List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

The only way Ward comes to us is of we jump ahead of Hawks.
You could be right Mate, but how many times have we seen players drop down the pecking order or late season bolsters leapfrog into top 10 or even higher .

Some of these Vic kids haven’t played any top level football for 18 months, haven’t been tested (not sure if this crop were involved combine testing last year).
The top 3 looks pretty much set in concrete (maybe top 4) but I’m thinking it may not be clear cut as some think.

Our draft hand gives us lot options and there appears to be a lot of demand for our picks. I personally like the suggestion of pick 28 and 40 for the Bulldogs future first.
Makes no sense for the dogs. When they have to match for Darcy they still have to use their first/earliest pick and would not have the next years first also.

I'm waiting for a media article to say anything more than the same speculation all of us on BigFooty are capable of.
Says Gold Coast want to get rid of pick 3 - possibly for multiple lower picks, then states later that they already have a full list and need to get rid of picks.
Also suggests that Gold Coast package up 4 picks to the Bulldogs for pick 17.
At no point to they seem to consider the amount of picks a club can have is limited by available list spaces. I'm still waiting for anyone who knows to verify that it is definitely returning to that rule this draft. I have heard suggestions that clubs can actually bring an extra 2 draft picks but can't find any real verification anywhere.
Your question might be a good one for the blokes on trade radio. Test who knows what they're talking about and/or give them something to ! Lol

I don't think we can go too wrong, obviously one may become the better player but I am confident out of those two we have long termers.

Callahan will take a little longer but man, his athletic traits, ability to run and size is eyewatering to look at. A few pre seasons at a good club could be absolutely anything.

I will say something controversial here, Josh Ward, if he played more, I reckon wouldn't be out of place in the same discussion we are seeing as Daicos, JHF and Callahan. Super individual, his two way running is elite, gets to contests, can win the football and very high footy IQ.

Basically, both have super traits, Callahan at 189cm (potential to get to taller) could be an absolute freak and I would back our development and environment now to get him there, so have him just ahead. Just.
In that case, Ward thanks

#3 (#5) - Finn Callaghan/Josh Ward
#15 (#17) - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera/Josh Rachele/Josh Goater
#17 (#19) - Jacob Van Rooyen/ Matthew Roberts/ Matthew Johnson
#38 (may be lower) - Mitch Knevitt/ Jack Avery/ Luke Aleer

Any reason you're not including Erasmus?

I believe the lack of time and exposure with the potential Victorian (plus NSW and Queensland to a lesser extent) draftees is a double edged sword. On one hand, it makes it difficult for us to assess their ability but on the other hand, it makes it difficult for others to assess their ability.

I rate out scouts and recruiters ahead of any other in the league. We could find some more hidden talent in this draft than any we have for years.

I believe the lack of time and exposure with the potential Victorian (plus NSW and Queensland to a lesser extent) draftees is a double edged sword. On one hand, it makes it difficult for us to assess their ability but on the other hand, it makes it difficult for others to assess their ability.

I rate out scouts and recruiters ahead of any other in the league. We could find some more hidden talent in this draft than any we have for years.

We are right up there but there’s not many terrible recruiting teams now. Melbourne are very good. Sydney are and have been sensational for a while, rate Sam Power and the Dogs highly.

I have confidence in our guys though.

My Xmas list as follows...

Dear Bad Santa,

You old, shiftless, lazy, drunken bastard campaigner, all I want for Xmas is:

Finn Callaghan (Jack McCrae)
Josh Rachele (Toby Greene)
JVR (JackR)
Rhett Bazzo (Jake Lever without the campaigner)

...and perhaps a late wildcard XFactor left field bargain basement $teal like Josh Fahey, Leek Aleer or Bhodi Uwland.

Come on you rotten, gross, smelly, fat, drug addled scoundrel...deliver !

Yours Sincerely,
YeOldTiger.

Sinn looks a good type for our second pick. 100m player
a line breaker like Sinn or if he’s gone Chesser would be handy in this draft.
Really like the priority being midfield followed by KPP but think it’s definitely a need to look at that run/carry role following Houli’s retirement and Naishs delisting. HRS promising in that role but still??

