Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
No current season stats available
Somehow don’t think we’ll be in the position to be choosing between the 2.I think it has to be Callaghan. Ward has a higher floor, but Callaghan has a higher ceiling.
Judging by reports we'll have something like the following picks, 7 + 15 + 26 + 28 + 38 + 39 + 40 + 44Our draft hand gives us lot options and there appears to be a lot of demand for our picks. I personally like the suggestion of pick 28 and 40 for the Bulldogs future first.
Only if we trade up to pick 3 from GCSSomehow don’t think we’ll be in the position to be choosing between the 2.
Ward may be available
Sounding like Callaghan is little chance
Yeah that’d be awesomeOnly if we trade up to pick 3 from GCS
I don't think we can go too wrong, obviously one may become the better player but I am confident out of those two we have long termers.
Callahan will take a little longer but man, his athletic traits, ability to run and size is eyewatering to look at. A few pre seasons at a good club could be absolutely anything.
I will say something controversial here, Josh Ward, if he played more, I reckon wouldn't be out of place in the same discussion we are seeing as Daicos, JHF and Callahan. Super individual, his two way running is elite, gets to contests, can win the football and very high footy IQ.
Basically, both have super traits, Callahan at 189cm (potential to get to taller) could be an absolute freak and I would back our development and environment now to get him there, so have him just ahead. Just.
I'm waiting for a media article to say anything more than the same speculation all of us on BigFooty are capable of.FOX SPORTS
September 28th
RICHMOND
Can the dethroned on-field kings become the off-field kings with picks galore?
It’s become a common off-season sight in the Tigers’ dynastic period; rivals (usually Gold Coast) plucking fringe and depth players.
That’ll be the case this year too, with Callum Coleman-Jones seeking a trade to North Melbourne, and Mabior Chol to sign as a free agent at the Suns. But that won’t be all in 2021.
After missing the finals, and owning Geelong’s first-round pick thanks to a 2020 draft night deal, Richmond has more draft capital than every other club; two firsts (7 and 15), two seconds (26 and 28) and two thirds (40 and 44).
It seems almost inevitable they’ll get involved in deals because so many teams need something they have.
Only three clubs have multiple first-round picks; the Tigers, the Giants (2 and 13) and Brisbane (14 and 18).
Gold Coast is almost a fourth, owning an end-of-first-round compensation pick (19) as well as their natural selection (3), but they’re keen on trading out that high selection - whether for an experienced player or for multiple picks lower down the order.
Richmond and Adelaide are said to be among the clubs interested in a deal for pick 3, and using the Draft Value Index, a fair deal would see the Tigers gain that selection for picks 7 and either 26 or 28. (The Suns would probably ask for 7 and 15, which combined are worth pick 2 using the Index).
But the Tigers could also use their second and third-round picks to take advantage of sides like Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs, who need to match bids for father-son prospects Nick Daicos and Sam Darcy respectively.
Those bids are likely to fall in the top three, meaning both teams need more picks or else they’ll go into draft deficit for 2022. So could Richmond offer up 28, in the middle of the second round, for Collingwood’s future second (which could be juicy)?
What about 26 and 40 for the Bulldogs’ future first? After all, if the Grand Finalists think they’ll be contenders again in 2022, that pick would fall in the high teens anyway.
These pick swaps could be completed on draft night itself, but the Tigers’ sheer mass of selections gives them options - and in an off-season with tight salary caps almost across the board, flexibility is king.
![]()
Why fading giant could set AFL ablaze; Tigers to control market’s destiny: Trade kingmakers
Fading giant could set AFL ablaze; Tigers to control market’s destiny: Trade kingmakerswww.foxsports.com.au
Ward is the one I want, but I havent seen enough of any of them. Ward went head to head with Daicos and won so I 100% agree there.
Sadly, both are likely to be gone by our pick
It would be whoever GWS don't take with their pick 2Yeah that’d be awesome
and assuming in that case it’s Callaghan
Jay Clark linking us to Hobbs if we get that trade done with GCS.
