an intercepting third tall, which we probably won't need for a couple of years until Grimes and Broad start to slow down.

Gibcus does have the traits to be a good key forward though. He's quick with a massive leap. Probably something worth exploring during his development if we do take him, as a Jack Riewoldt replacement is a huge hole in our list.

In modern footy Defenders / defensive structures win flags. I’m really hoping for Gibcus. Balta/Gibcus sets our defence up for a decade. Whilst being slightly different styles I can see long-term any of Erasmus, Sonsie, Johnson, Sinn being as good if not better than Hobbs, so given we’d be a reasonable chance to get one of them at pick-17 if given the choice I’d take Gibcus over Hobbs.
I can't see Gibcus getting past Gold Coast. They need KPDs and need them immediately. Mac Andrew won't help them for a few years and they can't afford that time now.
I can see Andrew dropping to us, we then trade back with GWS for 13 and a future 1st. We then trade back up with Saints with 13 and 30 and take either Erasmus or Johnson (assuming Hobbs and Ward are gone)

I can't see Gibcus getting past Gold Coast. They need KPDs and need them immediately. Mac Andrew won't help them for a few years and they can't afford that time now.
I can see Andrew dropping to us, we then trade back with GWS for 13 and a future 1st. We then trade back up with Saints with 13 and 30 and take either Erasmus or Johnson (assuming Hobbs and Ward are gone)
According to those in the know, GC are firming to pick Andrew. A few sources have said it so it's a good chance hey.

JHF
Daicos
Darcy
Callaghan
Andrew
Rachele
Ward
Amiss
Richmond - Hobbs or Gibcus

That's probably a safe bet for the first picks

Ollie wines? Travis boak? Joel selwood? Jack steele? Libba? Hopper? Ward? Sloane? Cunningnton? Adams? Viney? All pretty good players and not overly athletic.

From all reports Hobbs isn't quick but he also isn't slow. Agility testing was good apparently. He has strength, smarts, toughness, composure, good hands, he's a competitive beast and hits the scoreboard. Fair bit to work with I would have thought

I can't wait for all our picks so I can start my research. This year I am waiting as I always get my heart set on the kid we don't take.
After I see their highlights I will know 100% we have picked the right players.

This is 100% the way to do it. I somewhat follow the NFL and the amount of times a player looks like a sure thing after 3-4 years exposure in a near-professional environment (college) and still ends up being an absolute dud leads me to think there's no point getting disappointed about missing out on someone at this stage.

Ollie wines? Travis boak? Joel selwood? Jack steele? Libba? Hopper? Ward? Sloane? Cunningnton? Adams? Viney? All pretty good players and not overly athletic.

From all reports Hobbs isn't quick but he also isn't slow. Agility testing was good apparently. He has strength, smarts, toughness, composure, good hands, he's a competitive beast and hits the scoreboard. Fair bit to work with I would have thought
Sure there are plenty of big bodied mids. Obviously Hobbs is pretty good otherwise he wouldn't be named so high by so many. I trust the recruiters, like what they have done the last few years, so if they reckon Hobbs then I have no problem. Just wouldn't mind someone with a higher ceiling. Risk vs reliability I guess. Seems to be a lot of good midfielders in this draft so we will probably get a good mix one way or another given our draft hand.

Hope we don't traded out a pick, 5 picks under 28 is a great hand, a couple might become real players given the odds.

Loving all the opposition supporters thinking Richmond will be giving up pick #15 for a 2-3 pick upgrade on pick #7 with Callaghan off the board

Cant see Tigers paying big to move up to take Ward,Hobbs,Gibcus,Johnson,Andrew,Erasmus,Amiss
Rachele/Callaghan would be nice but i think we can just about rule these 2 out

According to those in the know, GC are firming to pick Andrew. A few sources have said it so it's a good chance hey.

JHF
Daicos
Darcy
Callaghan
Andrew
Rachele
Ward
Amiss
Richmond - Hobbs or Gibcus

That's probably a safe bet for the first picks
What would it take to grab Freo's next pick.

Drooling at the prospect of getting Hobbs AND Gibcus......

Dooozzzzzeeeeeeeeey

I think suns go tall but why would they overlook Andrew I'd they think he's the best player?

They are in no rush(?)

I agree. At the end of the day they're playing footy and not going for a run or a jump. The way people carry on over the combine testing sometimes is a bit overdrawn. Look at guys like Greg Williams and Sam Mitchell. You don't need to run a ripper time trial or destroy the 20m sprint to be a very good footballer.

And to pre-empt all of those inevitable 'but modern footy... etc.' arguments, Clayton Oliver finished 3rd in the agility test, had a 10.45m 3km trial and obviously didn't feature in the 20m sprint pointy end. Hasn't stopped him being one of the best midfielders going around.

Loving all the opposition supporters thinking Richmond will be giving up pick #15 for a 2-3 pick upgrade on pick #7 with Callaghan off the board

Cant see Tigers paying big to move up to take Ward,Hobbs,Gibcus,Johnson,Andrew,Erasmus,Amiss
Rachele/Callaghan would be nice but i think we can just about rule these 2 out

Pick 7 seems as good as pick 3.

Or better with less pressure on the kid.

I don't see Richmond trading unless it's for 2

List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.