Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Kids can change so much from sixteen to eighteen, the games they play in their final year before the draft will give the recruiters a much better idea of how they translate to the AFL. I bet recruiters this year would loved to of seen more of Darcy, Andrew Knevitt etc. They get that chance next year. I would like to get PMBangers opinion on what recruiters would prefer.As I said unless we're getting a deal that is too good to refuse I wouldn't be trading out of our current draft hand, unless we're moving up. Despite the limited exposure the recruiters at least have a good idea what the kids can do, next year there is no way of telling what sort of quality is in the draft. It's all well and good to look at the lists going around and get excited about the potential, especially for a side looking at bringing in KPPs to replace a couple of aging stars, but as I've said just how good are they, nobody really knows.
Then why did we try a deal that would get us Horne and giveaway picks 7/15 & 26 as well as CCJ along with Blair stating we're looking to get into next years draft?As I said unless we're getting a deal that is too good to refuse I wouldn't be trading out of our current draft hand, unless we're moving up. Despite the limited exposure the recruiters at least have a good idea what the kids can do, next year there is no way of telling what sort of quality is in the draft. It's all well and good to look at the lists going around and get excited about the potential, especially for a side looking at bringing in KPPs to replace a couple of aging stars, but as I've said just how good are they, nobody really knows.
if you were the Suns would you take a Project player like Andrew?It all comes down to Gold Coast really. If GWS trades pick two to us and we take Callaghan, do Gold Coast then go tall and take the player GWS wants (most likely Andrew), or do they go for the next best mid in Hobbs?
As I said unless we're getting a deal that is too good to refuse I wouldn't be trading out of our current draft hand, unless we're moving up. Despite the limited exposure the recruiters at least have a good idea what the kids can do, next year there is no way of telling what sort of quality is in the draft. It's all well and good to look at the lists going around and get excited about the potential, especially for a side looking at bringing in KPPs to replace a couple of aging stars, but as I've said just how good are they, nobody really knows.
The only way I figure you can come to a conclusion like this is if you think there'll be no football at all next year. SA, WA, TAS and QLD have been running pretty much uninterrupted all year so we've got a good amount of vision and exposure to them, that's where a lot of the hype is coming from this far out as well, no one is making bold claims of the KPPs in VIC being exceptional yet, it's all focused on guys like Lemmey, Condon, Keeler, Barnett, etc. at the moment.Kids can change so much from sixteen to eighteen, the games they play in their final year before the draft will give the recruiters a much better idea of how they translate to the AFL. I bet recruiters this year would loved to of seen more of Darcy, Andrew Knevitt etc. They get that chance next year. I would like to get PMBangers opinion on what recruiters would prefer.
Personally, I'm not too keen on using top 10 picks on ruckmen at all, let alone such a raw prospect as Andrew.if you were the Suns would you take a Project player like Andrew?
This.....As I said unless we're getting a deal that is too good to refuse I wouldn't be trading out of our current draft hand, unless we're moving up. Despite the limited exposure the recruiters at least have a good idea what the kids can do, next year there is no way of telling what sort of quality is in the draft. It's all well and good to look at the lists going around and get excited about the potential, especially for a side looking at bringing in KPPs to replace a couple of aging stars, but as I've said just how good are they, nobody really knows.
Agree.Personally, I'm not too keen on using top 10 picks on ruckmen at all, let alone such a raw prospect as Andrew.
I don't think it is tempting. We offered 7, 15, 26 and CCJ for the pick before it.Going from 7 to 2 for a future first is pretty tempting even for gws.
Tiger finished 12th too
You reckon GWS will trade down pick 2 ? if so wha would it take in your opinion from RichmondThe only way I figure you can come to a conclusion like this is if you think there'll be no football at all next year. SA, WA, TAS and QLD have been running pretty much uninterrupted all year so we've got a good amount of vision and exposure to them, that's where a lot of the hype is coming from this far out as well, no one is making bold claims of the KPPs in VIC being exceptional yet, it's all focused on guys like Lemmey, Condon, Keeler, Barnett, etc. at the moment.
However there has also been plenty of opportunities to get an idea on the VIC talent pool for next year, there was an U17s NAB League round robin earlier in the year, followed by VIC Metro v Country trials, followed by two Metro v Country Challenge games, to go along with a lot of the top enders for next year making their NAB League debuts and playing for school as well, it's not optimal but it's more bottom aged footage than recruiters got of this years crop, it's why the consensus top 3 are all VIC Metro kids heading into next year, and 4 or so more VIC kids will feature in most top 10-15s
Callaghan would still surely be appealing to GWS though. Ward is 30+, Cogs has been cruelled by injuries. Taranto, Green, Hopper, Stone, Kelly, Bruhn, Callaghan. Gibcus makes a lot of sense for them as well, Davis is cooked and their only real KPD is Taylor. Which ever one GWS takes the other one will probably get taken by Gold Coast. Andrew might slide to the saints at pick 11Agree.