Hoping we’d be taking Callaghan before him.
At the moment. I told tigs2010 before it became media gossip we were looking to trade up the draft and it was Ward we were keen on.
That information came to me from another AFL club, but I would say it could be Callahan as GWS is so keen on Gibcus. I see it being JHF, Darcy, Daicos, Gibcus, Callahan. Ward for me would be next but Adelaide if they keep the pick may take local Sam Draper.
Ward won't make it past Pick 5 at Hawthorn regardless.
Yes, that vision of Ward vs Daicos was very interesting.
I've been saying it for years. Not a lot.I know its being spoken about alot, but I dont reckon Gibcus will go that high, but WTF would I know haha
I've been saying it for years. Not a lot.![]()
Actually they rank them. However they do not always follow their ranking. Devon Robertson was ranked higher than Thompson Dow but they chose the latter. I guess they felt they needed an Edwards type player rather than a slightly higher ranked player.When you say their top 20 do you mean their prediction of the top 20? Would be weird they aren't taking the best available.
I'm waiting for a media article to say anything more than the same speculation all of us on BigFooty are capable of.
Says Gold Coast want to get rid of pick 3 - possibly for multiple lower picks, then states later that they already have a full list and need to get rid of picks.
Also suggests that Gold Coast package up 4 picks to the Bulldogs for pick 17.
At no point to they seem to consider the amount of picks a club can have is limited by available list spaces. I'm still waiting for anyone who knows to verify that it is definitely returning to that rule this draft. I have heard suggestions that clubs can actually bring an extra 2 draft picks but can't find any real verification anywhere.
I'm waiting for a media article to say anything more than the same speculation all of us on BigFooty are capable of.
Says Gold Coast want to get rid of pick 3 - possibly for multiple lower picks, then states later that they already have a full list and need to get rid of picks.
Also suggests that Gold Coast package up 4 picks to the Bulldogs for pick 17.
At no point to they seem to consider the amount of picks a club can have is limited by available list spaces. I'm still waiting for anyone who knows to verify that it is definitely returning to that rule this draft. I have heard suggestions that clubs can actually bring an extra 2 draft picks but can't find any real verification anywhere.
I don’t think it’s Conca level because he still looks and sounds like the type that will make it, but he just doesn’t have the feel of a pick 3-5. Well, to me at least. Everyone can form their own opinion, but that’s mine.Has he got the feel of Reece Conca about him?
In my head yes. I’d never speak ill of you on a public forum mateHave ya mate, have ya?
Yep, might end up being nearly the best of this lot. Pure class.Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera is looking like top 10 pick now
The only way Ward comes to us is if we jump ahead of Hawks.Starting to think he’s the safe pick (assuming he gets through to us).
He seems to be a very good balance of inside/outside - a ball magnet.
Play he’s early career on the wing then move into the midfield.
Except Conca was not rated by most before pick 20. This kid is rated top 10 by most. Not sure the comparison is there. I get your point on the weaknesses though.Has he got the feel of Reece Conca about him?
Yes. But as another poster suggested, if we got 19 back, they've got what they seem to be asking for, 2 high picks, and we end up with 3 & 19. Don't mind it myself. A bit of haggling with futures if needed to keep any grievances at bay. Thoughts?I don’t think it’s Conca level because he still looks and sounds like the type that will make it, but he just doesn’t have the feel of a pick 3-5. Well, to me at least. Everyone can form their own opinion, but that’s mine.
Yeah if we receive pick 19 and pick Hobbs up with that pick, then I’d be completely fine with that.Except Conca was not rated by most before pick 20. This kid is rated top 10 by most. Not sure the comparison is there. I get your point on the weaknesses though.
Yes. But as another poster suggested, if we got 19 back, they've got what they seem to be asking for, 2 high picks, and we end up with 3 & 19. Don't mind it myself. A bit of haggling with futures if needed to keep any grievances at bay. Thoughts?
Edit: ok.. did something weird with the quoting function there Lacustus..lol. Not lining you up!!
In my head yes. I’d never speak ill of you on a public forum mate