I'm a bit stuck between wanting us to go highest possible potential versus safe high end picks.

If we look a bit more to the RCD/Shai style of picks and it works we could end up with an absolutely elite midfield for 5-8 years (2021 draft plus younger guys we already have)

And I'd love us to get into 2022 if possible.

With some luck we'll reload for the next decade here and now. Which would be awesome. 15 flags by 2030 is what I'm hoping for. Any more than that and well, it's genuinely party time.

I'm a bit stuck between wanting us to go highest possible potential versus safe high end picks.

If we look a bit more to the RCD/Shai style of picks and it works we could end up with an absolutely elite midfield for 5-8 years (2021 draft plus younger guys we already have)

With some luck we'll reload for the next decade here and now. Which would be awesome. 15 flags by 2030 is what I'm hoping for. Any more than that and well, it's genuinely party time.
Anything can happen whilst we still have Gale in charge...feels like we have top quality Admin keeping us focused and up with the contending Leaders...
If not the Leader!

Anything can happen whilst we still have Gale in charge...feels like we have top quality Admin keeping us focused and up with the contending Leaders...
If not the Leader!

Agree.

I'm hoping we manage to get some freebie mature talent like Tarrent and Wallis, and pick the eyes out of the draft. Win 2022, have a shot in 23, and still rebuild from there on with depth through the midfield and build our spine.

You can dream. And as you said with our current admin it's possible.

Agree.

I'm hoping we manage to get some freebie mature talent like Tarrent and Wallis, and pick the eyes out of the draft. Win 2022, have a shot in 23, and still rebuild from there on with depth through the midfield and build our spine.

You can dream. And as you said with our current admin it's possible.
Yes...
We have taken a hit in our coaching assistants...and our players have taken a hit in a shortened pre-season and with the injury toll...BUT!!!
We still have Gale...
We still have Dimma...
We still have our recruiters...
We still have our physios...
We still have our members...
We still have our draft picks...
We still will be up there next year...

Reckon we should aim for Pies 2022 2nd rounder

Given that GC has said pick 19 will likely be traded I wonder if we could do 15 and a future 1st and future 2nd for GCs 3 and 19? That'd leave us with 3, 7, 19, 26, 28, 40 and 44. Trade 80 for Tarrant.

Give the dogs 26, 28, 40 and 44 (which will cover any Darcy bid) for 17 and a future 2nd and future 3rd. Leaves us with 3,7, 17 and 19 for the draft.

Ask for a future pick for CCJ and trade the Chol compo for a future too to help make up for the loss of the 2022 1st.

Given that GC has said pick 19 will likely be traded I wonder if we could do 15 and a future 1st and future 2nd for GCs 3 and 19? That'd leave us with 3, 7, 19, 26, 28, 40 and 44. Trade 80 for Tarrant.

Give the dogs 26, 28, 40 and 44 (which will cover any Darcy bid) for 17 and a future 2nd and future 3rd. Leaves us with 3,7, 17 and 19 for the draft.

Ask for a future pick for CCJ and trade the Chol compo for a future too to help make up for the loss of the 2022 1st.

In any trade with GC Whether 3, and or 19 I would be picking up their second round picks to use for the Bulldogs first and a Pies future because otherwise we will have later picks we will not use and if we get them it gives us the collateral to outbid others if within the rules

Yes...
We have taken a hit in our coaching assistants...and our players have taken a hit in a shortened pre-season and with the injury toll...BUT!!!
We still have Gale...
We still have Dimma...
How can we still be up there next year when we weren’t up there this year?

Yes...
We still have Gale...
We still have Dimma...
You forgot Emma!

Looking at the draft points, if you assume that their picks will become 5 & 21 after bids, then it's probably a reasonable trade, even if we finish Top 4 next year.
Question is if GC are willing to trade out of the very start of this year's draft for two late teen picks
On face value I'd say it's unlikely, however given they have so few list spots this year, they may be happy to increase their collateral for next year instead.

List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.