If any side who can get away with it is Gws.
Milera would be great but doubt he is there at 17pick 9,17,28,29,30
Hobbs, Milera, Williams, Taylor, Bazzo would be a great draft night(s) for us.
This.....
And as far as a good deal goes it usually pans out that if someone comes to you for a deal it can generally be spun to your advantage ,but if you chase someone for a deal it will usually be done only if it advantages them ..and as far as I can tell if it comes to GWS, or the Suns it would be us doing the chasing ...keep our 5 picks go to the draft
If we could get Hobbs or Erasmus at 7 that would be great
At 15 if we can snag Can Rooyen great
And at 26,27,28 if we can get any three of Bazzo,Sheldrick ,Williams,Aleer,Knevitt ,Long or Roberts I think we should be very happy
one can dream ..Milera would be great but doubt he is there at 17
Seems like a bad trade for us in real terms - id rather hold onto hope of Hobbs + JVR
View attachment 1266407
Agree. We can wait 12 months. Back in Norf to finish bottom 4 and grab one with 1st or 2nd. If Miller or Biggie are not coming on as hoped, plan B.. a stop gap PSD.Van Rooyen worries me. I keep reading that the only reason that he is a first round draft candidate is that there is such a dearth of talent in key forwards this year. That in any other draft he'd be a second rounder. To be honest I wouldn't mind if we just go for mids this draft, even if it means trading out a pick and going hard next year with four selections in the top 30 in a draft supposedly overflowing with tall talent. Just concerned going for Van Rooyen has a touch of the Cleve Hughes about it.
Pies would have had an elite kid at 2, like Callaghan, AND then subsequently matched a bid for Daicos.Pies don't need Pick 2, just the points for Daicos who would go pick 1-3 anyway.
If pies had pick 2, Daicos would have been bid on at pick 1Pies would have had an elite kid at 2, like Callaghan, AND then subsequently matched a bid for Daicos.
They've missed a huge chance to grab two elite talents.
Yes you are right, it looks like North won’t bid on Daicos so they could of had both.Pies would have had an elite kid at 2, like Callaghan, AND then subsequently matched a bid for Daicos.
They've missed a huge chance to grab two elite talents.
Thanks for clearing it up, was hard to find a lot of details about how the bottom aged kids had been impacted this year. I still stand by my position though that Richmond are better off holding what they have this year rather than trading out, unless we get an offer that you simply can't say no to.The only way I figure you can come to a conclusion like this is if you think there'll be no football at all next year. SA, WA, TAS and QLD have been running pretty much uninterrupted all year so we've got a good amount of vision and exposure to them, that's where a lot of the hype is coming from this far out as well, no one is making bold claims of the KPPs in VIC being exceptional yet, it's all focused on guys like Lemmey, Condon, Keeler, Barnett, etc. at the moment.
However there has also been plenty of opportunities to get an idea on the VIC talent pool for next year, there was an U17s NAB League round robin earlier in the year, followed by VIC Metro v Country trials, followed by two Metro v Country Challenge games, to go along with a lot of the top enders for next year making their NAB League debuts and playing for school as well, it's not optimal but it's more bottom aged footage than recruiters got of this years crop, it's why the consensus top 3 are all VIC Metro kids heading into next year, and 4 or so more VIC kids will feature in most top 10-15s
I don't think it is tempting. We offered 7, 15, 26 and CCJ for the pick before it.
Blair also said that the deal they offered to try and get Horne was a bit of fun on their behalf knowing full well that it wasn't going to get accepted. Of course we stated we were looking at getting into next years draft otherwise you just back yourself into a corner in terms of negotiating deals. If the fact that we have been trying and succeeded in trading up into the higher picks of this draft doesn't tell you that we're comfortable in what is on offer then I have no idea what will.Then why did we try a deal that would get us Horne and giveaway picks 7/15 & 26 as well as CCJ along with Blair stating we're looking to get into next years draft?
Fair dinkum mate if that doesn't tell you that even our boys are nervous about this year then i have no idea what is.
pick 9,17,28,29,30
Hobbs, Milera, Williams, Taylor, Bazzo would be a great draft night(s) for us.
Nah North aren't playing that game. They'd still have taken JHF as they believe he's number 1.If pies had pick 2, Daicos would have been bid on at pick 1